Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,354 ratings
687 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 671 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Wynand

Dec 21, 2017

so much fun

By SORNA S

Mar 16, 2017

great course on python. Professors are legends ,Thank you so much

By Yash R K

Sep 24, 2016

It's a great course and moves at a fluent speed. You won't feel left out that's for sure.

By Ilse L

Aug 09, 2016

Hands-on course that uses lots of practical cases and relatable examples. Offers all the basics backed up with both serious expertise and much-appreciated humor.

By Wei-Mien M H

Apr 10, 2018

Great and entertaining programing course. It refreshed my skills and concepts for programing in Python.

By 虞荔

Mar 20, 2017

我学的是免费版,很棒的课程,0基础看也不吃力强烈推荐。

By Nart A

Jun 18, 2016

lectures were pretty clear, and the game projects were a very smart way to keep learning fun and challenging.

By C. P R

Apr 17, 2018

An accessible, interesting course with a strong focus on Interactive programming.

By Milos P

Jun 24, 2018

Wow! What a well-done, interesting, and fun course. This turned me on to interactive programming and has inspired me to continue on to the second course. The professors are great and have fine-tuned their pedagogy to make this class accessible to programmers from all walks.

By Farid Z

Apr 11, 2016

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!

By Ze C

Feb 09, 2017

Recommended to take after taking MIT's intro to python. It's a good course to enhance your basic python skill in a more interesting way. The main programming tasks are based on a simpleGUI developed by Scott so that it would be more clear and visible to show off what we could do using simple python code.

By Felipe R

Apr 06, 2016

Muy buen curso, excelente introducción a python y que mejor que aprender con ejercicios que motiven como los juegos propuestos en clase. Gracias a los profesores y a Coursera por brindarnos este curso

By Nikos A

Jan 22, 2018

You 've always wanted to "speak" Python? And, learn about programming? This course is what you need.

By Mark T

Aug 31, 2016

Excellent course!

By Paula C

Jan 07, 2018

Classes, and project materials are well done.

By Hugo O C R

Jul 25, 2017

So far as I can tell, this course covers a wide range of basic Python subjects, and brings challenging exercises, which is pretty stimulating and comes in handy considering the amount of things one can learn by doing.

By Yijia X

Oct 05, 2016

its really helpful for beginners! And the games I made I bragged around friends and parents! This is awesome!

By Yang Y

Mar 09, 2016

Very interesting course! I love python because of it!!!!

By Christian R

Oct 25, 2017

very entertaining and highly informative. learning curve has an appropriate slope. 5 stars and hence 100% recommendable

By Chen Q

Apr 01, 2016

Well organized for people without programming experience

By YICHEN F

Dec 09, 2017

Great course with interesting mini-project.

By Aleksey

Oct 10, 2016

very interesting course for beginning programmers!

By NAIR V V

Jun 29, 2016

Excellent way of teaching interactively. Very good exercise problems to revise and learn by practice. Occasional use of humor also adds interest to the course.

By Vijay R

Aug 11, 2017

Great!

By 朱明慧

Mar 07, 2017

Best teachers ever! Content is suitable for both beginners and those who already have some experience in coding. I really enjoyed the lectures as well as the programming assignments.