Chevron Left
Back to Guitar for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Guitar for Beginners by Berklee College of Music

4.8
stars
2,014 ratings
576 reviews

About the Course

Grasp the essentials needed to begin playing acoustic or electric guitar. You'll learn an easy approach to get you playing quickly, through a combination of exploring the instrument, performance technique, and basic music theory. For students who have long thought about picking up the acoustic or electric guitar, this course will provide an easy-access foundation that will get you playing. When first learning guitar, it is important to have the material presented in stages, in an enjoyable way that allows you to grasp the basics of the instrument and music. The course begins simply with the parts of the guitar, the names of the strings, tuning, and technique—whether finger-style or pick. It then explores the basics of music theory with such topics as scales, triads, power chords, and fingering and shapes. At the end of this course, students will understand the structure, parts, and accessories of the instrument, in addition to an understanding of its basic maintenance. Electric guitar players will learn the operation of their instrument along with basic options for amplification, effect pedals, and sounds. Students will also learn to develop correct technique and apply theory concepts to their playing. They will have the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue most intermediate guitar courses....

Top reviews

SM
Sep 11, 2020

If you want to learn guitar no matter which guitar you want to learn acoustic or electric if you are a beginner then quickly join this course it will really help you to upgrade your skills in guitar.

MH
Apr 4, 2020

This course was a brilliant experience. My special thanks to Thadeus Hoggart for his patient and well organized course. Highly recommended for all those who are planning to start playing the Guitar.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 572 Reviews for Guitar for Beginners

By Ouida L

Jul 2, 2018

Great crouse! Simple consise manner of imparting information. Very supportive way of teaching and full of wonderful exercises ..right hand and left hand technique!! Wonderful!

By Radheshyam Y

Jun 28, 2020

Too good,very much informative & extremely knowledgeable, practical course for beginners in Guitars.

Thanks to Berklee College of Music & Coursera for such a wonderful course.

By MOISÉS D M G

Nov 6, 2018

Excelente curso. Além da qualidade técnica do facilitador, a programação é impecável e a didática excelente. Os textos e os vídeos são excelentes.

Parabéns e muito obrigado.

By Konstantin D

Oct 13, 2016

Great introduction to the world of guitar playing, which covers some basics and gives young musicians the essential foundation for future progress. Thanks for this course!

By Miles R

Dec 29, 2020

Doesn't feel like homework. Takes things I've always been intrested in learning in guitar and makes them fun. Thaddius is like a friend breaking everything down for you

By Aurora M Q

Nov 19, 2015

Genial, la única pega es que es caro el certificado comparado con otras plataformas que por la mitad de precio lo tienes, por lo demás el curso es muy recomendable.

By Shalem R U

Jul 28, 2020

Thanks for the opportunity.Although I know guitar before learning the course, I have learnt many things like pentatonic scales and etc. This course was so helpful

By Kishore A

May 29, 2020

Goes really deep into the basics...absolute beginners may find it difficult...It is laborious and makes sure we learn every concept....WOrth it all the way!!..

By Luis F O H

Aug 3, 2020

This course helped me be successful on learning to play the guitar. It gives the basic information and support to achieve the goals of being a guitar player.

By Jeric B

May 18, 2020

Great course for getting started. I had years of experience but wanted to take this to re-establish my foundation. I still learned some things along the way!

By Alessio D S

Jan 23, 2019

Great course, cover almost all the key skills for a beginner guitarist, from chords to scales, and even a bit of registration and electric guitar effects!

By savan s

Apr 28, 2017

Enjoyed going through the course and learnt the foundation of the guitar thank you coursera and thanks a lot Sir Thaddeus Hogarth for making it so simple.

By Rajat S

Jan 9, 2017

T. Hogarth is a brilliant instructor! period! I was able to grasp and apply the concepts much faster than I would have with a private tutor.Thanks a lot.

By David

Jan 30, 2016

more than a terrific tool to take the guitar without previous experience and finishing with the availability of playing songs, riffing and witha arpegees

By Jeril J

Oct 3, 2016

Great classes by great instructor. Sir explains things to a begginnner in such a fashion that no doubts arises and the lecture is really crisp and clear

By Scott D

Oct 16, 2020

I have played guitar on and off for over 30 years and I learned several new things. Thaddeus is a excellent teacher. I am excited for the next class.

By Maxim N

Aug 12, 2017

The course is great for all the beginners. Thaddeus Hogarth is super cool and I enjoyed his way of teaching very much. Thank you, Coursera and Berlkee!

By Chris G

Aug 30, 2015

Content was a good range of beginner to more advanced. As a guitarist of 7 years I have learned a lot more that will help me advance my guitar playing.

By Cristopher G

Oct 28, 2020

This is an awesome place to begin with despite you don't have any idea how to play acoustic or electric guitar. I'm very thankful to take this course

By john t

Jul 2, 2020

This is a very good course for beginners with absolutely no experience on playing guitar.

Thaddeus is brilliant at explaining everything from scratch.

By Samanta G P

Jan 12, 2016

Me gusto muchísimo! Voy por las primeras lecciones y creo es excelente! De cursarlo personalmente lo haría lastima no tengo los recursos económicos!

By Michael L

Nov 11, 2015

I was unable to complete the course, however, the sections that I did engage were very helpful and well designed for motivated beginning guitarists.

By David G

Sep 10, 2015

I'm new to learning guitar. This is a great mix of information and practicing. Love his method of teaching and what I've learned. Very well done.

By Amol D

Jun 24, 2020

Great Teacher and great teaching style!! Very happy!! Very professional approach!! A true teacher!! Love you Sir!! Want to learn more from you!!

By Yevgen G

Mar 21, 2017

That's a great course! I learned scales, pentatonics and how it is related to chords shapes. The assignments are very interesting and useful.