Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,812 ratings
794 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

PP
Apr 18, 2020

The pattern of course is really nice.It first teaches all the basic information in video and the assignments are designed in a way that all the taught information are used to solve the assignment.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 793 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Alessandro C

Jan 13, 2020

A very good introductory course in Excel/VBA. The video lectures are always clear and interesting. The assignments are aimed at reinforcing the concepts explained in the lectures and their difficulty is very well-balanced.

By Matias C

May 26, 2019

Very interesting course. It's perfect for beginners in VBA. The quizzes are difficult but not too much, and the assignments are very interesting. I would recommend this course for anyone looking for an introduction to VBA.

By Iosu L

Nov 15, 2020

I think that the form of the course is really cool

The questions in the video, the assignments and the explanations show that the teacher is really involved in doing something useful for the learning of the subject

Thanks!!

By Roman B

Aug 20, 2020

I needed a course to give me a structured overview of VBA. This course is clear and presents good examples on using the different aspects of Excel/VBA needed for writing your own code and setting up live code workbooks.

By Juan D G V

May 28, 2020

An excellent introduction to the world of programming, excellent teacher and the course is very well planned and implemented. If you are interested in learning more about programming and vba, you should take the course.

By SAMBA M A

Apr 9, 2020

This course is just great. Throughout the four weeks, I had to learn a lot in VBA / Macro. I, who was already doing Excel, I quickly realized that there were concepts that I did not master. Thank you Charlie Nuttelman

By IGNACIO F R

Oct 5, 2018

I liked very much the practical approach the course takes. In my opinion, the extent of the course is correct but I would upload more VBA reading material for those who want to go deeper into programming Excel macros.

By André L C d R S

Aug 6, 2020

I appreciate all efforts made by Professor Nuttelman. This course guided me for a beginner (but essential) understanding of VBA. After years of postponing this learning, I start getting confident, thanks to Coursera.

By Rafael L

May 2, 2020

Super valuable content, great instruction and guidance. At times the advanced math involved deviates the main focus of the course which is VBA/Excel but this is very minimal; amazing course overall. Very recommended!

By Zhen G

May 10, 2019

I often need to create trackers/templates/reports for different purposes and VBA is a great starting point to have reports/processes automated. This is a very organized course that put things in orders. Super useful!

By Dariusz S

Dec 2, 2020

The course is a very practical and examples focused introduction to Excel/VBA techniques. I strongly recommend the course to the business people who wants to solve analytical issues or automatize routine activities.

By Mindaugas L

Nov 4, 2020

Liked it in overall. Questions at the end of each part of material really makes you to listen for material and not just flow till certificate. Lots of tips and advises in each topic to help to avoid rookie mistakes.

By Vivek B

Mar 24, 2018

This course is brilliant and Charlie Nuttleman is an excellent instructor. This is a must take course for all interested in taking their excel skills to the next level. I only wish he had put up some lectures notes

By Andrés F R L

Aug 19, 2020

The course is great to learn the bases of VBA to make of Excel a very helpful tool. The week 5 (optional) is very interesting and enterteinment if you like math and want to go forward through engineering problems.

By Alexandros G

May 30, 2020

i had been trying to learn VBA using books but wasn't easy. This cours is great in a few weeks i obtained the knowlegde that i need. it is going to change the way i use Excel. Many thanks to our professor Charlie!

By Juan D B G

Jul 20, 2018

This has been the best Excel course I've ever had. It encouraged me to keep learning and practicing and apply the different tools learnt into my daily work. I am very thankful to the people who made this possible.

By Edward R

May 23, 2020

The content of the course is quite interesting and provide helpful tools. I personally suggest that in the last part of the week 5, add the concept of tolerance in order to solve that kind of iterative problems

By Laura S J F

Feb 25, 2020

Very interesting course. I have worked in VBA for years and I learned useful tricks I didn't know to improve my codes. I recommend it and I will continue with the other two courses of the speacialized program.

By Jean C L

May 2, 2020

The instructor's lessons are very concise and well-planned. Concepts were easy to understand and execute. I had no programming background but I can still say that the teaching style proved to be effective :)

By Diego E

Oct 19, 2020

By the end of this course, you should have no problems in creating basic functions and sub-routines on VBA. The screencasts are very helpful and the exercises complement the learning process in a great way.

By Alfredo E

Jan 12, 2020

Really useful course! Very good for learning how to record macros and interpret the vba code. Very nice and looking forward to part 2. Professor Nuttelman is very good and CU boulder is lucky to have him!

By Andreas C

Apr 5, 2020

Really good course and good examples and assignments. For me as a Economics guy it was really challenging but possible to solve the Assignments and I am looking forward to Part 2! Keep up the good work.

By Gleason W

Aug 4, 2018

The course is very informative. Absolutely recommend it to anyone interested in learning VBA. I had no previous VBA or coding knowledge and was able to understand and complete all the work.

2 thumbs up

By Reginald P L

May 14, 2018

Love it! Worth it! Even though I already have a background in VBA, I still learned a lot especially in Week 5. Assessments are challenging but doable. Materials are explained and demonstrated properly.

By DIEGO F R A

Nov 12, 2020

Lo unico malo del curso es que al explicar la programación solamente copia y pega código, lo que acorta los videos, haciendo que el proceso de imitación no sea tan cómodo, pero eso es todo. Muy bueno