Chevron Left
Back to Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital by Duke University

4.7
663 ratings
128 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn the science behind how digital images and video are made, altered, stored, and used. We will look at the vast world of digital imaging, from how computers and digital cameras form images to how digital special effects are used in Hollywood movies to how the Mars Rover was able to send photographs across millions of miles of space. The course starts by looking at how the human visual system works and then teaches you about the engineering, mathematics, and computer science that makes digital images work. You will learn the basic algorithms used for adjusting images, explore JPEG and MPEG standards for encoding and compressing video images, and go on to learn about image segmentation, noise removal and filtering. Finally, we will end with image processing techniques used in medicine. This course consists of 7 basic modules and 2 bonus (non-graded) modules. There are optional MATLAB exercises; learners will have access to MATLAB Online for the course duration. Each module is independent, so you can follow your interests....

Top reviews

AS

Oct 11, 2018

I god certified from Duke University through Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital\n\nAmazing with Coursera platform really Got Experienced from this subject

AA

Aug 07, 2017

This course was really great in explaining the Image and video processing basics. I do not have an extensive maths background, but was still able to grasp the concepts. Thanks.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 121 Reviews for Image and Video Processing: From Mars to Hollywood with a Stop at the Hospital

By Mohd F E B A

May 04, 2019

Beautiful course, enjoying it!

By Tushar S

Mar 26, 2019

This course has proved to be really helpful in providing me the complete understanding of Image and video processing.

By wolf

Mar 29, 2019

It is a great course that the professor teaches very patiently. The knowledge is very advanced that we can use them in our daily work and projects. Thanks , professor and Duke.Thanks, coursera.

By Zebin C

May 18, 2019

This course is very interesting and has been designed for many applications in image and video processing. I have learned a lot of interesting knowledge from this course. Unfortunately, it does not include providing slides and programming assignments to review and practice this knowledge.

By Suraj N

May 20, 2019

I really enjoyed this class. This class will give clear ideas about image and video compression, processing. I highly recommend this class.

By Vignesh.D

Jun 22, 2019

This course has 9 weeks. It was very useful for developing my knowledge in Image and video processing.

By Xuzhou L

Jul 09, 2019

Good for imaging processing starters to know what process they can do with images.

By Musa A

Jun 12, 2019

This is an excellent course - very well presented by a leading expert. I have enjoyed the course and the enthusiasm of the presenter. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to gain a broad background on modern (state-of-the-art) image and video processing.

By Suhas M

Sep 27, 2019

Learning Image Processing has been fun in this course. Thanks Prof Sapiro for sharing your immense knowledge

By Soumya S M

Oct 12, 2019

I am right now half way through this course. The course is excellent and they way the content is presented by Professor Guillermo Sapiro is really enlightening.

By fangchao

Feb 19, 2019

This Course is very intersting. It becomes more and more difficult from week 5. No matlab example show me the power that image process using PDE. I want to learn more from the code layer.

By Rahul G

Jul 23, 2018

Wonderful and well developed course, that starts from basic image processing such as intensity level processing to advanced processing methods(active contours). The practices programming questions at end of each week helps in understanding the theory in efficient manner.

By Mohit M K

Oct 16, 2018

Really good and informative course with easy quizzes!

By Ruixin Y

Sep 27, 2018

Thank you very much, both professor and coursera. Expected to learn more, especially something more practical, coding in python for example.

By John P

Nov 03, 2017

The lectures are generally clear, and most of the coding practice problems are useful. Sometimes the contents in the lecture are not quite organized, say, multiple ways of performing the same operation are discussed, and the occasions when to apply which, or which one is preferred, is not discussed in details. In addition, as this course uses majorly MATLAB for coding, some sample codes may be of interests.

By Heitor A B Q G

Jul 30, 2017

Great course! I learned a lot. The subject is very interesting, the examples are well dimensioned. I hope we have a new course, to go further, with more techniques and problems.

By Rushi P

Mar 12, 2018

Includes wide range of theories that can be applied to Image Processing. The Professor is really good at the flow of theories and its applications as we progress through the course. Explanation through MATLAB helped a lot in gaining a sense of how accessible these applications are.

By Jayadev H

Mar 03, 2018

very good information, i whish the lectures were a little bit more structured from the part of the instructor

By yusuf s c

Jun 02, 2017

Very informative very useful and exciting course. Programming exercises must be included as compulsory assignments. I think it is really necessary and it will be extremely helpful to understand better

By Deleted A

Jan 21, 2017

this course is awesome and useful for someone who are intermediate and beginner in imp!! :)

By Ankit K P

Dec 15, 2017

Great MOOC! I wish it was more longer and had more to teach! Especially morphology and more on HIV reconstruction.

By Abdul b

Jan 16, 2018

This course give the best mathematical intuition behind the image processing algorithms. Anyone who wants to develop and gain in depth understanding image processing algorithms then who take this course but one thing is remember that you have intermediate level in calculus and linear algebra and some probability theory other wise you not understand three lectures.

By 李中源

Jul 02, 2017

very suitable for beginners。The handwriting formula should be more clear, sometimes they were a little confusing

By Amit m

Mar 29, 2018

Good overview of some of the techniques in digital image processing. While a lot of the math was derived, I found in some weeks the explanations were lacking. I used outside sources (other digital image processing courses on youtube and blogs) to get a better understanding of how to implement these algorithms from scratch. Instead of using Matlab's built-in functions, if the professor implemented the algorithms from scratch in Matlab or Numpy, it would have really helped get a clearer picture.

Overall, I enjoyed the course. Thank you.

By Zainib B

May 03, 2017

its really a good experience with an ease of learning