Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,098 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

GB

Invalid date

Excellent course for those who have no basic knowledge of photography and cameras. It was useful for me and I hope to continue taking the other courses for better development in photography.

Filter by:

1526 - 1550 of 1,561 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Liliya G

Mar 28, 2016

The course would be great if only everybody could fully participate. As I cannot pass quizzes and submit assignments not having purchased it, I have less motivation to carry on :(

By Andrea M

Feb 15, 2016

The content, although very basic, is interesting, and some of the teacher's insights do stimulate discussion, but the video quality is low, with non matching slides, etc.

By Howard M

Dec 16, 2016

Good course to start with the basics of photography. Group assessments can be hit or miss given varied experiences of other students, but overall a good place to start

By Frederik F H

Mar 2, 2016

It was quite confusing with unlocking next weeks work, and the filming of the videos were poor. Eventhough everything was understandable

By Nikos B

Jan 23, 2022

The sound of the videos was most of the time so bad, that i couldn't understand what the professors were saying.

By Rebeca B B

Mar 12, 2016

Pros:Good concepts. Peter Glanding is a very good teacher.

Cons: Too short and concepts explained too quickly.

By Zachary M

Jun 21, 2022

Was unable to get a peer review for a few of my assignments, which made the assignment past due.

By Clare A M

May 27, 2019

The course is very well articulated, but I find that it has a very slow pace.

By Marianne C

Apr 10, 2016

not really possible to give a higher rating.at the moment too many problems.

By Pablo O

Aug 8, 2018

A little bit basic. expected more depthness into technical areas.

By Siddharth R

Oct 6, 2017

Should have had some more examples of good photographs

By Deborah K

Jun 4, 2020

Good information. Absolutely no instructor feedback.

By Pratyush S

Jun 1, 2020

It gives theoretical knowledge about photography.

By Deleted A

Apr 11, 2016

Course contents are not very well organized.

By Matija T

Dec 29, 2022

I expected better sound and video

By Marvin L

Nov 16, 2018

not really exciting

By María F N P

Jan 10, 2022

mvuyfgjfddf

By Dahlia

Jul 11, 2016

thanks

By Shishir K

Jun 3, 2020

well!

By Avik D S

Jun 14, 2020

woow

By Ronald P I

Oct 27, 2020

Not really worth taking this class. The video production quality has horrible sound issues and there are a lot of bots that make the exercises a pain. I went through the entire specialization, finished the Capstone, and these issues only get worse the further you go. I'm sure there are other photography classes through Coursera that offer the same information in a much more organized way. Gave it 2 stars because there was some good info in here, but a lot of it is probably available through Google.

By Kelly J

Mar 7, 2016

I have to say, I am disappointed in that I feel there is little to no interaction here between students and instructors/aides. Additionally, the assignments are not functioning properly and it creates much confusion. The instructors videos are great and have been helpful but the rest is lacking! There is no way to view other's bodies of work and critiques are very vague, etc. This is photography... where is the photography from learners (other than the assignments)? Why is there no gallery here?

By Sam M

Feb 7, 2021

This course has not been updated in years and it shows. I took this course in the beginning of 2021 and they're citing iPhone6s's as the newest tech and mentioned that bluetooth was just now becoming available in certain cameras. The basic information about how cameras work is still relevant, but that's about it. I would recommend finding a more up-to-date course.

By Darrien M

Jun 1, 2024

advertised as good for cameras from smartphone to DSLR but the smart phones they incorporate into the lesson were released almost a decade ago. the iphone 6 and the galaxy 6... really? Please update this course.

By Claudia a

Jun 2, 2020

Muy básico, poca enseñanza en temas de iluminación, apertura y velocidad que es lo que se espera en un curso de foto. Las tareas no te dejan gran aprendizaje.