Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
809 ratings
195 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

DP

Oct 07, 2016

This instructor is fantastic. He is exceptionally thorough and his delivery is very good as well. This is a course definitely worth taking if you are interested in learning more about the cloud.

Filter by:

176 - 188 of 188 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Tushar G

Sep 02, 2018

The response time at discussion forums are disappointing! It'd be helpful, if Mentors could be prompt at resolving doubts. Moreover, I felt that the programming assignment was poorly documented.

By Qiankun X

Jun 22, 2016

the test is terrible and teacher is just reading the ppt. boring

By Anthony B

Dec 31, 2019

Overall it was a terrible course. The overly simplistic examples in the lectures didn't prepare you for the weekly quizes. The programming assignment was a huge waste of time dealing with poorly within C/C++ code, famish instructions and memory handling like it was the 90' and very little with cloud base algorithm or logic. I saw the same complains over and over for the last three years on the forums and that were for most of it ignored. Where is the professor? A very poor publicity for the University of Illinois

By Ayoub M

Sep 23, 2016

The slides are unclear and very very ugly and old style.

The assignment is very specific to Linux based machine.

Only one programming assignment.

More theory than practices.

The QCMs don't really help understand. They are just about remembering values.

I woudn't recommande this course since it is more like a book then it is like a course.

By Prabhat S

Jun 11, 2018

This course was a time wasting struggle. The instructor is not available for any kind of help. The course lectures need to be in sync with what is being asked in the weekly quiz. Instructor really needs to be available for help.

By Anik

Jun 09, 2018

Extremely boring with lots of academic stuffs. I am totally disappointed. Even the instructior fails to make the course interactive. The course materials are not good enough.

By Margherita S

Jan 25, 2017

Too much technical. I would have preferred high level generic concepts. Also, the exercises were quite tricky for a beginner.

By Judy M

Dec 31, 2019

This is not what I thought it was going to be. I don't care about big ) notation, etc.

By Alejandro A N

Dec 16, 2017

Too technical and not really learning the overall picture.

By Hetkumar D

Jan 19, 2020

This course not good for me.

By ahmed-sillah

Jul 03, 2018

it really hard

By Muhammad S M

Nov 27, 2019

Poor Teaching

By paramala D

Jun 23, 2016

best infor