Chevron Left
Back to Convolutional Neural Networks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Convolutional Neural Networks by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
39,719 ratings
5,256 reviews

About the Course

In the fourth course of the Deep Learning Specialization, you will understand how computer vision has evolved and become familiar with its exciting applications such as autonomous driving, face recognition, reading radiology images, and more. By the end, you will be able to build a convolutional neural network, including recent variations such as residual networks; apply convolutional networks to visual detection and recognition tasks; and use neural style transfer to generate art and apply these algorithms to a variety of image, video, and other 2D or 3D data. The Deep Learning Specialization is our foundational program that will help you understand the capabilities, challenges, and consequences of deep learning and prepare you to participate in the development of leading-edge AI technology. It provides a pathway for you to gain the knowledge and skills to apply machine learning to your work, level up your technical career, and take the definitive step in the world of AI....

Top reviews

AR
Jul 11, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it would be awesome to see al least one training example using GPU (maybe in Google Colab since not everyone owns one) so we could train the deepest networks from scratch

AG
Jan 12, 2019

Great course for kickoff into the world of CNN's. Gives a nice overview of existing architectures and certain applications of CNN's as well as giving some solid background in how they work internally.

Filter by:

4951 - 4975 of 5,226 Reviews for Convolutional Neural Networks

By mike b

Feb 4, 2021

First, there should be an upgrade to TF 2.0. In at least one instance the documentation for a function was non-existent. Second there are many places the videos can be cleaned up eg. transcriptions are just wrong like a machine did it, or the speaker repeats the same thing twice in rapid succession. Overall the course felt unpolished and dated.

By Ayush S

May 17, 2020

The Face_recognition assignment was a tough one to solve, i only got grader problems but still i wasnt able to figure out how to pass grader even though my code yieded right answers. That's my only complaint otherwise the videos from Andrew were really easy to understand and the programming assignments were very well documented. Thanks :)

By Chris M

Aug 2, 2019

The assignments are less copy paste and some allow the student to explorer different NN architectures. However, most of the videos are still a waste of time. And the methods needed to complete the assignments aren't taught to the student. Instead you have to spend a lot of time searching and hoping you find the right method.

By André N

Dec 2, 2018

video courses were really good, but the programming assignments drove me nuts. I am a senior software developer and I am writing software for more than 10 years now. I had a really hard time understanding the Tensorflow code. I think it is better to suggest a student to learn the basics of Tensorflow before doing this course

By Mladen M

Jan 20, 2020

Couple of suggestions: 1) fix the artwork via neural networks assignment as there is a bug in your code 2) With the lectures I would suggest that you do a summary explanation of how the whole process works (all steps and motivation - a review) at the end of each group of lectures (one for artwork one for face recognition)

By Quoc B D

Jun 11, 2018

The theory is very good but the exercise part is not good enough for me (For example in the Face Recognition exercise, I'd like to build (even a simple model) and train the triplet loss function... However, all that I can do is only loaded a trained model and then apply some simple similarity measure on encoding vector)

By Zach L

Apr 9, 2018

videos are excellent and insightful as always. I thought the homework assignments for this section were the worst yet. simultaneously holding your hand so much you don’t do or learn anything meaningful, and also providing you with obscure or insufficient guidance in the moments when you’re asked to fill in the blanks.

By Ernesto G d l P

Apr 11, 2021

There is major room for improvement on the automatic grader, under some particular cases, the answers are correct but the grader will give you zero with no feedback (in my case, I made a mistake with declaring local variables as global in the code). This issue is quite frustrating, the forums helped a lot though.

By Anthony M

Dec 4, 2017

Great class and amazing assignments. I really enjoyed learning about CNNs, YOLO, and Neural Style Transfer.

Errors with submitting the assignments, particularly weeks 2 & 4 took away considerably from the overall satisfaction with the course.

