Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,920 ratings
6,808 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

4951 - 4975 of 6,677 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Deleted A

Apr 9, 2020

I thought it was good until Week three. I found some of the directions on how to download/set up programs very confusing.

By Francisco J A O

Jan 30, 2020

Really gets me, so I renew my interest in learning new things, It´s a well implemented course to introduce you to RStudio

By Deepak J N

Aug 6, 2017

It forms the base. The examples should be recent and since its more from Bio stats etc, sometimes gets a bit confusing. .

By Deleted A

Mar 2, 2017

This is a very good introductory course for all those who are eager learn about Data Science. It gives you good insights.

By Carolina d C Z

Feb 27, 2017

Es un curso muy básico, introductorio de conceptos, herramitas como git y github, las consolas... Sólo para principiantes

By Yash K S

Jan 22, 2016

The course was nice but seemed too trivial at times of discussion about basic tools like git and command line interfaces.

By Jamie P

Jan 26, 2021

Some of the exercises were challenging to follow; however, I was able to complete after troubleshooting and researching.

By Muhammad M A S

Jul 10, 2020

It was really, a helpful intro to the concepts and tools to get someone - especially if new to the field - on the track!

By eon t

Jan 9, 2020

it could be better if there is a true human being teaching instead of a female ai. it seems a little bit indifferent lol

By TA

Apr 20, 2018

This is a great introductory course and would recommend this to others who are interested in pursuing additional course.

By Subhajit M

Feb 28, 2016

Very good place to start. Tells you just enough to get started and also just enough to get hands dirty to keep learning.

By Michael M

Sep 21, 2017

Should be able to optionally select viewing the Mac or Windows installation videos.

There are no videos for linux users.

By Jeffrey P

Jun 8, 2016

Good overview of the specialization. Probably very good for someone new to R and software development tools in general.

By Herman A

Apr 15, 2016

Assignments are useful, background is interesting, but meat of it is nothing you can't get from googling "Data Science"

By Andrés C

Jul 1, 2020

Excelente curso. Yo ya soy usuario de RStudio y he aprendido bastante, especialmente del versionamiento de mi código.

By Abrantes A S F

Oct 21, 2017

The really great material were in Week 3. The first 2 weeks are too basic for anyone with at least some IT background.

By Mariela M

Mar 6, 2017

El curso me parece excelente, pero tuve problemas con la plataforma, me borró todo lo que hice e incluso había pagado.

By Babangida I B

Aug 18, 2020

The content of the course is quite enriching. Besides the robotic voice, I enjoy every bit of the course interaction.

By Kevin D

Apr 4, 2019

A decent survey of the material, which hopefully follows. A good but almost too easy class for such a deep subject.

By Parth S

Jan 25, 2017

Course content is good. I was able to get the basic understanding of git and github and also understood how it works.

By Lorenzo F

Jul 5, 2017

It helps you to start, so installing software and so on. I recommend you to try applying for financial aid for this.

By Tran H H T

Feb 21, 2016

Slides and videos are a bit insufficient in order to finish course projects.

Apart from that, this course is awesome!

By Jesus V M

Nov 5, 2020

Although it does not affect the learning experience, the robot voice in the videos is a bit annoying, to be honest.

By Mike W

Apr 12, 2020

Easy introductory course. Good foundational knowledge. First time using R Studio, Rmarkdown, Github. Quite helpful.

By Ian R

Oct 31, 2019

While the material is fairly basic, it is still very useful to future courses in the series. A good place to start.