Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
868 ratings
210 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

VT

Aug 22, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 202 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Bingqing M

Sep 24, 2018

I do like the material and lectures but the huge problem is there is no TA or platform like Piazza to ask questions. I think it would be nice to just have a TA or advisor to answer questions

By Ben N

Jul 08, 2018

This is not about cloud computing but distributed systems. Feels like a bait and switch. This is not what I was looking to learn (because I've already done that!)

By HUANG Z

Apr 28, 2020

I think the lecturer should not just "reading" the PPT. And the subtitle should not contain those words representing lecturer's sound ( e.g. uh).

By Darko C

Sep 15, 2019

Homeworks are too much work, Proving that you know concepts should be done few times, not 5 times for each one.

By Aman S

Jul 06, 2018

Nice overview of all the cloud concepts but lags in difficulty level for beginners

By Raul K

Dec 08, 2017

It is alright. I was expecting some higher quality though. I do not recommend it.

By mogahed m k y

Mar 22, 2020

I don't have more time to study but it will be in future

By Darren

Dec 18, 2017

It's too difficult to me. But the interview is good

By David C

Mar 30, 2018

This course is totally not for the beginner, even you pass the prerequisite with 100% score easily.

I understand the distributed algorithms could be hard, but the instructor didn't seem to teach in a beginner-friendly way, he just read the PPT without emphasis. In my opinion, this course should just be a little harder than the Algorithm course. (BTW, I couldn't find another alternative yet, maybe other people could suggest.)

Just as lots of other reviewers mentioned, the C++ Gossip assignment is really a mess for a non-C++-expert, even you are an experienced non-C++ programmer.

Hope I could pass this course after I gain lots of insights from other places in the future.

By Zihao C

Jul 21, 2019

Actually this course contains decent material, as long as you don't pay for homework and programming assignment. The homework and final test ask about very detail of a concret implementation, instead of some concept or idea. When it comes to vector timestamp/unicast/multicast, the cases presented in the tests and homeworks are presented in an unnecessarily complicated way. Also the starting code in the programming assignment is written in a bad way, both in codeing style and design decision, and takes you more time to get started with it.

Basically I like the course content. But I won't recommend you to pay for the homework/programming assignment.

By Vitaliy G

Aug 06, 2016

The course is not for beginners and WinForm lovers. This is real re-branding yourself. I would say path to reborn to what real open source world is living in. Low or no help from course instructor, community or google. Course comes in huge amount of concentrated videos. 7 hardest assignments. I would give up on the beginning but commitment is top of all. I respect anyone who has completed.

By Mark S B

Nov 28, 2016

Course lectures don't seem to match up with the questions on the quiz. It is also not clear if the typed in answers are not read by the program correctly or if the answers do not match what the instructor is looking for, in any case the 3 weeks quiz is very difficult to figure out.

By Tushar G

Sep 02, 2018

The response time at discussion forums are disappointing! It'd be helpful, if Mentors could be prompt at resolving doubts. Moreover, I felt that the programming assignment was poorly documented.

By Qiankun X

Jun 22, 2016

the test is terrible and teacher is just reading the ppt. boring

By Yiqing L

Feb 26, 2020

very hard

By John S

Mar 20, 2020

Thought it was a waste of my time- made it halfway and quit, Primarily because what is covered in the lectures doesnt give you enough answers to pass the homework quiz - you can ace the knowledge checks in the lecture and fail the homework miserably.

Also, the instructor to be a bit unfocused - he only read the slides. The homework it was maddening. Much of what was in the homework was never covered in the course. For example in Homework 3 there are 4 or 5 questions about Ternary trees in Gnutella which is NEVER mentioned in the lectures.

I thought this might be a useful course but it turned out to be highly theoretical focused on the details about things like detailed approaches to Peer to Peer (which might be useful in context but seemed to be better served in a Cloud Computing Theory class.

By Anthony B

Dec 31, 2019

Overall it was a terrible course. The overly simplistic examples in the lectures didn't prepare you for the weekly quizes. The programming assignment was a huge waste of time dealing with poorly within C/C++ code, famish instructions and memory handling like it was the 90' and very little with cloud base algorithm or logic. I saw the same complains over and over for the last three years on the forums and that were for most of it ignored. Where is the professor? A very poor publicity for the University of Illinois

By Ayoub M

Sep 23, 2016

The slides are unclear and very very ugly and old style.

The assignment is very specific to Linux based machine.

Only one programming assignment.

More theory than practices.

The QCMs don't really help understand. They are just about remembering values.

I woudn't recommande this course since it is more like a book then it is like a course.

By Prabhat S

Jun 11, 2018

This course was a time wasting struggle. The instructor is not available for any kind of help. The course lectures need to be in sync with what is being asked in the weekly quiz. Instructor really needs to be available for help.

By Anik

Jun 09, 2018

Extremely boring with lots of academic stuffs. I am totally disappointed. Even the instructior fails to make the course interactive. The course materials are not good enough.

By Margherita S

Jan 25, 2017

Too much technical. I would have preferred high level generic concepts. Also, the exercises were quite tricky for a beginner.

By Judy M

Dec 31, 2019

This is not what I thought it was going to be. I don't care about big ) notation, etc.

By Shounak S

May 26, 2020

It's not even a course. He's not sure what he is speaking of.

By Alejandro A N

Dec 16, 2017

Too technical and not really learning the overall picture.

By ahmed-sillah

Jul 03, 2018

it really hard