Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.5
2,444 ratings
530 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC

Dec 15, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM

Feb 22, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 523 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Raghvendra M

Aug 14, 2015

Brillaint short introduction to finance for non-finance professionals

By Natharat M

Dec 28, 2015

The lectures are quick and concise. The lecturer speaks very clearly and gives great examples that illustrate the concepts well.

By Muhammad A

Jan 27, 2016

Good basic course if you have no background in Finance. Reviews the important concepts that can get you along easily.

By Pawan K M

Feb 10, 2016

Good course for Non-finance people or people who interact too much with the financial chaps. With this course, One will not sit as a duck from the next time he / she sit in the business plan or other meetings, where price, cost, revenue, profit, performance, etc are disuccsed.

By Nilesh J

Mar 09, 2016

This is a good course for non-finance folk. My only wish is that the assignments or the lectures had more examples where we could practice and find out if we are making mistakes or getting things right. More math please! Highly recommended for anyone wishing to enter the world of P/E ratios, discounted cash flows, ROIs etc.

By Sarthak M

Sep 10, 2015

Basic course. Very effective

By Hassan S

Apr 15, 2017

the course. It has advanced my knowledge and understanding of basic financial concepts which greatly helped me in my career.

By Edisson C

Oct 07, 2015

Enseña las bases de finanzas, los ejemplos utilizados son muy practicos.

By Jimena G

Sep 03, 2016

It was a nice overview. I wish some topics were discussed more in-depth and with practical examples. Yet, in general it was a nice quick refresher.

By Carlos F G

Sep 07, 2015

Excelent professor!

Just include some more examples or quiz problems.

Thank you UCI

By Tadeo

Oct 11, 2015

Test for module 2 had questions that weren't part of the course (about programming). I think it was a kind of error in coursera configuration.

By Subash K R

Apr 12, 2016

As I am from science background, each and every terminology were completely new for me. After completing this course, I not only become familiar with terminologies but also understand their proper applications. Thank you for offering this course.

By Rishi A

Jan 25, 2016

Simple and important concepts that everyone should know. Took this self paced course and understood all the videos. I wish the course could have more information on Finance which is useful for entrepreneurs.

By Steven M

Oct 20, 2015

Nice overview but does not go really into any detail. Some case studies would be helpful to see the concepts applied.

By Niraj K

Aug 15, 2015

This course is good for basics for Non finance professionals. Topics should have bee covered more in detail and totality. For examples Accounting principles coverd only 6 or 7 principles, while there are more principles.

By Asjad M

Sep 24, 2015

Good for Non-Finance professionals to get an overview.

By Genise W

Oct 27, 2015

Great class....l.loved it !!! Great class to learn about business, finance and money !!

By Stefanie S

Apr 05, 2018

Excellent teacher, slides need improving! :)

By Matt P

Jan 08, 2016

This course was a good, quick introduction to finance for those of us who haven't been really exposed. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is that there were not enough examples of actually calculating ratios to understand what exactly needs to go into getting the numbers required.

By Bassam D

Dec 07, 2015

Good course, good introduction about finance, but some terms and topics require more explanation.

By siddharth n

Sep 27, 2015

lack of examples to workout. good short videos. good option for introduction

By Laura H

Oct 09, 2015

Great, straightforward course. It would be nice to have "practice" problems to help engage the information beyond the quizzes and video lectures.

By Raoul G

Sep 19, 2015

Very nice concise bird's eye view of the subject, which introduces important concepts, principles and practices. Highly useful for the non-financial professional who wants to get a basic understanding of what finance professionals are gabbling about!

By Sunil A

Sep 27, 2017

Excellent starter course for Finance Basics.

By Rachita C

Aug 14, 2015

A very nicely addressed course for the non-financial professions to apprehend. Short and to-the-point. However, if the course provided a non-paid certificate, just for keeping purposes, it would have attracted a wider audience. But overall, worth putting efforts and time into !