Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,097 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

VG

Invalid date

Great course, with amazing faculty team. Very professional, well tailored content and helpful for any beginner to pro. Looking forward to stay on and complete the specialization. Am impressed.

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,560 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Erivaldo S N

Aug 23, 2020

I would like to congratulate the teachers who organized this course. The theoretical basis on the basic functions of the cameras, principles of the exposure of the appropriate and composition of the photograph, especially the framings, was very satisfactory. However, I missed classes with more examples of using the machine. As for peer review, the proposal is good. But since, I believe, everyone is a beginner, it would be important to have feedback from at least one tutor teacher. Congratulations!

By Hugo M

May 31, 2022

I really enjoyed the course, it starts with the basics and introduces the concepts. I just think it's unnecessary to show how the camera of the specific cell phone works. Today there is a huge range of devices, the focal point only in two models restricts access, but that's not the bad point. With the speed at which the devices are launched, the content lags very quickly and ages poorly. Just to cite the example, the content is commented on the iPhone 6, this year the iPhone 14 will be released.

By Zsolt E

May 12, 2020

The course content itself is great, it is a great intro, and helped me to be able to understand the basic landscape of digital photography. However the peer-reviewed assignments are disappointing. The tasks are interesting, and I had joy doing them. Nevertheless, there are a lot of submissions which have nothing to do with the assignments or are incomplete. Similarly many students do not put any effort in reviewing. These were the comments on my last assignment: "great job", "no", "good work".

By Alexandro G A S

Jul 13, 2016

A fantastic introduction to photography, it is a well organized course with clear examples and a very easy to follow pace.

If you're new to photography and would like to start building your knowledge about this toipic, this is the course to go. On the other hand, if you're an experienced photographer or have notions of photography, this will be a really easy course for you, but you will certainly gain a good insight into the topics you already know.

By linear

Apr 18, 2016

As a beginning course for photography, it teaches you quite a lot.

The academic in me feels like there's not enough serious assignments though. To pass this class, a lot of what you'll be passing will be fairly easy multiple choice tests, with only two assignments that specifically require you to go out in field and take some pictures.

I have high hopes for the rest of the specialization though, as this was only the very first of five courses.

By kewin n

Apr 13, 2020

I had a good experience completing this course I learnt a lot about Photography , camera , exposure etc...

And the quiz is my most favourite thing in this course which made the course interesting and helpful to gain knowledge and confidence

Michigan University as an outstanding faculties! Mentors, trainers etc... Who thaught me the concepts in a easy and simple way

Thank you so much ❤️ for this new beginning in me !

By Wolf G

Aug 29, 2016

Good:

very wide and also deep in transferring knowedge

assignments are clear and challenging because they require a story to which the shots ghave to follow

Not so good:

sometimes the shown examples are show too shortly, and the videos toggle between professor and motiv to fast. Show both at the same time woiuld help

the (iOs) app is a bit limited (e.g. assessments can not be edited).

By Andy B

Nov 14, 2022

The actual video lectures were great. However, a majority of the peer review is garbage. Most of the assignments I was asked to review were stock photos copied from the internet with no actual work being submitted. Several of the people who would review mine only would write one word or even worse, just a period. There needs to be more monitoring of the peer review process.

By Chieko T

Apr 6, 2019

It’s a great resource to learn photography. However, I think peer-graded-system can be troublesome because I had a difficulty to find peers in week4. I was the only person who submitted the final project, so nobody gave me feedbacks. I was supposed to wait until new peers reached the final. If you had a trouble to find peers, I recommend you to ask the learning help center.

By Haoran L

Aug 8, 2017

It is a very good intro course for people that has never taken a photography class, as it covers a lot of basic concept, and goes over points for purchasing one's very first serious camera. The goal of the course is to get you into the door of photography. I'd say it is very successful, and I am taking the rest of the series to get my certificate now!

By Antonia T B

Mar 9, 2019

This course is great. You learn a lot. The teachers are amazing. BUT, hardly nobody is reviewing the assignments. It's very frustrating to do your assignment and have to wait many days for getting a grade or even a certificate because not enough people are reviewing the assignments. Many students had the same concern. Otherwise, the course is great.

By Samdarsh G

Jun 8, 2020

nice learning I learn a lot about photography how to set up the camera and how to work with it but there are some errors are there plz change it as there are two correct option in few question so add on more option as more then one option is correct but otherwise all the assignment are quite interesting to do and ty for making nice and clear audio

By dina j

Jul 23, 2020

Very well organized class. The subject matter is delivered in a very clear and understandable format through the lectures and additional information. I look forward to the next 4 courses in this training. The only negative is the lack of peer reviews and the need to pretty much beg for the peers to review the photos.

By Niña A

Mar 14, 2016

There have been some problems and glitches, especially with the peer review but it's understandable since it's the course's first run. I learned a lot with this course, just starting to learn how to use the various settings in the camera. I also saw the instructor respond to some forum posts so that's a plus for me.

By Cece Z

May 4, 2020

I was kept engaged, and found the instructors to be genuine and informational. I like their use of online information and videos to reference to while learning. I found the use of the brief history on photography to be interesting. This course was great and I look forward to learning more with Coursea!

By Kashyap G

Aug 1, 2020

The course is useful for every person i think.....the information they gave about the camera and photography..is actually very practical and use ful in normal life.

I suggest to every person who like do something creative in their life they have to improve their perception of life.great experience.

By Christy M

Jun 22, 2020

Great place to start to get to know the camera and practice working with it. While very interesting the history and framing focus lessons were a little long. It was a good place to start and not fully what I was expecting. After 10-12 minutes on the long lessons, I was really ready to move on.

By Stephen S

Mar 6, 2016

Although I've been active in photography for many years, there was still new information. I enjoyed the assignments as they made me think more creatively about my environment. I enjoyed the class. reviewing as well as the reviews from the other students. Thank you for a great class.

By Susan F

Jun 26, 2022

Very informational and practical plus assignments to provide the hands on aspect. Peer reviews is a weak point. Hard to get reviews and often provide no or little feedback. Overall enjoyed the course and looking forward to the following courses in this area of study.

By Deleted A

Oct 28, 2021

I discovered this course thanks to my school. I'm deducting 1 point because after two courses in this course, despite the free trial my school gave me, the course starts to charge me money, it's a shame, I think anyone who wants this course should be able to access it.

By Fernando B

Apr 14, 2021

This course is special and very usefull if you are an amateur, a benigger, a novata, wicht is my case and guide you in a very specific way that help you to understand , it´s a "Dummy Guide Course", this is an eulogy, a good thing to say. I like it a lot. Thank you.

By Pascaline M

Jun 22, 2021

The professors did a great job. The content was rich, and the assignments engaging. That said, the peer-graded assignments did not always allow for honest scoring. Scoring options were limited, forcing learners to accord more marks than were deserved.

Thank you.

By Julie A

Mar 26, 2016

Great course, I've learned a lot, but it is somewhat discouraging not being able to pass the course because I can not pay for it. I don't need the certificate, but I would still prefer getting feedback on the quizzes and getting involved with the assignments.

By Sergio-Niko R

Jun 29, 2020

This course is just what a beginner photographer needs. You are able to learn and take in the basics of photography new and old. My only wish is that for the peer review portion to be tougher, as getting one word reviews of "cool" does nothing for my growth.

By Kevin J F

Sep 14, 2018

A basic introduction into photography and cameras. I found much to the critiques were very superficial, as most of the students were simply "punching through" the requirement to complete the course. I found Prof Glendenning's lectures the most informative.