Chevron Left
Back to Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities by Lund University

4.6
stars
2,051 ratings
683 reviews

About the Course

How can we shape our urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course explores sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. And we look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF Cities and ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere!...

Top reviews

SV
Sep 28, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB
Mar 14, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 674 Reviews for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

By Umberto D V

May 3, 2020

Very interesting course, made by very good teachers. All the topics have been clear and followed with a strong willingness. It opens your mind receiving new knowledge and unexpected aspects about how is it possible to achieve green economies. I would have been more glad if it had been explained (even briefly) how different sciences (such as thermodynamic, mathematics, civil engineering) could be involved in the transition process to a green economy through the implementation of tools and method that they offer. I'm just entering in the world of the applied sustainability, and this course for sure gave me a very clear overview about the potential and opportunities that can be applied. Completely recommended!

By Katie B

Jun 7, 2020

Enjoyable course that sparked off a number of thoughts about my own city as I was doing it, particularly on the sharing economy. My only complaint was that there was quite a bit of repetition towards the end and some material that didn't really say all that much eg. setting up of the cross-forums, GUST, which didn't suit an online learning environment. Also just to say there is a large focus on Sweden, but would be expected given this is a course given by a Swedish University. Take this course with the idea that it will be mainly case study based and it will make you open your eyes to what your own city could be doing better!

By Frank D R

Mar 24, 2016

Overall good course (the first MOOC I ever took, so inexperienced in grading these courses), but some areas of improvement remain.

I would however suggest less redundancy. Too many papers/videos start with an overview of the problems we are facing, but I would think most students are aware of these problems coming into the course, and if not, they need not be repeated so many times. Also, some of the papers seem to use a very redundant and roundabout way of communicating information, with a lot of repetition and sometimes over-contextualization. Shorter sentences/readability do not make for worse science. :-)

By Miruna A

May 6, 2020

This course was informative. Most importantly, it taught me how to appreciate the environment and its wonders, it made me realise that nature is the most beautiful thing in the world and we all should take care of it. Also, even though the amount of knowledge that I collected from this course is vast and satisfying, I sometimes felt during the lessons that there were given way too long explanations and descriptions, that made me lose interest or get bored. However, this course helped me a lot to understand the necessity of going green and environmentally friendly and I would recommend it to anybody.

By Panos F

Apr 17, 2021

Very interesting course that is relevant to the modern world and honestly, the world would be a better place if everyone learned from this course! I liked the readings provided and the films were very well-made. The only thing I didn't like much were the questions on the quizzes in which one or more choices were correct, which made achieving 80% a bit difficult sometimes. Overall, the course has given me an insight into Sustainable Development and I learned about interesting concepts I didn't know about such as Urban Living Labs and the case studies.

By Iulia C

Nov 30, 2017

Very informative course! Would totally suggest if you're looking for a broad approach to understanding what a sustainable city is, how best to form visions on achieving sustainability and how different stakeholders can work together to make the visions a reality. Great examples from around the globe. What's lacking I would say is a little bit more interactivity between the video lessons and assignments to help retain the information better (this may be a Coursera issue though).

By Katrina V

Oct 7, 2019

A very good introduction to sustainable urban transformation initiatives and gaps that need to be addressed in the near term. A clear sense of urgency that this is a major issue and a worthy cause that needs to be tackled. However, I found myself frustrated with the datedness of some videos and readings. More transparency on when the videos were produced would be helpful to provide context as time passes. The peer-graded assignment was informative and interesting.

By Anjali B

Jul 9, 2019

I thought this course was a good introduction to the challenges and opportunities facing cities as they transition to a more sustainable existence. However I felt like some of the videos (particularly the 1 minute videos) did not provide much real information. I also felt like some of this information was out of date, given how much more we know about climate change and adaptation/mitigation since many of the course materials were written.

By Eleonora D L

May 4, 2020

I found really interesting this course because it explains clearly many themes about sustainability. As an Architect, I also drawned ispiration for my job. I'm going to think about Architecture in a more sustainable way. I know we have a lot to do to make this planet carbon neutral but I think that people, especially in this bad time caused by Covid-19, will have a major interest to tackle climate change. This is the right way to follow.

By Samuel Z

Feb 18, 2018

Course content was diverse and presented by many people with many different qualifications from varying fields. I feel there is one field critically absent. Economics. Being the driving force behind human action and the net result of all our decisions, it was notable to see almost no representation of economics in what are very economically-minded decisions about our future from the level of the individual, community, city, and state.

