Chevron Left
Back to Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital by Duke University

4.7
667 ratings
128 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn the science behind how digital images and video are made, altered, stored, and used. We will look at the vast world of digital imaging, from how computers and digital cameras form images to how digital special effects are used in Hollywood movies to how the Mars Rover was able to send photographs across millions of miles of space. The course starts by looking at how the human visual system works and then teaches you about the engineering, mathematics, and computer science that makes digital images work. You will learn the basic algorithms used for adjusting images, explore JPEG and MPEG standards for encoding and compressing video images, and go on to learn about image segmentation, noise removal and filtering. Finally, we will end with image processing techniques used in medicine. This course consists of 7 basic modules and 2 bonus (non-graded) modules. There are optional MATLAB exercises; learners will have access to MATLAB Online for the course duration. Each module is independent, so you can follow your interests....

Top reviews

AS

Oct 11, 2018

I god certified from Duke University through Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital\n\nAmazing with Coursera platform really Got Experienced from this subject

AA

Aug 07, 2017

This course was really great in explaining the Image and video processing basics. I do not have an extensive maths background, but was still able to grasp the concepts. Thanks.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 121 Reviews for Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital

By Gourav A

Oct 26, 2018

Excellent course.

By Ghanishtha B

Nov 02, 2018

The course was easy to follow and very intuitive. Had a great time and learnt a lot!

By 上官仲恺

Aug 18, 2018

perfect

By Sai S S

Nov 05, 2018

Excellent

By Sikandar S T

Aug 17, 2017

loved it

By Jhordany R P

Jul 03, 2017

I love the instructor' enthusiasm in delivering his material. He made me feel like if I was talking to a friend! a very experienced friend in the area of image and video processing! All these concepts are going to be very useful for my future projects! Thank you!

By Ravi T

Aug 22, 2017

There are very few courses related to image processing and this is the best one covering wide variety of concepts

By ibrahim A

Jul 05, 2017

Thanks for your good explanation of the algorithms and sharing the experiences.

By Richard O

Mar 20, 2017

Great course, very nice teacher, excellent and interesting content.

By T.N.S.Adithya

Dec 05, 2017

very good intro to image processing concepts

By Marcelo O R d A

Jan 24, 2017

Excellent!

By SOURAV M

Apr 22, 2018

Very Nice course. I believe it could be more detailed and elaborated like a 1 or 2 year program so that the students could learn everything at one place. Overall the content was highly motivating and the explanations were very clear.

By kirti s

Jun 04, 2018

What a great course, starting from the very basic it takes the learner towards the pinnacle of current research topics in image processing.

By Junyi T

Mar 31, 2017

clear

By artprog

Dec 11, 2017

Very awesome!!!

By 姜晓坤

Oct 15, 2017

good image processing course.

By Eric S

Mar 06, 2017

I love his accent

By David A

Jun 28, 2017

Great introductory course! definitely worth your time if you want to do some image processing.

By Mohbat

Oct 28, 2017

One of the best Image processing course available online.

By Kaustubh S

Oct 14, 2017

Wonderful course with a lot of content to learn which helps in developing a better conceptual background for various Image processing applications.

By zijing

Feb 10, 2017

It's extremely enjoyment to take this course.If there is more exercise to take,it may lead to in-deep understanding.Thanks a lot for the donation of teacher Guillermo Sapiro and his team!

By Melvyn B

Feb 21, 2017

Outstanding, well-organized and masterfully presented by world-class Professor Guillermo Sapiro.

Professor Sapiro is a world-renowned expert who is student-centered and whose winning personality shines through in every lecture.

The selection of material from this vast and growing field is brilliant.

Hats off to Dr. Sapiro - he is a jewel in the crown of Duke University and to the academic community.

כל הכבוד

By Dwaipayan R

Apr 04, 2017

Excellent!!!!!!

By Nika90

May 12, 2018

配合冈萨雷斯的教材食用,讲的很清楚,字幕稍微有些别扭不过影响不大。

By Abhinav k

Mar 08, 2017

The experience was very good. I learnt many new things..thanks to coursera