Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Communication Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Communication Science by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,438 ratings
335 reviews

About the Course

Since Antiquity, scholars have appreciated the importance of communication: as social beings, we cannot exist without communication. We need to interact with people around us, to make sense of the world and to position ourselves in a wider social and cultural reality. In this course, we look at how and why communication evolved as a science and reflect on today’s dominant paradigms. The course also extends beyond the boundaries of communication science itself, exploring dimensions of history, sociology and psychology. Join our class, together with people all over the world. Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication. Upon completion of this course, students should: • have knowledge of the history and development of communication science; • have knowledge of the dominant theoretical approaches within communication science; • have knowledge and understanding of the most important models and concepts in this field. Beginning the week of February 16, 2015, you will be able to join Signature Track, a system that verifies your identity when you take an exam. This option will allow you to earn a Verified Certificate, which provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Amsterdam logo. Before then, you can complete a “test run” of the exam. You can then re-take the exam after the Verified Certificate becomes available. For information regarding Verified Certificates, see https://courserahelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201212399-Verified-Certificates"...

Top reviews

ZK
Mar 4, 2020

It is wonderful course. I found that teaching methodology and exam every thing was perfect. My best wishes are for the Coursera as well university of Amsterdam for preparation of this useful course.

LS
Feb 20, 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 331 Reviews for Introduction to Communication Science

By Natalia P

Oct 8, 2015

Very interesting and engaging!

By Edgar M

Sep 5, 2015

A ver good course!

By Durgesh T C

Jun 22, 2020

Great Experience

By Xiaoshuang F

Jan 6, 2016

nice teaching

By Shirley K

Sep 27, 2020

fun course!

By Jacopo C

Apr 25, 2020

Very good

By Narendra P M

Jun 4, 2020

Nice

By MILIND L T

May 28, 2020

NICE

By S. R

May 16, 2020

The best thing about this course is the graphics used in the lectures. The course was informative, of course. But the lectures were kind of boring and it's very difficult to pay attention when the teacher himself or herself seems distant and not interested. The worst thing is the distribution of the lectures. There was too much load per week. This clearly was an eight-week course! There is a quiz where none of the given options is correct! I tried them all but never had the correct answer.

Otherwise, I enjoyed learning the course, I got to know about new things. Thank you all.

By Friederike S

Mar 9, 2019

The content of the course is good for an introductory course. Sometimes important concepts are only briefly mentioned, while a lot of time is spent on less important things. Self-evaluation with the weekly quizzes is limited, because the given answers are hidden. You only know which question you got wrong, but not which was the wrong answer. This is completely useless, when the question was "Which statement is true" but the statements are not shown - How do you know which part you have to study more thoroughly?

By Yu S

Sep 5, 2015

The course is all comprehensive about models and concepts of communication science, however the break-down into small lectures turn out to be too brief in my opinion to develop rich understanding of the subject. It would be more conducive that lecturer expands more on the cutting edge study and research, to give people a sense of the finding of the field and its benefits.

By Vabis E D

Aug 14, 2015

The videos lacks clarity, not loud enough and at instances it's ungrammatical.

Certainly, there ALWAYS WILL be scope of improvement and although, it was moderately enlightening, thank you for producing this course (quite credibly flexible)

By Nedyu Y

Jun 1, 2019

The course gives some basic overview, but personally could not see the benefit, consequently it was not very useful for me. Lector uses very theoretical and distant language, which makes the content kind of boring.

By Pritom D

May 29, 2020

I praise for the method that has been applied on this course.But personally i have some dissappointment on it.It should be more effective on the lectures.

But i really praise about the system of quiz. Thank you.

By Anick-Marie B

Sep 7, 2015

I'm leaving because I can't keep up with an 8 week course given in 4 weeks, and even less if the course keep on refering to the 8 weeks time frame. A pity, I loved this course.

By Taylor R

Nov 7, 2015

This is a brief overview, basically food for thought. I liked the small portions this course was broken into, it made it all the more accessible.

By Marios

Apr 16, 2018

G

r

e

a

t

b

a

c

k

g

r

o

u

n

d

i

n

t

r

o

d

u

c

t

i

o

n

a

n

d

e

x

p

o

s

i

t

i

o

n

t

o

n

e

w

i

n

f

o

r

m

a

t

i

o

n

.

H

o

w

e

v

e

r

,

m

a

n

y

o

f

t

h

e

q

u

e

s

t

i

o

n

i

n

t

h

e

t

e

s

t

s

w

e

r

e

b

a

d

l

y

o

r

n

o

t

c

o

v

e

r

e

d

a

t

a

l

l

d

u

r

i

n

g

t

h

e

v

i

d

e

o

l

e

c

t

u

r

e

s

.

By Alessandra A

Feb 19, 2018

It's a very intresting course with which you can learn the basic mechanism of communication and the development of this important science

By Terry C

Jun 6, 2017

Interesting course - but "padded out" to fill the four weeks. Study aids would be nice (e.g. copies of PowerPoints used in instruction)

By Sumaya A A S

Oct 25, 2020

الكورس طويل و نظري

معلومات جيده وجديدة بالنسبة لشخص لم يختص في العلاقات العامة و الاعلام

ولكن حجم التطبيق صغير

By alex s

Jun 26, 2017

Quizzes too hard and don't make sense and too many of them. Maybe quiz, paper or final exam.

By Mohammed S

May 10, 2020

I would prefer it if there was more feedback in the quizzes and more challenging questions.

By Graciela G

Aug 7, 2017

It was ok, good enough to get into MOOCs

By B S

May 29, 2020

Very lengthy......horrible

By Jimmy D

Dec 3, 2016

course out line. please