Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
42,196 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

AY

Dec 30, 2020

The course had some ups and downs, but it was a good challenge and I did it! I learned so much and I never knew I could do this kind of course. I have gained so much knowledge now from when I started.

DL

Feb 23, 2021

This course was amazing and helped me understand so much more about networking, things I never thought I would know or understand. Very fulfilling and I can't wait to use this knowledge going forward.

Filter by:

7501 - 7525 of 9,607 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Quedo S

Jan 21, 2021

Awesome course, the content delivery was nice and understandable. So far through this course I have been able to understand the subjects in my problem areas. The only issue I have is that some of the wording of some questions is confusing and the Wifi placement quiz instructions could be better written.

By Joshua M

Feb 28, 2021

I had trouble getting the Week 6/Course 2 DB forums to function properly. By this I mean by responses would not submit. I updated my browser and was able to submit/work on other assignments so I am not sure what the problem was. Fortunately DB responses are optional but I like to complete all my tasks.

By Trenton D O

Dec 1, 2019

I enjoyed this course and felt like I learned a good amount concerning networking. My only complaint is the lack of testing and hands on material; it felt at times like I was just being shown a wall of information. It's difficult to grasp a lot of new concepts by just listening to someone explain them

By StevenTorres

Jun 19, 2021

Very good course. Very informative, sometimes an information overload, especially with the subnetting area. Feel like a 6 minute video is not long enough to accurately get the message along on what subnetting is. Learned a TON though and that is all that matters. Thank you for offering this course!

By Michael B

Sep 11, 2018

This was a good starter course! Coursera uses a variety of methods to teach this subject, providing several avenues by which I learned the course material. Video lectures, reference materials, written tests, and hands on laboratories were all useful tools helping me understand this subject better.

By Josiah W

Apr 19, 2020

pretty much excellent. the one thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars Is the lack Of preparation for the big quizzes. Sometimes The teachers aren't that informative leading to outside research of even more than the answer itself but even how to breakdown and pass the Quiz. Other than that Nice.

By Yunbin M

Dec 18, 2021

The course is well-structured and pretty comprehensive, however, when introducing certain new contents, some of the terms mentioned is not introduced at that point of time, which causes quite a bit of confusion for me personally. Hope that could get improved in the future version of the course

By Billy M

Nov 30, 2021

Very informative course that was challenging but fun at the same time! Wish there were more hands on models throughout, the material can be extremely dense and visuals or interactive modules would be a big help. I had to rely on taking screenshots of the visuals in the videos in my note taking.

By Albert R

Sep 23, 2022

This Course of the Bits and Bytes of Networking would benifit greatly from more check your knowledge questions throught all the lessons, as well as some practical application practice on things we will be graded on. For example routing network traffic excercises, compressing IPv6 address etc.

By Erik S

Jan 3, 2021

Not having any formal background in computers, this was a very helpful course. I'm only rating it four stars because I think it needs to be much more interactive than it is, and I do not feel the quizzes are all that beneficial or really get to the root of the concept you're trying to master.

By Andrew S

Dec 3, 2020

Could use a little more in depth explanation and further review of previous materials from before. I found myself having to go back and reference more things when I could have just seen something referring to them like a link or a small graphic in the bottom of the video explaining the term.

By Brandy L

Jul 31, 2020

I feel very much like it went from an alien language in the beginning to a much more familiar language by the end. In the beginning you immediately get overwhelmed but if you stick with it, you begin to see the information actually sticks to you. It works, I enjoyed learning what I now know.

By S R

May 10, 2022

This course was packed with super useful information that, although difficult to comprehend at times, is critical to better understand how computers and the internet function. Understanding how we, as humans, interact and use this information is vital to our roles as IT Support Specialist.

By Taylor A

Mar 22, 2022

Covers a lot of good content. Wish there were some more interactive quizzes or activities to better put some of these concepts into perspective. Some warm up examples with the IPv6 compression would have been helpful, I had to look up examples elsewhere of how some of the rules functioned.

By Matthew P K

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course! It would have been great to have seen some of the troubleshooting tools demonstrated in real-world practical examples. Also, the lesson on subnetting could have gone into a more detailed explanation. Overall, a very good and useful course. Looking forward to the next one.

By Amanda D

Feb 6, 2022

This seemed like a mass of definitions of technical concepts, which is great, but not a lot of practical application, beyond a couple of sentences like "This is useful for troubleshooting" with no indication of how its useful. The course would be improved with more practical application.

By Gabriel G

Jul 25, 2021

This course was really interesting but at the same time some parts were confusing. I really like the instructor's positive energy and enthusiasm, but some of the material was just too difficult for a complete beginner to comprehend. But still this course was absolutely amazing experience!

By Michelle M

Apr 11, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and love that is has transcripts because I read those rather than wat the videos however I wish we would go into detail about some of these topics I have to refer to professor Messer to completely understand and comprehend what I am writing down but I love it!

By Howard P

Nov 22, 2018

Although filled with many highly technical subjects, a high level emphasis was kept to ensure that the subject matter was understood enough without bogging down in the technical minutia. A very nice balance that gives the beginner a good leg up and enticing them to go deeper on their own.

By Gatdong K W

Sep 13, 2018

I am very glad to complete this course of which I will know more about using modern technology. Actually I am now in process to apply the skills that I have gain through The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking course, how to connect or how to set-up connection, how the OSI Model works.

By Max M

Feb 22, 2021

The course was very informative, but some more visual demonstrations would be helpful to follow up for complex topics. The instructor did an excellent job with been clear and concise. Also, some of the text are inaccurate with numerous spelling errors or simply did not follow the audio.

By Jesse F

Mar 18, 2018

It seems like a short easy course but the depth of information and the additional reading really fill out the class into a professional and credible source of learning. There's so much to cover in such a short time you can easily review it 2-3 times and still learn something each time.

By Lesley E

Apr 1, 2022

I thought the course was well done but could use a little more structure. In some cases, terms were introduced without explanation and converting decimal or binary to hexadecimal was not demonstrated. Considering the amount of information to learn, I applaud the course design overall!

By Justin S

Jan 2, 2020

Good course, but the quizzes and tests don't always seem like a good test of knowledge. Lots of questions about random obscure numbers which really don't seem all that relevant which makes the course harder than it needs to be. Wish there was way more details on troubleshooting also.

By Igor E

Mar 1, 2018

Good explanations. Some of the real world examples, for example how the networking model works step-by-step were amazingly helpful. Other times there could be more examples, instead of just plain definitions. But still I would name this the best networking basics course I've taken :)