Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
9,026 ratings
2,043 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SW
May 25, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
Apr 27, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filter by:

1951 - 1975 of 2,047 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By René S

Aug 10, 2021

It is an interesting course. However I think the English accent of the teacher is a bit difficult to understand since English is not my mother language. However, I learned interesting tools in Excel that will help me in my lectures at the university here in Bolivia.

By Denisse S

Mar 18, 2021

This course should have several practice work to explore different scenarios as the one provided on the videos are limited. Also as a student I would like to have several practice before I get a quiz and before I get a job. Practice is key to success.

By Monica M

Jun 30, 2020

Excel version used is different than mine and I really struggled with it. Besides, my Excel is in spanish and the one from the course is in English and instructions or funtions are named different. It was hard, very hard due to the above mentioned.

By Anthony B

Mar 5, 2019

The class material was okay, but the instructor repeated himself all the time. I would prefer to not have someone tell me that they are going to do something and then tell me what they are doing while they do it.

By Valentina D P M A

Sep 6, 2020

El curso estuvo bien, mi única sugerencia es que se mejoren los subtítulos o que se implemente un doblaje al español, ya que en algunos videos no habían subtitulos y en los que si, la traducción no era buena.

By KUNAL K

Jun 18, 2020

This course cover necessary topics that are required for data analysis. Problem is with graded quizzes because the instructor didn't give feedback on wrong answers or any important answer.

By Anthony R

Nov 18, 2020

The quizzes are not clear enough.

All in all it was a good introduction to Excel. The only thing the course needed is a few exercises to work on the VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP functions.

By Ajay M

Mar 4, 2017

Presentation is good. Concepts explained in a simple and clear manner. Missing interactivity which is very important to retain the understanding of the concepts explained.

By Ishan S

Sep 2, 2020

quiz where tough and questions with solution would have helped to learn. since the goal is to learn i think. and not many shortcuts where used in videos

By Laurens d K

Feb 6, 2020

In the first week course, the dates are in a different format. Fixing this is next-level excelling and that cannot be the aim for a first week course.

By Eric

Oct 20, 2020

parts of the video were too repetitive, especially on the graph plotting section. the quiz had many elements that was not taught in the video.

By Shraddha A S

Aug 19, 2021

Course need to be more elaborative also the questions asked are very tricky need to be more simple in terms of understanding the same.

By John N

Nov 1, 2019

Sometimes the test questions are very difficult to understand. Excel file for week 4 exam did not seem to work, I had to copy

By Arjun J

Jul 22, 2020

Good knowledge sharing sessions but could have been more informative like usage of "Power Query" & others was most expected.

By Manikant J

May 1, 2020

The basics have been explained in video but the quiz questions can't be solved without a pre-requisite of MS-Excel.

By Heidi L

Aug 3, 2017

Sometimes felt like the "right" answers were wrong, or that I was failing at something they never taught us to do.

By Yilun G

Dec 19, 2017

not include VBA which I need most in excel.

I plan to cancel after tried it but it charged me 50 $ in the end.

By Alita H Z

Aug 6, 2017

I extremely basic course, I would suggest a diagnosis or level set to define where new students should start

By Eduardo R O S

Dec 19, 2019

The course teaches you what you should have known for colleague, but doesn't get into advanced techniques.

By Eva A

Nov 15, 2020

Too hard explained + some of the information about excel expired. Otherwise, it was nice, thank you!

By Carine M

Jan 27, 2021

A bit outdated, not all info very pertinent (some graph types etc.). Older version of Excel.

By ece

Jul 28, 2020

The level of the course and graded quizzes do not match. Quizzes are more advanced.

By Joanna M

Jun 12, 2019

could have been a bit more engaging. the videos are quite boring (sorry!)

By Luz A S H R

Jul 5, 2017

Should be indicated the level of complexity as easy/101. Well explained

By sakshi s y

Oct 1, 2020

the sound quality has to be increased. the overall course is very good