Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
5,381 ratings

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this online course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

AM

Invalid date

Great course, tests you on a wide spectrum of difficulty. The assignments are crafted to help students learn gradually and build their confidence over Data Structure concepts efficiently.

SC

Invalid date

Perfect course for learning more about fundamental data structures, except for presentations on few difficult topics like splay trees, where explanations can be made more elaborate!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 908 Reviews for Data Structures

By Ardak K

Apr 26, 2021

One of the best courses on Data Structures. I am learning a lot in this specialization. Though, some of the videos could be better in terms of presenters. Some of the presenters seem to just read of paper without really understanding the context. But anyway, it is really valuable course.

By Anurag S

Apr 9, 2020

Amazing explanation of Queue, Hashing, Disjoint-set, Dynamic Array, etc. with their basic operations. An amazing way of IP address representation I learned in Hashing I paste the IP in a single decimal digit in my browser of some website with "http://<single decimal IP>" it's working.

By Milind P

Oct 25, 2020

The course is excellent. I learnt a lot from it, and would continue to learn even after receiving certificate.

One small suggestion : It would be great if we can get the actual test case for which our program has failed. It would help in debugging.

Thanks a lot for excellent experience.

By Parthiban D

Apr 24, 2018

As every other course on this series the programming assignments are excellent. I ignore lectures and go directly to the assignments. The lecture are very monotonous in tone. Its really hard to understand the accent. I usually learn topics elsewhere and attempt the assignments here.

By Fabrice L

Nov 1, 2017

Very interesting class, I learned a lot, about implementation and real life applications.

Like the previous class, there is many assignments to practice, so I really recommend to pick up a programming language that you are comfortable with, if you want to move forward at a good pace.

By Kevin K

Aug 17, 2016

Personally, this course is interesting and essential for the learner to proceed to other more advanced courses, either within this specialisation or not. There is only one suggestion that it will be better if the instructors can provide more details of the pseudo codes.

By Satish K

Feb 2, 2019

This course provides very good insights into data structures. The instructors are very good and gave concise and clear explanations for all the concepts. I have enjoyed working on all the assignments. The were challenging and made me apply all the concepts I learned .

By Vasilii G

Dec 4, 2016

Really liked this course - it is a comprehensive overview of basic data structures. Programming assignments are mostly to implement some data structure and use it to solve problem, but there are some challenging advanced tasks, which it was very interesting to do.

By Marcelo P

Jul 27, 2022

A lot of effort was put into this course. There are some great lectures, but most of all you can learn a lot from the assignments. These assignments are quite challenging though, so expect to get the most out of this course only if you put a lot of work into it.

By Sai v

Jun 9, 2021

WHAT A WONDERFUL COURSE,I HAVE LEARNT SO MANY THINGS.I RATED FIVE STARS BECAUSE THE LECTUERS ARE EXPLAINING VERY GOOD AND THE QUIZS ARE VERY AWESOME,ESCPECIALLY ASSIGNMENTS MAKE US TO THINK OUT OF THE MIND.....

THANK YOU TO COURSERA FOR GIVING THIS WONDERFL COURSE

By Andrei K

Oct 19, 2018

Interesting and hard (but possible to solve) challenges. All necessary information to solve a problem can be found in the lectures. The theoretical part is minimal but enough to start solve advanced problems. That's why I love this course more than others ever!

By aditya r

Mar 16, 2019

It is a must course for anyone who wants to excel in computer science field, and this course will help in every possible way from easy explanation of topics to effective assessment along with helpful discussions.

Thanks for creating such a wonderful course.

By Shobhit G

Sep 12, 2016

Lots to learn and it's fun to learn from different teachers. Very heavy (and high quality) course if one wants to do proper justice to all the materials presented (especially hashing and trees... Week 3 onwards). A worthy investment . Enjoyed it immensely.

By Mohammad K A

Sep 5, 2016

Nice course, It was bit difficult for me. I think I will have to go over the few lectures again soon. Problems were very cool, these took lots of hour head down. Thanks all lecturers, specially Daniel M Kane and Alexander S. Kulikov. Loved your lectures.

By Michael B

May 29, 2016

Similar to the first course in this Specialization, a great course on algorithms and their applications. Frustrating at times, but I definitely recommend this course (and the others) if you are serious about implementing algorithms for whatever purpose.

By Nguyen M H

Dec 19, 2017

I appreciate the fact that our lecturer put a lot of efforts in Practice case study and Coding practice along with most of the theories covered. This is one of the best course I've learned, which help me to understand and "digest" things in easy ways.

By Md. A H Z 1

May 17, 2018

This is a great course to learn Data Structures. All the course materials are very helpful and easy to learn. The instructors are very focused with the content; they explained every topic very clearly and easily. I have learnt a lot from this course.

By Saveliy B

May 2, 2016

Great course, hard and challenging.

Couple comments.

Please use pen during lectures easier to follow and understand .

Some assignments require more then 8 hours to complete so please add to description of the course

(don't make assignment easier)

By Martynas Š

May 27, 2018

It is a great course. But it would save a lot of time, if we could actually see errors of our submissions. Checking if your algorithm is working correctly (output wise), when you actually have a stack overflow on some test is very frustrating.

By Pradyumn A

Jan 3, 2019

This course helped me clear a lot of doubts as well as it introduced me to many useful things with their implementation. I must say this course is one of the best courses available on Coursera. Thanks to great instructors who helped me a lot.

By Gregory T M H

Oct 13, 2022

Another excellent course by this team. Great material: lectures, slides, resources, quizzes, and problem sets. Definitely challenging, but it forces you to really learn the material by applying it in pretty useful coding problems. 10/10

By Ray S

Apr 13, 2016

Clear presentation of basic data structures with non-trivial applications. Material is presented very well for beginning coding or as a review. Online grading is better than many programming courses. Works well as a stand alone course.

By MEET S C

Apr 23, 2020

It was a wonderful experience in learning through this course, Thank you Coursera and University of California San Diego along with the National Research University Higher School Of Economics for making this course available to us.

By Zhilun C

May 21, 2019

pros: Very nice course, understandable materials, great instructors. I am very likely to recommand this course to my friends.

cons: The BST and AVL tree part seem to be a liittle unclear. The pseudocodes are not fully implemented.

By Serkan P

Nov 20, 2016

This is a great course. The lectures were easy to follow, CLRS references are also good to clarify anything that is not covered in the videos. Programming assignments are challenging enough and spot-on to practice the concepts.