Chevron Left
Back to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
1,055 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis. In this four-week course, we introduce Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI, three power tools for transforming, analysing and presenting data. Excel's ease and flexibility have long made it a tool of choice for doing data analysis, but it does have some inherent limitations: for one, truly "big" data simply does not fit in a spreadsheet and for another, the process of importing and cleaning data can be a repetitive, time-consuming and error-prone. Over the last few years, Microsoft have worked on transforming the end-to-end experience for analysts, and Excel has undergone a major upgrade with the inclusion of Power Query and Power Pivot. In this course, we will learn how to use Power Query to automate the process of importing and preparing data for analysis. We will see how Power Pivot revolutionises the actual analysis process by providing us with an analytical database inside the Excel workbook, capable of storing millions of rows, and a powerful modelling language called DAX which allows us to perform advanced analytics on our data. We will finish off by venturing out of Excel and introducing Power BI, which also uses the Power Query and Power BI architecture but allows us to create stunning interactive reports and dashboards. This is the third course in our Specialization on Data Analytics and Visualization. The previous courses: Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis and Data Visualization in Excel, cover data preparation, cleaning, visualisation, and creating dashboards. To get the most out of this course we would recommend you do the previous courses or have experience with these topics. In this course we focus on Excel Power Tools, join us for this exciting journey. Please note that Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI Desktop are only available on the Windows platform, so Mac users will require Bootcamp running Windows or a Virtual machine with a Window O/S. While Power Query is available as an add-in Excel 2010 and 2013, the tools have changed significantly, and this course has only been designed and tested for Excel 2016 and later. For an optimal experience, we recommend Office 365....

Top reviews

DT

Invalid date

This course is excellent. There are a few issues, but in the forum, you can find the answers. Exercises are perfectly prepared to understand all three tools.

VR

Invalid date

Very useful systematic teaching approach from pivot table->Power Query->Power Pivot->PowerBi. Step by step guidance with good explanation. Worth it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 284 Reviews for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

By Amiya S

Nov 23, 2022

turned out to be very useful for me. Starting from the basics, it goes to the details. thanks to the instructor and the Coursera team.

By Joe M

Jun 14, 2022

Great for learning Power Query and Power Pivot from scratch. A little heavy on the Power BI but I learned alot in week 4 also.

By Lim X

Feb 22, 2024

Extremely clear and detailed explanation with hands-on experience. Had a great time learning the various functions of Power BI!

By Ravikant A

Mar 29, 2022

Very understandable language and explain very well. Very useful in day to day office report generation, sharing and presenting.

By Emmanuel M C J

Oct 19, 2022

Excellent presentation, challenges and assessments. Thank you for teaching us how to use Excel Power Tools effectively.

By Carlos F A V

Jul 21, 2022

What an amazing course to learn about importing, transforming, analysing and visualizing data! TOTALLY recommended!

By malinda s

Jun 24, 2023

excellent course. this course lay foundation and give the courage to learn Dax, Power pivot and Power BI in depth.

By Nguyen H P T

Sep 28, 2023

Very useful and easy to understand. Good module, clear explanation, step-by-step videos actually helped me a lot.

By Scott P

Jan 27, 2023

Practical course for using Power Query tools in Excel and the associated Power BI to clean up and utilize data.

By Erick A R G

Jul 23, 2023

AMAZING! Follow along instructions, easy to understand, well paced and the content is great. 100% recommended.

By Mounika K

Aug 3, 2022

Great learning experience with the course.. It is very good choice for the beginners and the intermediars too.

By Saman Q

Jan 23, 2022

Best Course I've ever attended. Thorough, relevant content, practice quiz and assignments, and best trainers

By michael j

Sep 13, 2022

Very informative, I have enjoyed the course, and now I'm ready to help and impress my colleagues at work!

By Mukesh G

Oct 3, 2022

Really this course has great content and helped me a lot to think over the visulization.

A BIG thank you

By Javed A

Mar 24, 2023

Absolutely mind blowing. Thanks Nicky Bull for providing us such a high quality course. Thanks Coursera

By Raul R V

Nov 14, 2022

This course was amazing. Hands-on, concrete and you learn things that you can start using immediately.

By Juan M F

Jul 24, 2022

Amazing Course!! You never imagine how can Excel help your business with its super tools and Powers!!

By Abdul S

Jun 21, 2023

Very Excellent Course in Excel Power Platform. Also very helpful to dive into the world of Powerbi.

By امجد خ ع

Sep 8, 2023

Highly Recommended for Begginers to understand how to connect what you learn with alot of practice.

By Diego A A G

Jan 25, 2022

Excellent course, once you complete the prevous courses you feel completely ready to face power BI.

By ARAGON L K S

Jun 20, 2021

It is a really good course that allows you to reach a new level in data analysis and visualization

By Pankaj U

Apr 25, 2023

Excellent course created, excellently explained and trainer has taught very well even in video..

By Abdul H S

Jan 21, 2023

This course is designed wonderfully and method of learning, test etc. is very much professional.

By Deborah S

Jul 4, 2021

Fantastic. New knowledge. Great experience what possibilities I have to report and present data.

By Phanara M

Mar 15, 2021

Nice course. I would definitely enroll in course again if there is another advance level of this