Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
9,652 ratings
3,457 reviews

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors
(331 Reviews)
Interactive content
(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

JG
Aug 17, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

VM
Apr 9, 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

Filter by:

3351 - 3375 of 3,404 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Anna-Mariam Ö

Mar 9, 2018

A good introduction

By Noluthando M

Oct 2, 2019

Still in progress

By Al M

Jun 11, 2020

Good Experience

By Bomkazi L

Feb 26, 2021

Understandably

By Ali H

Feb 13, 2021

Mostly helpful

By Khasan

Sep 13, 2020

Nice course 😊

By Mohamed M

Apr 1, 2020

it's very nice

By Marco B R

Sep 26, 2017

It's marvelous

By Nguyễn T N

Jul 31, 2020

Great course!

By Sharon E L

Feb 26, 2019

Great course!

By Rocio

Feb 2, 2017

I enjoyed it.

By Tran D

Sep 6, 2016

Very useful!

By Ghaith k G

Nov 5, 2018

Good course

By Reem K

Jan 31, 2016

too general

By Cynthia L

Jan 15, 2019

Thank you!

By Jordan F

Dec 22, 2018

Good stuff

By Хаврюченко Н В

Apr 1, 2020

Cool

By Huynh q h

Jun 5, 2016

like

By Sue H

Jun 22, 2017

I

By Corinne M

Dec 20, 2015

A

By Kristine W

Mar 31, 2020

Content is high quality and the professors are engaging. Videos need more visuals than just someone speaking at you 90% of the time though. The quizzes are decent in that I had to actually go back and look at the material a few times to remember the answer, so they're not too easy. But the writing assignments are kind of a joke in that as long as you write a few sentences of anything remotely related to the content you will get a passing grade. It's good practice to read other people's assignments to see what you might be dealing with in a real English class, but you're not required to actually grade it either. I suppose if you do a video you get to practice speaking to an audience. I plan on doing the full certificate so I hope the next assignments are more worthwhile. For the price of $50 a month it's a good deal. I was able to complete this first part in 2 days, but I suppose if you're working full time or have a family it could take you a lot longer.

By Maya W H

Dec 16, 2016

There was interesting information in the class, but the peer review questions were not well developed to stimulate thought and new ideas. Many of the answers I read were just repetitions of what was learned in class. I think the objectives and expectations could have been more clearly communicated and the statement themselves better thought out. I also did not find the peer review process to be that productive as a grading tool. The parameters for grading were extremely simple and the feed back was quite subjective from students that did not understand the assignments.

While I learned some useful information, I won't continue with this course.

By Katherine A K

Sep 16, 2016

This class is very easy. It is a decent introduction, but has very little content. It is clearly made to be accessible to people from all around the world, and takes the content very slowly. The test questions ask you to recite information from the video lectures and reading, rather than thinking critically. It seems like they are just trying to make sure you watched/read the content and understood it, rather than making sure you acquired the knowledge. I guess it would be hard to grade essay questions in a class this big, but the content could go a little faster.

By Jeff M

Dec 4, 2015

This class felt a bit elementary . . . but it had some good material as well. I would appreciate a bit less overacting and goofiness (which actually praised in the course) and have a bit more academic material. In one of the videos, the professor suggested that teaching should be slightly above the student's level but not too high. This course seemed to be a bit lower than my level (but I have taken education courses in the past).

By Chana T P

Mar 17, 2017

Although the information provided by the course is good, I do find it a bit difficult to listen to the videos. In truth, I typically read through the transcripts instead of watching them. I understand the the professor is attempting to provide an interesting and engaging experience, but I end up feeling as though I'm being talked to like I'm a child.