Chevron Left
Back to Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities by Lund University

4.7
stars
2,176 ratings
717 reviews

About the Course

How can we shape our urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course explores sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy in Europe and around the world. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. We connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We examine how visions, experiments and innovations can transform urban areas. And we look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). This course was launched in January 2016, and it was updated in September 2021 with new podcasts, films and publications. The course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability who work with creating sustainable cities. The course features researchers, practitioners and entrepreneurs from a range organisations....

Top reviews

SV
Sep 28, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB
Mar 14, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 710 Reviews for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

By Kaushal K P

Jun 7, 2020

A very insightful course highlighting social, economic, environmental aspects and challenges in our society as whole while studying cases from around the world and the measures taken for the same, and broadening the perspective of the learner to understand the sustainable development goals and its challenges in the context of future sustainable cities.

By Alisha P K

May 3, 2020

It is a fantastic course and I encourage every living citizen of any age group to do it no matter it is related to your career or not. Its an eye opener to me and I will definitely want to contribute my part in some way to make the world a better place to live in. Thank you for the immense information and knowledge from this beautifully crafted course.

By Priti D

May 18, 2020

The course is really insightful. Learned a lot about the new green initiatives and developments happening around the world for making our cities a better place to live in a sustainable way. The course content and constructive assignments make you actually think hard. Indeed a great learning experience and a great online learning platform. Thank you.

By Marko L

Jun 19, 2021

This course gave me a better understanding of sustainability and how can it be implemented in numerous cities around the world. Lecture concepts are great and they focus on important topics such as decarbonisation, climate changes and policy actions that should be implemented in cities. Great overall experience and well done for Lund University!

By Meheroze A H

Oct 23, 2020

It has really been a fantastic ACADEMIC experience about saving the cities & world as well we live in, along with amazing Instructors like Kes Mckormick,Harriet,Neij,James Evans...

Stay Blessed & Safe ever ...all my Teachers,Friends & fellows..

& i finally expect to do such valuable courses like this..

Thanks & the kindest regards.

Meheroze Al Hassan

By Bassel T

May 28, 2020

This course is fantastic, it is very well organized and provide lots of information. Every question is explained thoroughly, with detailed explanations.

I would have wished to see more technicalities, but the course set me on the right track to do my own research and progress. To more sustainable environment, wishing this awareness to everyone.

By Alex N K

Aug 10, 2017

The course has help me understanding the close relationship between economy development and sustainability and further to plan for the future while considering the environment as par integral of cities. The experience from the scandinavian countries were the best part for my conviction to work toward greener cities and economic development.

By brian a

Aug 14, 2019

I enjoyed the ideas shared and the optimism of all involved. Cities are a wonderful opportunity to experiment and disrupt business as usual to promote massive possible ecological change. The course was a bit easy but made for a good flow of ideas and demonstrated several examples of how cities are tackling issues related to global warming.

By Juan D S

Apr 30, 2020

I really learned a lot from this course , it helped me to realize that there are many ways in which the citizens and governments can help their cities through innovative to achieve their goal of being sustainable places, as well is really helpful for those who want to generate income but at the same time care about the environment

By Veronica B

Sep 8, 2016

This was one of the best courses I've taken on Coursera in terms of overall structure and engagement. The videos and lectures were quite engaging, with a variety of instructors and presenters, all of which were very professional and dynamic. The readings complimented the videos nicely, as well. Overall, a great course.

By 杨天娇

Nov 7, 2016

I really enjoy this course. it presents us a lot of wonderful ideas and practices about the future. with some famous NGO participated in,like WWF,, the class content gets more colorful.the overall view of sustainable cities really impressed me...I would like to share the course to my friends

By michelle s

Apr 19, 2020

Excelente curso. Tiene información bastante actualizada y práctica. Si como alumno llegases a considerar que algun contenido es dejado por fuera o simplemente te gustaria profundizarlo, los profesores y tutores encargados te responden en seguida con muchisimo mas material sumamente util. Fue muy gratificante.

By Nora M

May 19, 2017

Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities has been truly an eye-opening educational experience for me as a graduate architect and citizen of Mother Earth. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about sustainability from concept stage to implementation stages and on the multitude of resources presented during the weeks.

By Shane M

Mar 9, 2021

An excellent introduction to the prospect of building and adapting our cities to be more sustainable. Experimentation and inclusion of all societal actors will be essential in our progression towards a truly sustainable society. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in future urban development.

By Ali A E B

Oct 19, 2018

This course is very useful and helpful, when you take this course you can understand what is sustainable development and how it is very important for us today to understand this meaning and how we can apply it to our cities to improve the standards of living and live in a clean and sustainable environment.

By J. M

Feb 8, 2016

This course is very easy, but the content is excellent and engaging. The assignment really makes you reflect about what is your city making for sustainability and also is inspiring to know what other cities around the world are doing for it. It should be part of our continuous education in sustainability.

By Alex L

Mar 14, 2020

I think this course is very clear in its purpose, pedagogic and comprehensive of the topics treated. It helps you realize both the big efforts being made within cities around the world to tackle climate change, and the challenges ahead to successfully achieve the goals proposed by cities, agencies, etc.

By Stefanía T D L R

Oct 6, 2019

I got a much better understanding on how sustainability can be developed in cities and why it is actually essential to do so. This course offers a very complete outlook on all of the areas that encompass urban sustainability and how each of those can be approached, and for that I highly recommend it.

By YADAV N D

May 20, 2020

IT HAVE BEEN A PLEASURE TO LEARN HOW TO GREEN THE CITY AND WHY ARE THEY NEEDED. THE FOLLOWING TACTICS AS SHOWN IN THESE COURSE ARE MUCH APPRECIABLE AND HELPFUL FOR THE LIVING SO I MYSELF WILL HANG UP WITH THESE IDEAS AND TRY TO PROVIDE THE HELP NEEDED TO HE CITY TO THE WORLD FROM MY SIDE, THANK YOU

By Abril G S P

Jun 9, 2020

Its is very interesting all the concepts of sustainable cities that can be understood in this course, and how they defend the idea of colctivity in their documents, certainly innovative and considers real aspects of economic growth and citizens as part of the development of sustainable utopias

By Roes R L

Nov 24, 2020

It's a nice primer on the concepts of sustainable cities. While not really going into deep and technical aspects, it gives you some concepts that you can explore by yourself later on (ex. urban labs & sharing economy) and discusses a lot of case study which makes these concepts reliable.

By Makaya H

Nov 11, 2020

I was able to broaden my perspectives on sustainability. This course is rich not only theory but shared experiences that solidifies the positive outcomes from a sustainable future. I was left feeling motivated and ready to live more sustainably and share my experience and new knowledge.

By Valeri Y

Feb 16, 2016

Motivating and inspirational. Now I also do have a dream! The week 5 movie: The Sustainability Challenge, especially the part with the Energy & Water Science Center and all the kids exploring sustainability through games - those 30 seconds really are a light in the tunnel! Thanks!

By Fatemeh B

Feb 8, 2020

With the help of the course I took, I got to know some good resources. It has helped me to get better and better visions of the subject. I got to know different points of view. In the research section it helped me get access to the topics I was looking for. Thank you COURSERA :)

By ANDREW S

May 4, 2020

The knowledge gained from this class only scratches the surface of what is out there to learn about creating sustainable cities. This type of class is vital to learning how to become more involved in local communities to input positive social, climate, and environmental change.