Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,097 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

DA

Invalid date

One of the nice things about this course, is that it challenges one to DO something - take photos. My trusty old point-and-shoot doesn't know what has hit it - it has never worked so hard before.

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,560 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Gerardo G M

May 20, 2020

It is a great course, I have learnt a lot. I wish some videos were shorter, because many of them explained the same more than one time when it was not really necessary.

By Daniela B

Mar 7, 2016

Great classes, but I do believe some of the concepts are a little scattered, the way you present them could be a little more organized so we get a better understanding.

By Lorena V R

Aug 28, 2023

Muy buen curso, solo que en un cuestionario no entiendo porque me sale que me equivoque en dos preguntas, cuando intento todas las posibilidades y me sigue dando error

By Aditya S B

Apr 30, 2020

If you know nothing about photography and about your camera then you are at the right place. This course is the first building block for every photographer aspirant.

By Stacy M

Aug 7, 2016

Learned quite a bit as a beginner photography student. One thing that would have been helpful is if the weeks were flip-flopped. Week 3 and 4 replacing Week 1 and 2.

By Nabih D

Aug 4, 2020

The cell phone part should be updated inmediately or even deleted. For the rest the course is really interesting and can give yo good tools to improve your skills.

By Christina K

Apr 13, 2020

I learned many things and got maaany tips.

This is basically a vocabulary course, that will help you move to the next level!

Very interesting, but could be better!

By Marc H

Oct 25, 2020

excellent it would be nice to actually speak to the instructor through a live meeting atleast once during the course but its still pretty awesome learned alot

By Elizabeth P

Mar 27, 2020

I liked the course but the peer review does not work well. There is not always enough students enrolled to get projects graded or to review other students.

By Maine C

Mar 6, 2016

I really liked the course. A few adjustments are in place, but it was nice to have the feedback and the attention from the teachers and Coursera community.

By Nathan S

Nov 1, 2017

Good content and appropriate assignments. Very interesting seeing and hearing about others experiences and different approaches to creative photography

By Kapil K

Sep 25, 2019

It was a great course for beginners and has given important insight into photography. I enjoyed this course and would like to attend more such courses.

By Alan R

Oct 31, 2016

The course is a great introduction. I just wished that we could have designated people evaluating our submissions, instead of exclusively peer to peer.

By Laura O

Dec 14, 2021

The actual material is good. However there are a lot of fake students on here and it gets annoying having to report them and not getting any feedback.

By Erikas R

Oct 6, 2020

Audio quality in part of the videos are poor, it is hard to understand sometimes what the lecturer is says. All in all good course for the beginners.

By Apurva G

May 3, 2020

Towards the end it felt like not enough efforts were put in by the instructors. Nevertheless this course helped me boost my confidence a 100 times.

By zahraa h

Jul 18, 2020

it is an important course for beginners and I loved it but in some videos there was some DETAILS that are missing and I googled them to understand

By Deleted A

Mar 6, 2016

Not sure why so much time was devoted to camera bags.

Looking forward to the next lessons. Hoping to learn about being more creative with a camera.

By Asa S S

Oct 12, 2020

The course was inciteful and gave a good beginner's understanding of photography. The opportunity to submit shots for peer review is also good.

By Abdul K

Jul 30, 2020

i was hoping to learn more about DSLR and Smartphone camera.... but turns out ... It told me stuffs which i already knew. so didnt help me much

By Natiq E C

Sep 21, 2020

This course was really amazing to teach young or beginner photographers what they need to know before they can start. Great Course! Enjoyed it

By Marc T

Nov 14, 2022

I wish there was a way to report for someone for not taking the course serious. i was forced to give a grade for a screen shot of a tv show.

By Laura S

Sep 28, 2020

I didn't fully understand the tasks.

Would be nice to have more theory reading material to look back on without rewatching video materials.

By Usama N

Mar 15, 2016

this course covers basic and advance knowledge about cameras and photography that is what a new photographer needs in his starting days

By Madelen M

Jan 30, 2024

Informative course. Would love the peer review process to be more meaningful in that the options to critique photographs are limited.