Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
5,381 ratings

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this online course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

AS

Invalid date

The lectures and the reading material were great. The assignments are challenging and require thought before attempting. The forums were really useful when I got stuck with the assignments

VK

Invalid date

Amazing course.

Interesting exercises help with learning and understanding of internal mechanisms basic data structures, how some of them work, the pros and cons of each.

Thanks!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 908 Reviews for Data Structures

By Yuvraj G

Jun 17, 2019

Great Course Highly Recommended.

There is hell lot of information to grasp. Must take this course. And put everything in it.

By John J M

Jun 13, 2016

Great course with great content. Really enjoy the addition of support material and test cases for the difficult problems.

By Suraj M

Oct 26, 2021

Best Course Learned linked list, heap data structure, binary search tree, any many more data structures core concepts.

By V S P

Nov 12, 2020

The course contents were very well presented and the practice exercises really kept me engaged throughout the course.

By Aditya C

Jan 6, 2020

Very Good Course. I find myself tough to write code that will run in one go after rigourously checked on mine laptop.

By Amandeep

Jun 19, 2021

Really amazing problems. The structure of the course is really great. The best section I found was that of Hashing.

By SUNNY

Aug 9, 2020

This is the best course to learn data structure in very easy way .This course teaches the topics by using visuals .

By Krzysztof L

Sep 27, 2017

This is great course. Mostly thanks to the very good and interesting programming assignments.

I highly recommend it.

By Sean W

Jul 9, 2017

Course is well designed and an enjoying challenge. It's a bedrock course for anyone solving computational problems.

By 2K18/EC/079 H N

Aug 29, 2020

If you have the basic language of any coding language(C++,java,python) then this course will be very good for you.

By Jay C

Jul 24, 2020

Learnt new things like Rabin-Karp algorithm ,algorithms to find patterns in strings ,applications of BST ,etc.....

By Arun M

Jul 20, 2020

excellent course for data structures and algorithms.

recommend to all who want better standing of data structures

By Manikant R

May 30, 2020

Course was well taught , I find it little difficult to understand but its okay , the topic is difficult itself.

By Huimeng Z

May 2, 2020

LOL!! I love this course! Learned a lot! I like the professor in the first week! Very beautiful logic! Excited!

By Vadim S

Mar 18, 2019

The course gives a very good explanation about trees, maps and and lists. Must have for any software developer!

By Giuseppe M

Aug 3, 2017

Wonderful course!

One small note: some pseudo-codes have some bugs or aren't detailed enough, please fix them!

By Zebin W

May 14, 2017

Very rewarding when completing it but not easy to complete all the programming tasks especially independently.

By sawan g

May 3, 2020

It was a wonderful experience. Course was somewhat challenging but those challenges made it very interesting.

By SWAPNIL D H

May 6, 2020

This Corse Was One of the toughest course i have ever learned But it was good i have laernt uch More things

By Tapas S

Oct 1, 2019

wonderfully explained all the concepts...worth it...superb course to follow for a data structure learner...

By Jingjing Z

Oct 30, 2016

This course is pretty good. The most good part is that it includes academic learning and hands-on practice.

By Mahendra k

May 8, 2020

Nice pace - neither too easy nor too difficult. One course doing full-time can be completed in 2 - 3 days.

By Yuchen L

Dec 12, 2018

It's a real good course! I have acquired so much essential knowledge about data structure and programming.

By Zac B

Mar 22, 2018

Incredible course. Very challenging but also very rewarding. The instructors and talented and enjoyable :D

By Raghav s

Nov 29, 2020

The course is very to begin with. The instructors explain everything from basic. Very good for beginners