Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
5,380 ratings

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this online course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

AS

Invalid date

The lectures and the reading material were great. The assignments are challenging and require thought before attempting. The forums were really useful when I got stuck with the assignments

AD

Invalid date

Excellent review on data structures. I've taken a graduate level course covering advanced data structures, but I was still able to learn new things through the challenging assignments.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 908 Reviews for Data Structures

By Ian L

Apr 24, 2016

Good coverage of data structures. Also emphasizes stress testing to develop your solutions. Can be challenging, but well worth the struggle.

By Japheth O

May 10, 2021

I really enjoyed working through exercises on this course. This specialisation is by far the best course on datastructures and algorithms.

By Yin L H

Jul 12, 2020

There are some difficult problems in assignments. But because of them , I understand more about these data sturctures. I love this course.

By Rahul G

May 20, 2020

I loved this course, will suggest this course to anyone willing to have a career in Computer Science or programming in general. Suggested.

By Jason G

Oct 2, 2017

Well presented just like my experience with other courses in this specialisation. Looking forward to the upcoming graph algorithms course

By Avin S J

Sep 7, 2020

Exceptional courses. I had zero clue on the topic now i have a very good gasp over the topics. The Assignments were also very challenging

By Aviral B

May 7, 2020

This was a really difficult course and it took me a lot of time to complete it. I will keep coming back to this for revising more stuff.

By Sathyaanarayanan V

Aug 7, 2020

Whoo... I did it. Learnt a lot about hashing techniques. The challenging assignment is a drive for me to complete this specialization.

By Bhavesh S

Jul 14, 2019

Good course for learning the basics of Data structures and Algorithms

The course also cover some advanced topics .

overall good course.

By PRAKARSH D

Aug 15, 2017

Excellent course with excellent assignments! Totally Satisfied! Thanks a lot teachers, mentors and coursera for such a great creation!

By Сегодин В В

Jun 20, 2017

Very informative. Lectures provided with simple explanations. Seminar tasks allow to check your understanding and improve your skills.

By Kim H P

Nov 28, 2017

Very good course for data structures, especially the assignments and the auto-grader. The best way to learn algorithms is to code it.

By Jeyson J M N

Oct 22, 2021

Excellent course with very good explanations by the lecturers and challenging homework that will help you internalize the material.

By Benjamin J

Dec 21, 2020

This was a great, and challenging, course. I learned a lot from it. I thankful to the instructors for their hard work. Many thanks!!

By Kazuki Y

Jul 26, 2017

I was essentially new to prototypical data structures, but the course taught me a lot. In HW, I couldn't finish the splay tree one.

By ABHISHEK K K

Jan 23, 2021

Great course, learned a lot. Thanks to all professors who have put so much of effort in this course to make this course so great.

By Sonali S

Feb 9, 2017

This course was really awesome and helped a lot to revise old concepts as well as learn many new things about the data structures

By Avireddy N R 1

Nov 29, 2020

EVERY VIDEO PROVIDED HERE IS OF VERY HIGH QUALITY.I HAVE USED THEM AS AN ADDITIONAL RESOURCE MATERIAL FOR MY REGULAR COURSE WORK

By Ayush J

May 22, 2020

This course is awesome and very beneficial.

All the course instructor have gave their best and taught us in very systematic way.

By Nguyen B L

Nov 1, 2020

For me this is an excellent and challenging course. Required more time than my expectation. But very valuable. I learned a lot.

By Sakshar C

Jul 10, 2020

It was a great course. Learned lots of applications and also efficient implementations of many basic and useful data structures

By Gudipudi M

Jan 5, 2019

It is great oppurtunity for a student like me in remote areas.I thank Coursera for the quality education it has been providing.

By Artem L

Aug 12, 2021

The material is challenging, but managable. The programing assignment kept me on my toes, I could not complete a lot of them.

By Hiroki U

Aug 14, 2020

Assignments were tough, but all of them were good problem.

Completing assignments, you can learn more about Data structures .

By JAGANNATH R K

May 20, 2020

thanku for this it was really heapful.and during programming assignments i have learnt a lot.looking forward for next course