Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,970 ratings
587 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top reviews

TN
Apr 12, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG
Feb 12, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 571 Reviews for Introduction to Game Design

By Jaime R

Dec 22, 2015

Good course with good concepts but could do with a lot more depth. This course's content would be one week of content for other courses

By Trystyn J B

Nov 14, 2019

Fun and quirky, but felt a little bit too basic and easy. Hopefully the rest of the courses in this capstone will account for that.

By Robert M

Dec 15, 2016

There were a few problems with the app interface especially in the peer review section but a great introduction really enjoyed it.

By Carlo S C

Aug 15, 2016

A good course, with the using of peer review as an instrument of continuous confrontation, but lacks support from the staff.

By Костромин В В

Apr 8, 2016

Simply give more literature, and some expert opinion about some interesting jobs of week.

There is no communication at all

By Mary P

Oct 14, 2015

A course with very clear, fun lectures. My only complaint is that I wish it had been a bit more detailed / complex.

By SUBARSHANA G C

Jul 15, 2020

It was really useful and i enjoyed a lot .the communication where understandable and interesting to learn.

By Daniel d S C

Oct 25, 2015

Very good! The idea of delivering a work per week helped me develop the discipline and the creativity.

By Edgar H

Aug 2, 2016

Excelente, es una vision general de los 3 cursos consecutivos a este. Tiene un componente divertido!

By Chao Z

Nov 24, 2015

The instructor is a good story teller, teaching important skills from smalls tips which are useful.

By Jorge T

May 16, 2016

It's pretty fun and indeed teaches the basics of game creation, however I found a bit simple.

By Domenic G

Sep 30, 2015

A fun course with a good instructor. it introduces a simple process for brainstorming ideas.

By Cessna

Mar 26, 2016

Clear and simple. Suitable for beginners.

But most of the contents are rather too intuitive.

By Vidyasagar G C

Oct 19, 2015

I'M LEARNING,ENJOYING THIS COURSE.LECTURE IS SO GOOD.ASSIGNMENTS ARE EAST AND CHALLENGING.

By Panagiotis K

Apr 8, 2020

Good course, very basic, I was expecting something more, even if it's "introductory"

By Gio N

Jan 7, 2016

Very good course overall. Would recommend to every game developer and game designer.

By Nina L

Mar 17, 2016

The lecture is interesting, I enjoy a lot. And the assignment makes me learn a lot.

By Thalita d P

Nov 6, 2019

It was a bit too pricey for me but i had a pleasant experience and learned a lot.

By Alan B

Sep 19, 2016

Great simple, yet useful, course to realize of the core things about Game Design.

By Lone W

Sep 23, 2020

pretty good intro to understanding the basic idea of game design thought process

By David T S

Oct 24, 2020

I love how Fran teaches. he makes it interesting and never dull.

By Soumadeep D

Oct 7, 2016

gives us the corefoundation of starting a career in game design

By torea f

Jun 21, 2016

Interesting tips on some important points when designing a game

By CHANDRASESAN S

Jul 4, 2020

this is very good and i have learned a lot on completion.

By Faizur r

Aug 27, 2016

Really very interesting and helpful to me think own ideas