Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.5
2,447 ratings
530 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC

Dec 15, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM

Feb 22, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 524 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Mostafa Y I A

Mar 30, 2019

A good introduction the basic financial language . Helps you understand what are those finance people are talking about.

More in depth studying is needed to go a little bit further with this.

By Francesco L

Jul 16, 2019

Nice one!

By Ahmad S G

Oct 25, 2019

This course is good for people who want to increase their knowledge base in finance but a lot of other basic concepts can also be added in the course.

By Nikii M

Feb 28, 2019

Good for those looking into learning more about basic finance. I found it was not my cup of tea, but i did learn a few new concepts that i can use.

By Aarushi I

Sep 23, 2015

It could be more elaborated. In the 3rd week, there was more equations and hurry to complete the topic, i think. But all in all good. It gives you a brief idea of finance.

By Constance B

Jan 17, 2016

A very quick overview of finance. Good review of fundamentals but not a lot of depth.

By Danilo A E

Jan 25, 2016

Basic stuff.

Good choice of subjects.

A little too short.

By CAMILO B G

Jan 03, 2017

Adequate course for non-professionals in finance, although I thought they were going to explain many more themes.. to short for my expectations and excesive for the price.

By Sanjeev S

Jan 02, 2016

This is a good course to introduce the novice to financial terms used in common place.

But in my opinion, the instructor could have a gone a bit further, explaining about Markets, Stocks, Bonds etc.

Types of transactions involved.

Maybe its expecting too much, but still, just a suggestion

By Sunil G

Sep 27, 2015

Good content for a short duration course.

By Paul J M

Dec 18, 2015

A clear, if fairly basic, introduction. The lack of discussion forums makes it a fairly sterile experience.

By Ibrahem A M A

Jul 21, 2017

Isn't beginner-friendly.

By 黃揚策

Sep 11, 2015

Thanks a lot!

Financing is really large field! But it is a little too cramming for me...

By Roberto T

Feb 26, 2016

It was a bit confusing to understand the topics and try to learn them by heart.

By Erlend D S

Sep 23, 2015

Very very simple. Recommended if you need a fast and simple introduction to finance.

By MEHDI E

Jul 16, 2016

Volume too low.... need more concrete examples.

Thank you for your effort though. I learned from the course.

By Zachary K

Jan 21, 2016

Not a bad overview but overall far too shallow to be of significant worth on its own.

By Carolina P

Jul 02, 2016

The course is good for getting an overall idea of the main topics of finance but not on getting a deep understanding on them

By Seho J

Mar 13, 2016

hard to understand for me

By RAFAEL S

May 19, 2016

I've missed at least one practical exercises on each module.

Overall is good.

By Olabimpe S

Apr 16, 2017

Easy to follow and understand.

Actually interesting..

By Yasmeen D

Dec 10, 2015

It is very useful for someone with only basic finance knowledge

By Helder F

Oct 26, 2015

Simple and fast.

Try to put more difficulty on the quizzes.

By Malik M

Dec 15, 2015

Good introduction to Finance and Accounting concepts for those with no background in either field, even as students. I liked the valuation module the most!

By montserrat s

Feb 07, 2016

it was very simple , but i expected more content