Chevron Left
Back to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
1,054 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis. In this four-week course, we introduce Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI, three power tools for transforming, analysing and presenting data. Excel's ease and flexibility have long made it a tool of choice for doing data analysis, but it does have some inherent limitations: for one, truly "big" data simply does not fit in a spreadsheet and for another, the process of importing and cleaning data can be a repetitive, time-consuming and error-prone. Over the last few years, Microsoft have worked on transforming the end-to-end experience for analysts, and Excel has undergone a major upgrade with the inclusion of Power Query and Power Pivot. In this course, we will learn how to use Power Query to automate the process of importing and preparing data for analysis. We will see how Power Pivot revolutionises the actual analysis process by providing us with an analytical database inside the Excel workbook, capable of storing millions of rows, and a powerful modelling language called DAX which allows us to perform advanced analytics on our data. We will finish off by venturing out of Excel and introducing Power BI, which also uses the Power Query and Power BI architecture but allows us to create stunning interactive reports and dashboards. This is the third course in our Specialization on Data Analytics and Visualization. The previous courses: Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis and Data Visualization in Excel, cover data preparation, cleaning, visualisation, and creating dashboards. To get the most out of this course we would recommend you do the previous courses or have experience with these topics. In this course we focus on Excel Power Tools, join us for this exciting journey. Please note that Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI Desktop are only available on the Windows platform, so Mac users will require Bootcamp running Windows or a Virtual machine with a Window O/S. While Power Query is available as an add-in Excel 2010 and 2013, the tools have changed significantly, and this course has only been designed and tested for Excel 2016 and later. For an optimal experience, we recommend Office 365....

Top reviews

DS

Invalid date

It's really a interesting part to learn the Power query and power pivot and power BI, this will be really helpful for me to improve myself for my career. Thanks you!

QZ

Invalid date

Great explanation of every detail throughout the course. But I thought I'd let you know that there is a typo in the answer for the achieved % target in the Week 2 Practice challenge.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 283 Reviews for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

By Matías V

Feb 4, 2024

sas

By Qurban A K

Jul 19, 2023

'

By Olena K

Jan 27, 2024

It's a great course. The instructor explains complex concepts and different features in an easy-to-understand way. The only thing I don't understand is why they dedicated the whole week to Power BI in the course about MS Excel. I would rather learn and practice more advanced Excel features. Also, it would be incredible to have examples and scenarios with some statistical calculations as it's often part of the Data Analyst role.

By Adam J

Mar 19, 2023

The directions, assessments, and tutorials were very well organized. The correlation in update of software was not quite accurate. Some of the features shown in power bi were not the same as what is currently available in power bi, such as conditional formatting and visual format features.

By Miguel R C

Jan 21, 2023

Great course to begin learning about power query, powerpivot and power BI. They don't go that deep, but it covers lot's of suff to know what it is all about. Totally recommend if you are new to those tools.

Nicky as always is a great teacher!

By Debi Y

Aug 14, 2022

The courses from Macquarie University is always fascinating for me. Lot of new skill and knowledge that I got through the course, especially about excel for data analysis and how to used Power BI to made a data analysis report.

By Michael R

May 28, 2024

The course seems good for learning Power Query, but it doesn't cover data modeling in enough depth. One video wasn't sufficient at all. There's also not enough coverage of DAX.

By ABDULLAH S

Oct 4, 2022

Good well explained videos but I think it could have been a little bit more thorough and the practice challenges could have been better. But overall a really good course.

By Chris D

Mar 29, 2024

The course content was excellent however the rushed pace of the videos made it loose spontaneity and flow with constant stopping and rewinding non conducive to learning.

By Ghassen G

Sep 8, 2023

A very easy and graspable course with very nice tips and tricks on how to use Power Bi to analyse data and create strong visualizations ! Props for the instructors

By PJ L

Jul 13, 2021

Pertinent content, well laid out and competent and engaging instructor(s). Some hiccups with accessing the data files. All in all, I highly recommend.

By VPRASARNTH R

Jun 22, 2023

Very useful systematic teaching approach from pivot table->Power Query->Power Pivot->PowerBi. Step by step guidance with good explanation. Worth it.

By CLOWEZ F

Feb 22, 2023

Good overview through power 1)Query 2)Pivot 3)BI

Pitty that Power BI and Pivot are not merged into one tool. Most likely licence+pricing issues :-)

By SOFIA S M S

Aug 12, 2023

It was a good course, I learned useful tools but it would be better if someone actually answered the question of the people who take the course.

By Kristiāna G

May 26, 2022

Realy great and helpful course! Very versatile, for me many new information and acquired skills to implement in my daily Job routine,

By Manogna R

Oct 27, 2022

Worth Learning . The faculty helps in understanding the basic concepts and usage on beginners level of the 3 applications .

By Elices

Sep 3, 2022

Good Introduction to Power Bi and Power Pivot and New Excel Functionalities for Data Modelling and presenting VIZ

By ayan m

Jan 18, 2023

Coursera is a best platform to learn and Develop Skills. I m happy to share my experience. Giving 4 Stare.

By linh n

Feb 17, 2023

very useful for beginner but need more material to handle realistic situation.

By Antonio

Nov 18, 2022

Valuable course for introduction to Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI.

By Aaron L

Jun 24, 2023

everything was good but the powerbi course was not really helpful

By Aiman I

Aug 20, 2021

wonderful, easy to follow and fun to follow along.

By Rajat P

Mar 8, 2022

Excel power tools is power up , it levels up.

By Khalid B M

Jul 26, 2022

good for basic understandig of power tools

By André F

Mar 15, 2023

Very good content and educational process.