Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,333 ratings
2,118 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

AS
Jan 11, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1451 - 1475 of 2,098 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Raj D

Apr 25, 2020

The last week of Probability was not upto the mark and I had to study it from outside to clear some doubts. Other than that rest of the topics were well explained.

By Mohammed F M I

May 8, 2018

It seemed the last week course was a bit rushed and could have been extended into few more classes. Apart from this the exercises and practice quiz were very good.

By Mariya O G

Feb 22, 2018

It was interesting and simplified which made it more understandable except for the last classes in week 4 which didn't have enough examples for clarity. Thank you.

By Om D

Sep 11, 2020

everything is great and sufficient for starting in data science. but please one request please do elaborate more the probability concept with excellent examples

By PRATIK K

Apr 30, 2021

Overall course is good. Last two graded assignments are challenging. But lectures should have more solved examples to deal with assignments.

I liked the course.

By MANOJ K

Aug 3, 2020

The fourth week was not specific enough and not covered entirely . Also the professor should consider using widely accepted scientific notations in probability

By Alan C

Sep 16, 2019

The second part was difficult for me because was short on examples and not as dynamic as the first two weeks. But overall I would say that was a nice beginning

By E. R " A

Jul 23, 2019

Another course on how to apply Bayes-Miller to something other than coin flips and card drawings is needed. The transition to real-world problems is the issue.

By Jimmy

May 3, 2017

the very last week was tough

beginner of data science will not understand. that probability things is really hard to understand without some basic illustration.

By Jhon J B S

Aug 24, 2020

Good content, but the explanations will be able to improve, i know that at last week the subjects are complex, but i found better explanations in other sites.

By Irina

Oct 21, 2020

Good as an introductory course. It got challenging by the end, but I did enjoy it. Definitely need more study to be done to be comfortable with these topics.

By Paul B

Jun 30, 2020

The initial material is very introductory but the later does get much harder. A combination of the lectures and notes provides a good coverage of the topics

By Yash M

May 4, 2020

From these course your basic concept of mathematics will improve and anyone can apply in these course. It is easy as non mathematics person can also learn it

By Jeremiah M D

Apr 1, 2018

Pretty decent. I could've used some clearer explanations on the statistics stuff, but that's likely due to the fact that I've had no previous exposure to it.

By Daniel S

May 15, 2021

The lecturer and content are good. However, I don't find that the content was really useful as a separate course. It is still short and good as a refresher.

By Süleyman K

Dec 2, 2020

Until the Probabilty everything was great. The given info and test were even however after that information given became unsatisfactory and unexplanatory.

By Ayush A K

May 9, 2020

Its a good review of the concepts I studied in my high school but it is certainly not enough to dive right into data science after completing this course.

By Taenchiki S

Oct 12, 2020

Very good math review but the probability lessons need improvements. I had to study probabilities from external ressources in order to pass the quizzes.

By Vinay R

Jul 19, 2020

It is really amazing course which refresh my short knowlege and cleard my some of the doubts.And Great thanks to instructor who make this course amazing.

By Diana M

Jan 11, 2018

Easy to understand. Very good for beginner's. Handwriting was a little tough at times, but explained well by the instructors so it didn't hinder learning

By Jomar A N

Nov 21, 2020

The Last exam was very tricky and hard. I found it very interesting. Thank you for making this course. I appreciate this as well as many people like me.

By Manasi P

Sep 29, 2020

They gave real life examples to explain the topics which is very good .. personally it helps me to understand the core fundamental logics of each topic.

By Peter C

Jun 10, 2018

Actually I don't know well whether these contents should be earned by video classes. But, the explanations and the passion of the instructor were great.

By Nirupam S

Sep 17, 2017

The course is good for beginners. Although, more emphasis could have been placed on industrial examples but still the course is a great start for anyone

By Afif A R

May 25, 2020

an essential course for them wants to learn data science. But last week become really tough to understand, though the experience was good.

Thank you.