Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
15,431 ratings
1,828 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AG
May 13, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

JM
Feb 26, 2020

Very informative step-by-step guide of how to create a data science project. Course presents concepts in an engaging way and the quizzes and assignments helped in understanding the overall material.

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 1,813 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Declan H M G

May 13, 2019

I found the material here vague and difficult to follow at times. Which led to confusion particularly about what was expected with the peer graded assignment.

By Головатенко В В

Jan 25, 2020

Well, when the previous courses in the specialization were a total waste of time, this one is adequate, but still not very usefull for data science itself.

By Alok M

Jan 12, 2020

Better problems (more generalized and relatable) could have been used to describe and make the modules understand better. Not satisfied with this course.

By olu

Mar 31, 2020

Teaches what it's supposed to but could be more indepth in establishing your understanding of the process of methodology from Analysis to Evaluation

By Lahiri B

Oct 13, 2020

Questions asked during the course videos were repetitive and three of them could not be submitted due to some error, despite trying multiple times.

By SAMYAK S

Apr 14, 2020

It's good but I think the case study is not easy to understand and another case study must be included which easily makes you understand this topic

By Mark H

Jan 30, 2019

Course was ok. It's difficult to formalize data science into a generic methodology where subject matter expertise is separated from the process.

By Baptiste M

Oct 24, 2019

IBM Developer Skills Network tool is a complete disaster, spending more time trying to get what should have been a PDF than actually studying...

By Pedro C F

Feb 18, 2020

the case study is not easy for someone whos is doing it for first time, also you need more text for explaining the approach analytic.

D.S Pedro

By Jennifer K

Apr 4, 2019

The topic is super important and interesting. The content of the course was a bit hard to follow. More real-life examples may have helped.

By Akash T

Oct 22, 2019

The examples used were poor and the definitions of each stage were not concrete, workable definitions but rather very abstract definitions.

By Andrea M

Sep 6, 2019

I guess it is a good course for someone who has never taken any research methods. But having a PhD this course was quite useless for me.

By sidhartha m

Dec 1, 2019

The example/s (with all due respect to the good knowledge of the author) could be improvised, however

overall, an excellent course!

By Raymond P

May 10, 2019

I think it's a little bit vain to introduce in such way for some people without much background in statistics and machine learning .

By Islam A

Dec 13, 2019

the narrator is speaking fastly as i can't understand that with this high rate words with my little english experience in listening

By Josep R C

Apr 22, 2020

Not a complicated course which gives you an accurate, intuitive and useful methodology applicable to any Data Science problems.

By AAKASH K

Apr 3, 2020

Lectures were informative but slow. Need to be more engaging to keep interest ongoing.I dozed off during certain lectures.

By Joao C

Dec 19, 2019

Some of the lectures were not very clear. This grading is based on a comparison with other courses in this specialization.

By Sylwia K

Mar 9, 2019

For me this part was a little too much descriptive and given example (hospital patients) is not very easy to understand

By Bhavesh S

May 27, 2020

Please change the audio track without earphones it is impossible for us to listen otherwise i would have given five.

By Ali I

Nov 4, 2019

Hi Dear Team ,

I thinks this course need more clarification and more details and examples.

Thank you fro your effort.

By Reinhard H J

Oct 4, 2019

Very generic and superficial explanations. Needs more substance. The best thing was the explanation of the ROC curve.

By Michael E S

Apr 13, 2020

IBM python online exercises were difficult to complete because of faulty online implementation. Content seems dated.

By Hoang N H D

Feb 19, 2020

Overall is good, except the example of heart disease was too complicated to transmit clearly the idea of this course

By Arup K N

Jun 23, 2019

This course is more theoretical than practical which kinda makes this course a little boring then the other courses.