Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,928 ratings

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think!...

Top reviews

AG

May 13, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

TM

Jun 18, 2021

Very interesting course. It shed a light on what the structured approach really is. It's worth to pause for a moment with every step of the methodology and think how to apply it in real life. Thanks!

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 2,224 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Hanieh I

May 5, 2020

The course was very informative I just wish it went into a little more detail of the statistical tests used in the methodologies.

By Veretennikova Y

Jan 27, 2020

It's quite clear and interesting course. What lack is a reference to additional reading to give more overview about the subject.

By Pavel N

Nov 21, 2021

It would be great if it's possible to add labs with predictive and descriptive models to this course (not only classification).

By John O M

Mar 2, 2020

The case study used was difficult to understand.

The lab tutorial too were not detailed.

However the course is very interesting .

By Anup J M

Sep 19, 2019

I really liked the course content. Although i would love see another case study added into the course for greater understanding

By Imran R

Jan 7, 2019

Very informative course with the exercises designed to cover complete data science methodology based on the Mr. John Rollins.

By Sharvari U

Oct 6, 2019

Examples shared to explain the methodology could have been a bit easy so every domain person can perceive it equally well.

By Serdar M

Oct 25, 2018

the final assignment is too open-ended. no exact questions and answers. everything is left to understanding of your peers.

By Maria N W

Jun 22, 2021

Methodology is clear. I liked the Python exercise with the recipes. I could see how it could apply to other industries.

By Zezhou J

Sep 27, 2018

Well-structured course with crystal clear explanations. Case study is intriguing. However lectures are still a bit dry.

By Yash T

Oct 28, 2021

The example of Congestive Heart Failure given in video to explain data science methodology is difficult to understand.

By Yoshihide J S

Jan 8, 2021

I feel we need slightly more case study, not enough case study example! So, understanding the meaning "methodology".

By Nikhil J

Jul 4, 2020

It gave a nice overview of how things flow in a data scientist mind. Provides a framework to think approach problems.

By Stanley Y

Nov 29, 2019

Peer-reviewed exercises often result in inconsistent feedback! The course requires a more rigorous method of grading.

By Emilio B R

May 7, 2020

Buen curso aunque a mi parecer un poco monótono y repetitivo a veces. No tenía muy claras las explicaciones a veces.

By shibu p

Sep 24, 2019

I learned a lot on Data science methodology. Now i know how data scientist thing and work. It was a good experience.

By Yifan H

Aug 22, 2019

love the food recipe case! i am not familiar with clinical case but the food recipe case helped me learn the theory.

By David A

Jul 15, 2019

A good introduction to the process a data science uses to answer complicated problems. I found it very interesting.

By Shubham V

Sep 12, 2021

Content and learning is good, but you can improve quality of images used in videos. Sometimes text was not readable

By Jeevan K

May 19, 2020

I found it difficult to understand the Data understanding step in the course.

Examples can be little in normal terms

By Amogh K

Mar 24, 2020

The final assessment is very confusing for starters and needs to be more in line with the material actually taught.

By Praveen K

Oct 13, 2019

This course should have been in the later stages. It is too early to understand all what the instructor has to say.

By Lilliana A

Feb 2, 2022

Loved the course overall, only wish it had reference to further detail the theoretical base and see more examples.

By Kyle H

Jan 24, 2020

A solid course that covers the fundamentals of the process a data scientist will go through to complete a project.

By vince l

Dec 31, 2019

A good overview on the Data Science Methodology. This course could be the launching pad for Data Science journey.