Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,318 ratings
1,879 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,863 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Greg L

Apr 18, 2018

no discussion or ongoing grade at least in the beta course. Generally pretty good, a little slow and simple to start

By WANG T

Feb 10, 2018

Clear structure and typical case were applied in this course. However, hope the course material could be more detail.

By Jake R

Apr 25, 2020

Good course for people who have been out of school for a long time and looking to understand some math fundamentals.

By Rashi S

Apr 4, 2020

The course was helpful to enhance some forgotten mathematical concepts, especially probability and its applications.

By Nguyen T T

Dec 31, 2017

The course is helpful both as a refresher and a introduction, although i would like to have more practice exercises.

By ABHISHEK B

Jul 16, 2020

Good one .Content creator focuses nicely on basic maths which is required further for understanding complex topics.

By Samata L

Jul 9, 2020

Some lectures were not that interesting but the video companions are so well and the quizzes are very interesting.

By Rajeshkumar P

Apr 10, 2020

Week 4 problems are so chalenging, Give some more reading refernce, practice reference, need more practice on tht

By Ricardo M

Mar 20, 2020

Would be great to have a chapter dedicated to relating the concepts learned with typical data science activities.

By Laura M d A M

Aug 6, 2020

Pretty basic until the last module.

It has been very useful to remember a some maths that studied a long time ago

By Christo F

May 27, 2020

THE QUIZZES WERE AMAZING. IT CHALLENGED ME SO MUCH. BUT AT THE END I COULD GET BETTER AT MY ANALYTICAL THINKING.

By Alvaro S

Apr 18, 2020

I liked the explanations, there are some errors that are corrected as comments that chould've been easily fixed.

By sam s

Nov 11, 2020

Would have been good to have seen examples of how each math discipline works when integrated with Data Science.

By Vraj B

Apr 20, 2020

Extremely help ful for the beginner in data science

thank you coursera, Duke university and both the professors

By Jaison A

Mar 21, 2017

Material was well presented. Exercises could have been more involved; likely would have enhanced the learning.

By J. A H

Sep 7, 2020

Really enjoyable course that taught me how much I still need to learn to truly understand probability theory.

By Aman G

Mar 20, 2019

The course is well structured and good for the newbies and the ones who are not from mathematics background.

By Aishwarya K

Jun 25, 2018

I wished there were better examples and a little more in depth videos for week 4 since week 4 was very tough

By Ayda D

Mar 14, 2017

Good course. I feel like Week 4 could have been explained slightly better but otherwise I really enjoyed it.

By newksie

Aug 30, 2020

Great Course content, but many formatting mistakes which made some questions difficult to understand fully.

By Liqing P

Aug 24, 2017

Great course. For me the linear algebra part is too easy. But really learnt a lot about Probability Theory.

By Ramalingam

Jul 19, 2020

Some topics were slow; Final week on Bayesian theorem etc. should have been covered little more in detail.

By Charae B

May 30, 2020

The Bayes Theorem and Binomial Theorem portion could have better examples and more simplified explanation.

By Stanislav F

Jul 5, 2020

There are several mistakes in video lectures, there are pop-ups saying about those mistakes, but still...

By Poornima B

Jun 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the session on Data science math skills, refreshed all the math skills learnt long back.