Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,098 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

GB

Invalid date

Excellent course for those who have no basic knowledge of photography and cameras. It was useful for me and I hope to continue taking the other courses for better development in photography.

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,561 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Madelen M

Jan 30, 2024

Informative course. Would love the peer review process to be more meaningful in that the options to critique photographs are limited.

By Igor B G

Oct 1, 2020

A bit too basic of a introduction. But it made me think creatively and experiment with photography. I liked the peer reviews as well.

By Gabriela M

Jun 12, 2018

I was really helpful to give me a perspective on what photographing is! Im sure it only gets better as you continue along the path.

By Robert L

Apr 6, 2016

I have learned much more about photography in the short few weeks of this course than studying much longer on my own. Great course.

By Pratibha

Oct 12, 2021

This course starts from very basics of photography... what happens behind the scene when you take a picture. Its a good course.

By Pasha Y

Apr 25, 2020

The course is taken to the very beginning, but photos for verification load a long time. Information is not all that is needed

By Leo L

Jun 12, 2019

Creo que fue muy bueno el curso, fue muy teórico, yo esperaba un poco más práctico, pero estuvo muy bien de cualquier manera.

By Ana K

Nov 13, 2018

The course is really well done but the forums are not developed or engaging so there's no room for discussions and growing.

By Rodney P W j

Oct 25, 2020

Some of the information presented is a little out of date, but otherwise an informative and enjoyable introductory course.

By Shaik R

Sep 10, 2020

better understanding of photography, away from random click

good insight provided by the tutors about the technical aspects

By Tanmay S

Apr 30, 2016

This topic is excellent, I learnt lots of things from this course. Thanks to Proffers Peter to provide such good session.

By Ritik R

Jul 14, 2020

The course will help out to know the basics of photography. After the course you will see view or capture in its best .

By Cristopher T

Aug 20, 2019

Es un buen curso, sin embargo considero que se podria mejor para hacer el curso más dinamico y menos teórico o monotono.

By Rosa L B

Dec 12, 2021

La teoría es excelente y los maestros unos campeones <3 aunque me hubiera gustado verlos salir y tomar fotos en vivo.

By Bijin T

Dec 1, 2020

I have really learned about the parts of the camera what to use where . Learned about how to do photography properly.

By MARLON F

Aug 17, 2020

Nice explanations! The only thing is to focus lesser in products and camera marks and show more photography theory.

By Pia S

Oct 18, 2016

good introduction to digital photography with some good tips. some chapters are a bit too long in my opinion.

By Jean R

Sep 25, 2016

Pretty good, especially about composition and advices for hardware, bags, and discretion.

A good basic course.

By Loretta W

Sep 13, 2018

I think it should have a vocabulary word list in the beginning ...

other than that the course was very good..

By Rajat S

Jul 28, 2020

Perfect for those who are newbies in photography and who are interested in it.I am happy to do this course.

By Mary s

Aug 8, 2020

an interesting course. the explanation were great, was so easy for a beginner in this field to understand.

By William W W

Mar 12, 2017

A good basic introduction to photography. Some nice resources are shared, including books and web sites.

By Anna F

Aug 8, 2019

Thank you! Really interesting course. Planning to continue to the second course in the Specialization.

By Paul H

Aug 3, 2020

The content is great however the submission and grading platform has technical and guidance issues

By nour s a

Aug 27, 2016

The course full of very useful information. Also it is so practical and the assignments are great