Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,084 ratings
1,828 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS

May 06, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1676 - 1700 of 1,810 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Mei Y

Aug 27, 2017

Broad coverage of topics in a compact course. Useful for those looking for a refresher course. Could be improved by explaining where in data science the chosen topics would be relevant to provide context.

By Supasuk L

Aug 09, 2020

The part about baye's theprem is really hard to grasp, perhaps less equation and more diagram would be better for student to understand the concept. (for me I look at youtube for better understanding)

By vignaux

Sep 22, 2020

The course is well but the last part of the course is boring because the principal interest of the course is data analyst with explanation of smart theorem as Baye's and this is not very well explain

By Alisa K

Aug 24, 2020

Week 1-2 are great. Week 4 is not what I expected. The professor did not explain, just read the slide. I need to see extra video on youtube to be able to understand the topic.

By Akshay M

Aug 20, 2020

Doesn't include statistics!

The combinations part and the probability part is super confusing. Had to read the from various other sources. Not a very good course to opt for.

By Ashish T

May 17, 2020

The classes from week 1-3 were really good but the week 4 content was very confusing to learn. I had to look online to actually understand what was actually being taught.

By Neha B

Feb 03, 2018

the course was really good. I just hope that we can get more practice questions in between the lectures so that we can understand the concept more precisely and deeply.

By B L

Oct 18, 2020

Good course, but week 4 lecture video quality not as good as the preceding 3 weeks.

In my opinion, probability course in week 4 needs further lectures and examples.

By Naveen K

May 25, 2020

The course would have been better if little more elaboration would have been done for the final week but nevertheless it was a wonderful course to have completed.

By Madara I

Apr 06, 2020

In lot of places formulas is not shown in tests. Last section about probability had really hard questions in tests, more examples in lessons would be better.

By Marie r

Oct 20, 2020

I had a hard time with the quizzes in the fourth week and could not find help in the given information. But i really enjoyed the focus on correct notation

By Deleted A

Jun 25, 2020

The probability module, i.e. Chapter 4, was explained very obscurely and I needed to spend extra time looking for information to understand the concepts.

By Arvind A P

Jun 25, 2020

First 3 weeks were quite easy and everyone will get it but for the 4th week concepts are not explained properly and very tough problems added for quiz

By Sujoy D C

Jan 20, 2019

Overall it's a good one. In Math part I liked it a lot but in Stat I think Prof should explain a bit more in depth and the content is not good enough.

By Traci B

Jun 12, 2020

I would like to see more useful tools like Excel, real world examples, practice exercise. Weeks 1-3 were great, Week 4 module needs some real work.

By Roger V

Jun 19, 2020

I expected more from the course, like better presentation (slides or something like that) and the first 3 weeks are much more basic than I expected

By Yonax L

Jun 02, 2020

Quizzes are way more difficult and different than what was taught in the lecture videos and readings. (This apply the most to the last week module)

By Francisco G

Sep 28, 2020

Explanations for last two modules are somewhat confusing. I had to consult other materials and read discussion forums in order to understand.

By Stephanie M

Jul 05, 2020

Modules 1-3 were great. But the 4th module on probability was not only very difficult but I finished the course still not understanding.

By Antonio M H

Feb 07, 2019

The material covered was very useful for a beginner/intermediate course, however, the style of the presenters was not always very clear.

By Leon L

Dec 13, 2017

it's the foundation for data science, but these contents are too simple. I think it's not enough for a good data analyst.

By Shah F B

Jul 05, 2020

Statistics and probability part is a bit difficult to grasp.

Anything that can be done to make it easier would be great.

By Martino V

May 29, 2017

a good selection of topics, but way too formula based rather than understanding based, especially in the second half.

By Felix H

Mar 30, 2020

Some of the quiz questions have mathematical errors (e.g. inside of a log cannot be negative) or are quite unclear.