By James G

Feb 11, 2018

This course was a very interesting introduction into what steps cities are and must be taking to tackle climate change. The quizzes were relatively easy and just there to ensure you had read the material. Maybe could be more interesting with a few more peer-reviewed projects. I would recommend this course for those wanting to get an understanding of projects going on in different cities around the world that can be inspiring.

By Jim M

Jun 17, 2016

I thought it was a very informative course with some great speakers and topics. Each weak gave different topics related to sustainable development of cities. The reason I'm only giving it a 4 was the organisation of the course on the Coursera. The deadlines according to Coursera and the intructors differ, causing some confusion. As well as on the discussion board students from each of the past lessons are put together.

By Guilherme S d M

Aug 8, 2020

Very good course. It totally gives you good insights of the area plus complementary materials to deepen your knowledge. You can take this course on its regular deadline, or you can read a lot of the materials and reset the deadlines, if you want to become an expert. I'm dropping one star just because the certificate doesn't have the average time to do the course. So it makes harder to the certificate be recognized.

By Isabella O

Apr 17, 2020

O curso é muito bom, traz conhecimentos diversos sobre a razão da sustentabilidade ser tão discutida e explica quais são as medidas que estão sendo tomadas. A crítica que posso apresentar é que essas medidas são centradas apenas na Europa e os exemplos em outros locais são escassos. Além disso, os vídeos e os programas são de 2015, então talvez uma atualização após tanto tempo seja necessária.

By Meredith A

Dec 7, 2017

Great overview of sustainable cities with many examples of actions happening in cities all around the world. The videos and readings showcased interesting work and gave insights into actual groups and organizations taking action on sustainable cities. The assignments were mostly quizzes based on the readings and videos, with one written assignment counting for 50% of the grade.

By Virginie L

Sep 11, 2016

I enjoyed very much this course as a interdisciplinary topic with many very concrete examples from cities all around the world - especially from Scandinavia and rich partnerships with NGO and other organisations.

I was a bit more time consuming than the previous MOOC I had followed because of the readings in addition to the video, but also what made the course very rich.

By Bob J

Aug 25, 2019

The first 3 weeks of this course were amazing and I learned a lot, but the 4th and 5th weeks of the course were not as good. For example, one question in the quiz on the 5th week did not have any correct answer it seemed (it was a “pick the correct option” question). On the other hand, the first 3 weeks taught me a lot and the project was very interesting.

By Joshua B R

Sep 28, 2018

The course is great. But given its novelty, it is understandable that the concepts are still vague. I'm hoping to have more courses that are objective. Also, please create modules focused on developing countries. Thank you very much, Lund University. You've inspired me to be a driver of sustainability.

By Paula C B A

Feb 3, 2019

Realmente me gustó toda la información proporcionada en este espacio, me pareció muy consistente con todos los problemas que el mundo tiene hoy, me hubiera gustado tener ejemplos más específicos de cómo el mundo es más sostenible.

¡Muchas gracias por enseñarnos a avanzar hacia un mundo más sostenible!

By Stephanie D

Feb 17, 2019

Very interesting, intriguing and informative course with good examples and great learning material. Only downside is that I think the material could be updated, this is a rapidly advancing field and big changes have been happening in recent years with new examples that could be highlighted.

By Bryan A

Sep 22, 2020

Me gustaría que hubieran mas tareas que exigieran la búsqueda de soluciones sostenibles en el área en el que uno desempeña sus labores o en su país de origen.

I would like that were more evaluations requiring the search of sustainable solutions in the country of origin of the student.

By Bart v G L

Jul 5, 2017

The reading and lectures are very interesting. However, I do feel the quizzes do not reflect this - they are relatively easy. More challenging and engaging assignments (similar to the peer reviewed assignment) could improve this. The course is informative and enjoyable nonetheless.

By Giriraj S

Jul 1, 2017

Course was very informative and interactive. Though case studies were very well researched and described, the course could've been more specific towards the methodologies used to achieve sustainability goals like engineering solutions, managerial actions, economic influences, etc.

By Mariam A

May 21, 2017

4.5. Extremely useful, interesting and entertaining! The readings could've had an easier and more concluded rhetoric but nonetheless; I've learnt a lot. I hope I'd be able to use this information to make an impact in the sustainability factor needed in this world!

Thank you.

By Davide B

May 7, 2021

It's a very interesting course, that opened my eyes and made me realize how much my country (Italy) is late in the fight against climate change. By doing this i will certanaintly do more on my own and i will speak to my friends and relatives to be more eco-friendly.