Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
13,867 ratings
4,834 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM

Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

AT

Jul 17, 2021

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained.And the field trip was good .Thank you Coursera and Yaakov Chaikin for this wonderful course !

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 4,826 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Anush M N

Jul 27, 2020

The course was extremely informative and fun at the same time as I got to develop my own website by the end of the course.

Towards the end of the course, especially module 5 picked up too many concepts that were explained in a very short time. This made it a bit difficult for me as I did not take up the entire specialization.

Overall, It's an amazing course. I suggest people looking to learn web development take it up.

By Uriel A R L

Aug 10, 2016

Very useful, complete, clear and awesome course. The tutor explain not only what you need to know about web development but also what you need to know when using this skills in the real world interacting with clients. I absolutely will recommend this course and be forever grateful with it. I encourage you, who is reading this, to sign to the course! Especially if you have interest in the informatics and coding topics!

By edmond m

Mar 17, 2016

One of the best courses I must say. Yaakov Chaikin, a name that I have become familiar, since he coded so much, was absolutely phenomenal. I wish I was at JH, taking a class right now from him, or consulting with him. He was very thorough and did an incredible job. This course is great for people who want to delve deep into CSS and JS, and AJAX. I want to take more classes in AJAX now I have learned the fundamentals.

By Dilan R

May 17, 2022

Many thanks to the creators of this course! I was able to learn so much and fill in so many gaps. Mr. Yaakov's teaching style is really good and I enjoyed all the lectures and got a solid foundation for front-end development. If anyone's looking for a great starting point for front-end development, I can recommend this course without a doubt. Once again, many thanks to Mr. Yaakov and all the creators of this course.

By Kamath D V

Nov 24, 2020

This is one of the best course present on Coursera which i would suggest to any Beginner. The specialty of this course is that we can get a proper understanding of every Essential Web Developing Technology and also, assignments are one of the best way to check our Understanding. Overall, i loved this course and time with mentor (Yakkov) and I hope it gets updated with new content Soon! All the best.

-Devesh V. Kamath

By Pantelis D

Aug 8, 2016

This course has been very insctructive and great motivation to look further into Git, HTML, CSS, Bootstrap and Javascript. It's the backbone of web development meaning the best place to start from but also that it cant possibly cover everything. I found that w3schools and an online git tutorial of the quite a few out there, perfectly complete this course. A big thank you! to all the people that put effort into this.

By Philipp B

Jul 26, 2021

Really good course that helped me understand the fundamentals of web dev. Also the tasks are great to apply the theory and forces yourself to actually understand the matter. Be aware though that the course is quite old and much is outdated (e.g Bootstraps is now at Gen 5 and uses flexbox). However this also has the advantage that you learn the languages from its roots and learning the new stuff is now much easier.

By Milagros R

Apr 14, 2016

This is a great course to learn basic, or if you are intermediate and want a clear explanation on what things are and how they work. The key to being a great web developer is is understanding the functionality of your website and how people see in in many devices views. This is the course to find out all the details and make it a part of your web development. I would recommend it to any one who needs these skills.

By Sreenivasulu S

May 1, 2016

This is the best course I have encountered so far. The instructor, Yaakov clearly explains the theory, and demonstrated them through actually developing a restaurant website. Even for an experienced web developer, there is something to learn from this course. I strongly recommend this course to anyone who would like to enhance their web development skills. Thanks to the Yaakov and Coursera to sharing this course.

By Emil

Mar 13, 2016

I have been using web technologies for quite some time now and I was one of those people who are writing html/css/js without really understanding what is going on behind the scenes. The course helped me fill in the gaps in my knowledge.

The lectures go at a nice pace and explain as much as possible without getting tedious. They are very practical, no dry theory.

The assignments don't require huge efforts.

Well done!

By Daniel D

Mar 28, 2022

Greetings,

It was a good course. The instructor spoke very clearly and it was very fun to learn with him. Tough the learning material was very good for HTML, CSS, and Bootstrap, it was a little hard to follow the instructor for the last section of javascript learning. also the course is outdated and needs to get update. I totaly recommend the course for beginners.

T​hanks for giving me the opportunity to learn,

By Heather C

Oct 25, 2016

This course is very comprehensive and explains things that are not explained in other online HTML, CSS, courses. The teacher is personable and is good about not just assuming students know things. The videos are not too long and the code examples are great. The assignments are at the right skill level and really employ a lot of the skills taught in the course. I would take another course by this instructor.

