Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,229 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 230 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By drewmunro

Mar 19, 2017

An excellent intro to the subject.

By Xue D Y

Jul 02, 2016

满分满分满分

By Joel A

Sep 08, 2016

This course is superb! Thank you for offering it here.

By Bonnie K

Jan 11, 2018

T

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

p

r

o

v

I

d

e

d

m

e

w

I

t

h

a

g

o

o

d

o

v

e

r

v

I

e

w

o

f

g

r

a

phic design history. The classes would easy to understand and assimilate. The assignments were very helpful to understand the lessons. Many thanks!

By Anastasia O

Jun 25, 2018

Very interesting and thought provoking. I really enjoyed the class!

By Maria J B V

Sep 11, 2017

Excellent course, I like it :)

By Sreyas S

Apr 07, 2018

Fantastic Course! It helps you build a deep insight into the evolution of graphic design and also as a process of the assignments helps you understand local graphic practices and subculture!

By Brianna P

Oct 10, 2016

I loved how straight forward and informative this course was. I have such a stronger appreciation for what we see as design today!

By Fahim A M

Aug 01, 2017

Loved it.

By Carlos L

Mar 11, 2017

great reviewing of the different trends in graphics design history and the related marketing, great approach. i really enjoyed the course.

By Michelle G

Oct 12, 2017

A very interesting survey with lots of useful and stimulating content.

By David T

Feb 25, 2017

Very well-designed course with comprehensive information for each week. The content of this course is superb, but as a non-native English speaker, sometimes I find it difficult to catch up with the long sentences in the video and have to go back to the transcript.

By 朱思超

Aug 14, 2017

great course for designers who have no idea of graphic design history

By Haider A

Jun 16, 2017

Very informative and a truly remarkable course.

By Utku K

Aug 16, 2016

Very nice and illuminating course

By khushbu.jenny@gmail.com

Nov 09, 2016

Very Informative!

By Jessika G

Aug 10, 2016

Very good

By Eugen M

Aug 20, 2016

An excellent course for those who know more.

Very well presented, quite easy to understand.

By Yani V

Jul 18, 2017

i love you calarts.

By Rinson J

Aug 19, 2016

its really an awesome course for all.

By Julien M

Jan 30, 2017

Great stuff. Thank you!

By Gail H

Dec 27, 2016

A great course. Taking the specialization and this course fit right in with the other courses I have taken in the graphic design specialization. Recommend this to everyone interested in graphic design. Instructors were good. Enjoyed the course.

By Deb S

Jan 27, 2017

Very interesting course. Would love to see an advanced course that explores more history of graphic design. Much fun!

By Assel N

Sep 10, 2016

This course gave me a lot of important information about the birth and rise of the Graphic Design as a stand alone profession. It was a great opportunity to fulfil my knowledge.

By Peter S

Aug 07, 2016

Love the class a lot of great information and history.