Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Capstone by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
1,087 ratings
281 reviews

About the Course

The capstone project class will allow students to create a usable/public data product that can be used to show your skills to potential employers. Projects will be drawn from real-world problems and will be conducted with industry, government, and academic partners....

Top reviews

NT

Mar 05, 2018

Capstone did provide a true test of Data Analytics skills. Its like a being left alone in a jungle to survive for a month. Either you succumb to nature or come out alive with a smile and confidence.

SS

Mar 29, 2017

Wow i finally managed to finish the specialization!! definitely learned a lot and also found out difficulties in building predictors by trying to balancing speed, accuracy and memory constraints!!!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 271 Reviews for Data Science Capstone

By Jay B

Oct 04, 2016

This is not for beginners with no experience. The estimated weekly hours are absurdly low.

No one has seen any sign whatsoever of the industry partner, SwiftKey, despite claims they will be around to help. The field has advanced dramatically since the course was developed. Be prepared to do a lot of research and trial and error.

The specialization has been an excellent way to learn a fair amount on the topic, but it is just the beginning. The capstone will challenge you. It is rewarding when you complete it.

By Victoria A

Mar 29, 2017

With this course I learned to go through a data problem from the scratch and get a real data product, and document it. My only constructive comment is that, when reviewing the projects of classmates, there is a huge dispersion on the effort and quality of the products presented, from very basic and simple Apps to a very professional products, and the scoring of them all is quite the same, perhaps one or two points of difference, in eleven points maximum score.

By Neeraj A

Sep 08, 2019

Feeling proud after completing all the courses under Data Science Specialization. This was not an easy task to complete especially if you are not familiar with the Statistics. Requires continuous dedication and motivation to follow and complete. Course is well designed and cover most of the topics. Its just stats part can be enhanced further to cover some basic aspects. Thanks for all the support

By Rizwan M

Feb 04, 2020

its good learning. however NLP is never introduced in the course. its very hard to compute the metrics and train the model in R. Accuracy of the model is very low, as it's not easy to train the models in R as it requires humungous data sets to get up to 95% accuracy.

Neural networks, LSTM in python with tensor flow is the best choice to do the projects like this.

By Josh M

Oct 12, 2016

Good scenario and a good learning opportunity. I don't think the quizzes related well to the problem we were trying to solve and introduced a red herring, however. Predicting the next best word is not the same as predicting the relative probability of 4 words where one is the "right answer" but not necessarily the best prediction of a text prediction algorithm.

By Juan M

Jun 08, 2016

This is a great capstone project. It requires the student to really have an understanding of the concepts learned throughout the specialization and apply them to build a prediction app. There is very little guidance asides from the discussion forum which could be discouraging at first. Otherwise I would've rated it 5 stars.

By Wesley E

Aug 11, 2016

Overall a good course that makes you learn a lot on your own (unlike the rest of the series). Maybe a bit too much self learning. However, if you can complete it does give you a lot of learning especially in some text analysis which hasn't been covered before.

By Michal S

Mar 03, 2018

The course project was very interesting. It can be challenging if you want to do it properly or easy if you just want to pass. I tried to do it properly for which I had to repeat the course 3 times, but in the end it was good - I think I learned a lot.

By Yoga A Y

Oct 11, 2016

The Capstone Project makes you summarizes what you have learnt so far and take it to the next level, natural language processing . Besides, the ability to create a working app is a reward by itself.

It is challenging and interesting at the same time.

By Yong-Meng G

Jun 20, 2017

The capstone will be much easier if participants have hands-on experience and understanding of how R works. For those who have managed to overcome the steep learning curve, the reward from the learning experience is well worth it.

By shashank s

Sep 16, 2017

It was a challenging project and really pushes you to learn and manage on your own. It also pushes you to build and end to end product within time and memory constraints. Learned a lot during this project!!

Thanks!!

By MARIO R G G

Sep 10, 2020

It kinda feels like you versus the world in the first stages, but after correctly implementing and answering the questions poised by the videos and lectures it all stats to click, keep focused!

By Sivaraman M

Oct 23, 2018

The content of this course is very good and the assignments test the knowledge gained

The video lectures are some times boring, losing focus.

I think video lectures need some improvement

By Pieter v d V

Oct 24, 2018

It is a lot of independent work, with guiding questions but no real help otherwise. If that's not your thing, this course is not for. If it is, you'll great a very fun end project.

By Terry L J

Nov 28, 2018

I appreciate all the work they put into creating the course,. However, it can be frustrating to follow. It would be nice if they would structure it in a more organized fashion.

By Robert C

Aug 03, 2018

I wish that either there were a choice of capstone projects, or that there were a more numerical component to the analysis than such a pure text based assignment.

By Sandeep A

Sep 13, 2017

Very good Course as a beginner course for Data science , you will learn a lot of stuff and the capstone is a very good starter for Natural Language processing

By Carlos D C G

Mar 27, 2017

Very interesting, but Capstone is much more difficult than the rest of the course.

Be sure to study carefully the first courses, and don't rush.

By Jean-Philippe M

Dec 15, 2019

I wish we had more training on text mining. Was not that easy! But overall the program is very interesting and challenging! Enjoyed it a lot!

By Alex s

Apr 12, 2020

The project is really interesting by itself, but there is a lack of preparation and instructions to build it, basically you are on your own.

By Robert W S

Mar 19, 2017

Although this project is very open-ended with little guidance, it definitely requires the "full-stack" of data science to complete.

By Humberto R

Apr 09, 2018

Very instructive, since it presents you with a real world problem, that you need to solve by yourself, in all of its complexity.

By Jeremi S

Dec 07, 2018

Challenging. The course could possibly offer a 'here's how it could be done' ideal example after final submission and pass.

By xuanru s

Jun 20, 2017

Very challenge work. new topic. The only issue is if there is any videos that could guide us would be better.

By Zaman F

Aug 24, 2017

Most of the courses were very well tought and contained useful material.

Thanks to all three instructors