By Sandeep S

Oct 14, 2020

One of the best courses to begin with, in web development if you are a beginner. Moreover, I am learning web development for more than a year but through this course, I was able to clear my basics. It laid the basis of the foundation to explore my skills.

In the future, I would like that this course would cover more about SASS and Jquery as they are growing pretty well.

Once again thank you for this course!

By Anne B

Apr 20, 2016

Very clear, very well organized course for beginning web developers. I have a basic knowledge of HTML, CSS, and Javascript, plus some other stuff (command line, git, databases, servers, etc.) and it was easy to get started and understand the content. I really appreciate how well organized the course materials are, and how the course progresses without leaving you struggling to put critical pieces together.

By Ho Y K

Aug 27, 2020

Very practical course. I am glad that I enrolled in this course. In just 5 weeks, I acquired a new skill that I have never imagined before. Mr. Chaikin is a good teacher! Plz take this course if you are interested in creating web. However, for the javascript week, I think it is a bit over the capability of a novice in this field. I hope the newcomers will not find it too difficult and enjoy their course!

By Carlos J C V

Feb 22, 2016

I like the style of speech because I think it influences on making up a mind of not over-complicating while coding, in theory of course. It is an excellent aspect of the course that there's an introduction to real life tools to used in the making g and use of the technologies taught. It is invaluable the exposition to a client interview process. I will like to overview other courses from this instructor.

By Sara N A

Apr 17, 2016

I'll review 5 star because even tho we are LOTS of people Yaakov and the assistant both take the times to clear our questions on Discussions. Yaakov takes us on an amazing tour for our web client! His explanations on videos are great and has really taught me not just to code, but to do it as efficiently as possible. This course and Yaakov are amazing! Thanks for putting this up and for listening to us!

By Miguel T

Sep 9, 2021

My first online course, and by far the best! It has been difficult for students like me to get access to some of the high-quality materials I need during this pandemic. Since high school, I've rediscovered my love for web design because of this course.

Thank you Sir Yaakov Chaikin and John Hopkins University for providing us with high-quality educational materials for aspiring front-end web developers.

By Navin P

Feb 2, 2017

Loved this course! I thought Yaakov thoroughly reviewed the concepts, while focusing on good programming fundamentals. I feel that I can adequately apply the skills that I've gained through this course in my future web development endeavors. However, I do believe that the grading guidelines are too generous, so it would be difficult to employ a student based solely on a specialization in this course.

By Carlos S

Nov 18, 2016

Very nice course that teaches you how to create web pages by using HTML, CSS and Javascript.

Be consistent on watching the lectures, reading the material and learning and trying all the concepts presented every week.

And last, but not least, please don't be afraid of asking questions by using the forum. There's always somebody who will give you a hand or who might have the same questions as you do!

By Consuelo J

Jul 24, 2018

I loved this class! It was easy to follow along, the material was explained well, and the assignments fun. The only thing I had an issue with is for the last module the explanation is a little hard to follow. I could have used some more clarification on the TODOs but luckily the discussion forum is awesome so someone was able to help me out. Thanks so much Yaakov! You're a wonderful teacher.

By Joshua L

Jun 20, 2021

Giving a 5 stars for this course because it brought me so many ah ha moments that I was not able to find anywhere else. However, week 5 was not very well structured like the first 4 weeks. It seemed to cram a lot of information into very little time. I can say I don't think I learned a lot in week 5. However, it did motivate me to take a more in-depth course that focuses on Javascript more.

By Kyriakos M

Mar 7, 2022

Awesome Course, it covers a lot of topics in 40 hours. Even if you have some knowledge of HTML/CSS/JS you will still learn something new. I loved the explanation and also the exams that was given it was a really easy way to understand even the hardest parts of this lecture. highly recommended it worth your time and a Big thank you Mr. Yaakov Chaikin for this amazing chance to learn.

By Rahul M

Jan 2, 2022

Even though I knew how to develop web apps with Flask before taking this course, I always felt that there were still some gaps in my understanding of HTML, CSS and Javascript. This course really helped me build a solid foundation on the fundamentals of HTML, CSS and Javascript which I didn't have earlier. Thanks to Yaakov Chaikin and Johns Hopkins university for such a great course!

By Zhang Y

Dec 1, 2019

Thank you. This course is really good. I learned a lot about HTML, CSS, JS. My purpose of learning is to build my own website. And this course just provide the very tools that I need to fulfill my goal. Now, I can write my own website and help others build their websites. I am very grateful to this course. If you want to build your own website, take this course and you won't regret.