Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,511 ratings
435 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top reviews

OO

Nov 07, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. It was a lot of fun designing and redesigning a game, as well as getting to play other people's games. I enjoyed the lectures and found the peer reviews very helpful.

YX

Dec 06, 2015

This course inspire me a lot. It is not easy, but with tons of fun. I spent a long time to think out the idea and make it and improve it. I did progress in gaming making as a fresh man. Thank you!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 419 Reviews for Introduction to Game Design

By grace c

Dec 27, 2016

fun to follow along with the lectures, which I usually have a hard time with, I have difficulty concentrating, and this was easy to focus on for the most part. Very interesting, and creative instructor, and makes the lessons easy to understand, and not too technologically demanding

By Mikel D B

Apr 05, 2016

So far this course has been great, the lecturer is awesome and the videos are short enough to make you stay focused.

By Tania A

Nov 16, 2015

Even if simple (it's an introduction, after all), the contents are well structured and I appreciate how the assignments can derive from the previous one and peers' feedback. It's satisfying to see the initial idea evolve into something more developed.

By Lindsay-Anne G

Jan 02, 2016

A LOT of fun, light hearted look into the beginnings of making games of all kinds. This course focuses on starting making games with board games, but the things you learn in this course apply to video games as well. Fran is engaging and made the video segments fun to explain concepts.

By Sucharita R P

Oct 06, 2015

Very well presented and explained.

By Enlik

Dec 23, 2015

My review is when i'm already in week 3 of this course. Really worthed to participate in this course, especially when you've finished your assignment and your classmate review your works! :)

By Alan E A

Sep 04, 2017

Great material. I'll be enrolling in the next MOOCs soon. Thanks a lot!

By Melody M

Jan 05, 2016

So much fun and great for beginners through advanced gamers.

By Mikołaj K

Dec 17, 2016

Friendly, comprehensive and fun.

By Levente B

Oct 07, 2016

I liked the way each assignment directly built on the previous one, and encouraged me to work on different aspects of a single game. While this is something I did, it was by no means mandatory, students were also free to create entirely new games from one week to the next.

By Felipe Q

Oct 25, 2015

awesome and fun

By Isac d V O

Mar 02, 2016

This is a superb course for those interested in starting with game design - or just knowing more about games. The teacher is fantastic and the teacher's assistant is... well... as fun as a muppet. Hats off to CalArts, Cousera and Fran Krause!

By Marvin D G P

Oct 19, 2015

Muy bueno y clara enseñanza :)

By Sofia A M

Nov 16, 2016

The course is incredibly well done, the video lessons are great, the teacher is very good and the students are participative. The only thing that got a bit behind was a deepening, although the tasks were laborious.

By DAVID F D S L

Apr 18, 2017

Excelente course. Great Teacher. i recommend to anyone.

By Juan C D M

Dec 09, 2015

Really liked it!

By Rehanna L

May 03, 2016

This course was fun and informative, with many lessons demonstrating the concepts being relied.

By Xavior T

Nov 05, 2015

really liked it

By Danilo P

Mar 30, 2016

Excelente curso para aprender a crear video juegos.

By jhonatan g r t

Aug 22, 2016

las reglas y elaborar un juego de mesa, nunca imagine que esa era la manera de sacar la esencia de un juego antes de ir a la tecnología, gracias.

By Daniel D

Jan 26, 2017

Nice!!

By Nuria M

Oct 27, 2015

Excelent introductory course, it explains the basic concepts and keys to create and develop games before writing a single line of programming.

By Lin J

Mar 20, 2016

Very good course and the lecturer video is well made and interesting!

By André H K

Nov 30, 2016

Great course! Useful information, great introduction. The videos are fun and really help with the process of creating a game step by step.

By Christopher S

Mar 01, 2016

This course was a great start on the road to game design. The material was delivered in a fun and easy to understand manner. In the end, I was extremely excited and proud of the simple game I made. I would highly recommend this course as a starter for anyone looking to get into game design!