Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,097 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

DA

Invalid date

One of the nice things about this course, is that it challenges one to DO something - take photos. My trusty old point-and-shoot doesn't know what has hit it - it has never worked so hard before.

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,560 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Shalaina R

Dec 18, 2020

Very great course and great details. I would have liked more visuals and definitions (I had to Google definitions and infographics) to help me visualize what was being discussed. The exams are hard if you are a novice like myself...that was the best part!

By Dian Z

Jun 15, 2021

I like Peter's teaching style- very attractive and humorous, but some content is definitely outdated, like the introduction of cameras different price range and the smart phone camera. It would be better if the course producer could update some content.

By abhinand d a

May 22, 2020

This is course provides you the basic knowledge about exposure, frame composition and more over about photography. The main thing to mention is that they are familiarising us the products in deep which is really helping in choosing the accessories.

By khushboo

Apr 22, 2020

I have been clicking since awhile now, but I never focused on the physics used in the background of the clicking, the course made me know about that, that too in a very easy language and simplified examples.which is really helpful and encouraging.

By Leon R

Oct 24, 2018

I have been into photography for over thirty years, and I enjoyed this course. I particularly enjoyed the challenge of going back to the basics of photography and having to create within the camera using the basic principles of framing.

By Geraldine M

Jan 1, 2024

I’d give it 4.5 stars. Great to get feedback from other students … do wish there was feedback from the professors; however, understand that this is online and a course that has been available for several years. Recommend this course.

By THIERRY

Nov 27, 2017

I have learn a lot of things even if I would like to have more details on several points but I thing that I have the bases for practice and to search more easily for details on subjects like white balance, correct exposure, focal...

By Maria P M

Aug 9, 2020

Very good course! There are some topics that for a beginner are hard to understand and I had to make some further research, but overall it's a great leveling course for anyone who wants to start learning about photography!

By Oladipupo J

Aug 30, 2020

it was really a nice experience studying cameras, exposure, and photography course with Michigan state university.

Thanks to cousera for providing such an awesome platform like this for me to learn acros borders

By Adithya S

Jul 23, 2016

A very good course that introduces you to a lot of photography related concepts and terms. The assignments are very hands on and fun to do. The course also gives you great pointers for choosing a new camera!

By Lisa O

Mar 22, 2023

Great over-all class on digital photography even if you don't have an expensive DSLR and all the trimmings. Nice to learn what even a compact camera has to offer. Fun to share photos with other students.

By Ambarish S

Jun 22, 2020

While it provides a great introduction to photography, I think it should have spent more time on the compositional elements of photography instead of lectures and quizzes on smartphones and accessories.

By Omkar G

Jun 9, 2020

Course content is better and easy to understand...

But I think they can make more relative photography content with giving the dilemna of perception with their experiences like last weeks content...

By Jan A

Oct 8, 2016

As a novice in Photography, this course taught me the necessary basics when you are starting out to become a photographer. Videos about content and composition of the photo are extremely helpful.

By Satyam N

Oct 12, 2020

I just Loved the way of teaching all the concepts in detail. This course will help me to capture the photographs in different manner. The perspective for capturing the moments has been changed.

By John S

May 15, 2017

A good course to start and a thorough refresher of (digital) photography basics a la 21st century. Sometimes a bit long winding for my taste, but quite acceptable overall. Topics well chosen.

By Mark C

Jul 28, 2016

This was a fun course. Information is presented in digestible, bite sized pieces. The peer review process works fast and well--I was surprised how perceptive the critiques of my photos were.

By James D

Mar 25, 2021

Generally a good beginner course for learning the principles of photography. I found the section about smartphones to be out of date and out of place for this course and a waste of my time.

By Caitlin R

Apr 3, 2017

This course was so fun to be apart of, I really enjoyed the professors and the way everything was explained. Although the sound quality could have been a bit better on some of the videos.

By Tejas S

May 23, 2020

Great course for beginners. But if you are already into photography for some time now and have the basic knowledge then you might want to skip this one and go to next course directly.

By Kouame K B M

May 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, i've learned a lot of things. The only negative point is that sometimes the videos were too long. Thank you to the professors and thank you to Coursera.

By Trish S

Apr 18, 2017

I enjoyed most of the course but I found the last week a puzzlement and not as clear cut as it could be. I'm still confused as to what settings to use for blurred stop-action.

By shyamal c

Dec 27, 2016

I have been able to be comfortable with my camera by switching on to various pointers, changing ISO , gave me the clarity in understanding photography at the grass root level.

By Don C

May 16, 2016

Very informative. I like the pace, but get the impression that the instructors never see our work. While peer review is awesome, professional review would be very helpful.

By Leonor V G

Jul 3, 2020

It is really good however the videos can be very lengthy and therefore hard to stay focused. I really like the peer review assignments as it helps us better our skills.