Thank you once again for providing a rich learning environment. :)

By Christopher C

Sep 9, 2020

Programming assignments were not to the level of the prior courses in the series. Should have more illustration of using Keras/Tensorflow. Assignments either were too spoon fed or there was too little reference information whereas prior courses had a good balance. Many of the keras links are dead.

By Luis F A

Jun 9, 2019

Theoretical content was very informative and high quality. However, some problems with the programming assigments were annoying. For instance, for the last programming assigment some weights would not load and it was necessary to go get the weights from the github repository of some other person.

By Shreyash W

Jan 6, 2020

The week 1 and 2 were perfect, then week3,4 had some issues with the lectures- Andrew sir was repeating some parts and the problems/corrections in the slides.Also the week3 object detection was tough n the hints were not enough, with the errors in the assignment submission costing me a day

By Achille H

Jul 6, 2020

Great content, veerything is clear and concise. Only downside is the grading of the exercises, which sometimes requires you to use a very specific syntax (even though another syntax gives the exact same results) and causes hours of painful debugging and reading through the forums.

By Patrick C N

Feb 2, 2020

Model implementation is abstracted in many exercises. Many helper functions are created to just make things work. TensorFlow feels a little foreign still, not enough of an overview. Higher level APIs like Keras and/or PyTorch might do better here instead of mixing in TF randomly

By Cristina B

Feb 7, 2018

The last two weeks sometimes bored me and sometimes I had hard time in doing the assignments. The intuition behin object detection/face recognition and neural style transfer are well explained, but some more details for understaing how these models work is missing in my opinion.

By ALEXEY P

Jun 28, 2019

The lecture content is good but the programming exercises are not explained well. Quite often you are left on your own to go through Keras and TensorFlow documentation. So, don't expect much help in learning how to implement the theoretical ideas explained in lectures.

By Richard S Z

Apr 27, 2018

The lectures are very good. The programming assignments are sometimes infuriating and do not add to an understanding of the subject at hand. More can be done to explain the Tensorflow and Keras code. Also complete code explained line by line would be VERY helpful.

By John

Jun 26, 2018

I learnt a lot in this course, but i have the feeling that my knowledge is still very shallow specially when it comes to convolutional neural network design, i cannot tell pros and cons of each design and how to come up with new design that meets my use case.

By Esmaeil K G

Dec 1, 2020

Thank you for your great course, but, to me, it has a great problem. It proposed the general theory of ConvNet and then explained some applications on ConvNet. there was nothing in between, i think it could be better if ConvNets were explained more deeply.

By Linying M

Feb 22, 2018

The course is really good, but the assignment grader is a disaster. I spent days and nights reverse-engineering the expected codes, read the forums, only to pass the course before subscription expires, and this is certainly a very disappointing experience.

By Dushyant K

Jul 14, 2019

I wanted to give five star; however, I could not. The function "model_nn" in Week-4. assignment -1 has been very poorly designed/ poorly explained. When I searched the forum, there are numerous questions on the same topic; but,, there was helpful hint.

By Sambit M

Jun 1, 2019

Bugs in the template code cause a lot of time waste.

Also, the exercises need to be better which teach how to actually build a model ground up rather than just filling in small parts.

Getting the main models working is the key, which is not covered here.

By Max S

Jan 12, 2018

A great course, but I can't give it 5 stars... There's just too many broken assignments, the videos are barely edited, staff completely ignores discussion forums, and it generally feels a little unpolished. I'm sure this will improve in the future.

By Ankit J

Sep 12, 2020

Videos are great and give a strong understanding of the concepts, but the programming exercises are underwhelming. I don't particularly feel confident about the hands-on understanding of the concepts after complete the somewhat shallow exercises.

By JiahuiWEI

Mar 14, 2019

Improve the quality of vedio please. there are too much repeats that could be easily avoided, it much worse than the first two courses, not about the centent, but the vedio itself, is your workers seriously correct the probleme of vedio??????