Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
5,380 ratings

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this online course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

AS

Invalid date

The lectures and the reading material were great. The assignments are challenging and require thought before attempting. The forums were really useful when I got stuck with the assignments

YL

Invalid date

Overall, it's good. But some chapters like the binary search tree and hash table, the instructions are now very heuristic. I can only understand the content after reading the textbook.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 908 Reviews for Data Structures

By Luis S

Nov 12, 2019

It was an amazing experience! Over all frustration through the assignments I really comprehend how to start to believes in myself and been hard worker to solve problems.

By Morozov A

Jan 14, 2019

Cool course, that describes essential of main data structures and explains their characteristics, use cases and realization. Strongly recommended for software engineers!

By Arunabh G

Aug 10, 2016

This course is well paced and covers all the data structures needed to code efficiently. This course also provides good real life problems in the form of assignments.

By WEIQI T

Jun 6, 2016

This course is very helpful, especially for its assignment. You must pass the time and memory constraints which will help your thinking of how to improve algorithms.

By Shivansh S

Nov 19, 2022

it is very useful for me. and also it is very useful and understandable for every CSE Engineering stsudent.. thank for CORUSERA and ALL member of CORUSERA for this.

By Diego A C B

Jul 25, 2020

Un gran curso, muy buenos profesores y muy buen material de trabajo, tanto vídeos como talleres son desafiantes y están al nivel universitario que estaba buscando.

By Francis M

Feb 4, 2018

Interesting, challenging and just like the algorithmic toolbox course a FANTASTIC way to practise implementing solutions in a programming language of your choice.

By Prathamesh B

Jan 29, 2021

Excellent course. The coursework is challenging, and will definitely frustrate you at time, but the end result is well worth the pain. The instructors are great.

By Fei G

Jul 27, 2020

Very well designed course material and practices. I'd definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn a good lot about data structures and algos!

By Shouman D

Oct 2, 2016

Great Courses. I have a much more clearer understanding now about the basic data structure and how to use them. The assignments are the most important part.

By Sruthi M

Nov 10, 2022

This course has helped me a lot . I have done better and better , i have skilled much thank you coursera for providing me this certificaton and course

By Chaoguang L

Oct 21, 2017

The course is great. However, I think there should be more stuff and practice about trees. The current videos and assignments are not enough to cover it.

By Ved B

Jun 30, 2020

Last programming assignment was not possible without starter files, a lot unknown technical issues were there but other than that course is fantastic.

By Soe W H

Aug 31, 2019

A great class. Would have been better if they give you answers (codes) once you are done with an assignment. So that we can reflect and learn from it.

By Saurav

Aug 8, 2020

Amazingly well presented material, very relevant and challenging assignments, while not being brutally hard are just enough to make your brain learn!

By Simone C S

Dec 15, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. The explanations are very intuitive and to the point, and the programming assignments are well thought-out.

By Abinay B

May 24, 2016

Course is Excellent.

The final week is a bit fast, understanding the splay was very difficult for me.

Could have given more examples for splay trees.

By Ricardo A M R

Jun 4, 2020

I really learned a lot of data structures in this course, not only the theory also how to implement those data structures in programming problems.

By Nikhitha R

Apr 23, 2020

This course is very helpful.I understood the reason behind evolution of a data structure which helps me to apply the data structures in real life

By Mahmoud N

May 27, 2016

It is a really professional and enrich course ,, materials are very helpful and assignments really help me to improve and check my understanding.

By Souvik G

May 28, 2021

Thank you for bringing such a course on the topic of Data Structure. This course has helped a lot evaluating my concepts and programming skills.

By Prashant K

Mar 4, 2017

The only things for the learners is that the course is amazing , keep faith in yourself and see the change you will undergo through this course.

By Manuel A P E

Dec 29, 2019

It was an exceptional experience no doubt about it I've been reading and learning these data structures and this was a good chance to prove it.

By Abhishek T

Nov 23, 2019

Very Useful and I would like to thanks to the instructors, learned a lot of things. Assignments were really helpful in absorbing the concept.

By Xiaochen W

Oct 23, 2016

Very helpful! The course is well designed with appropriate difficulty and the questions are good for practice and understanding the contents.