Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2) by Rice University

4.9
stars
1,071 ratings
268 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 2 of this course, we will introduce more elements of programming (such as list, dictionaries, and loops) and then use these elements to create games such as Blackjack. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Asteroids". Upon completing this course, you will be able to write small, but interesting Python programs. The next course in the specialization will begin to introduce a more principled approach to writing programs and solving computational problems that will allow you to write larger and more complex programs....

Top reviews

IS

Jun 23, 2016

This course is the best course I have ever taken. It covers all the topics very well. And importantly I love the treat at the end of every week. The ultimate showdown between the two best instructors.

JG

Apr 02, 2020

A very elegant yet fun way to explain python. I have used the skills learned here and build very useful scripts and python-based micro-services in my current company that have enabled many use cases.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 263 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

By Yiang Z

May 11, 2017

Thanks for all the time and energy these professors put into this course. If you go through it, you wont regret!!

By Deleted A

May 26, 2019

Great way to improve Python skills. The course teaches object-oriented programming. Instructors are excellent.

By John J

Feb 06, 2018

Really good class, very well organized and you learn a lot about programming. Great for people just starting.

By Jonathan L

Feb 06, 2017

First of all, it is free to enroll.

Second, lecturers provide clear instructions and guideline for learning

By Sergey V

Dec 19, 2016

Absolutely great! The course gave all the basics to make it possible to explore Python further.

Thank you!

By Shishir S K

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent Course. The lessons and assignments really test out the learner's knowledge in Python.

Thanks.

By Lien C

Jan 15, 2019

Learnt a lot about programming and created some amazing mini games! All thanks to the AMAZING teachers!

By HJ P

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging but rewarding, this is really helpful course to improve programming skills in python! :)

By Ze C

Feb 09, 2017

Final project 'Asteroid' is really fun! It makes me feel really having some deliverables in the end.

By Paula B

May 29, 2020

Just like Part 1, I had an amazing experience again. Love the content and these professors so much!

By HerlinHe

Jul 31, 2019

一门非常生动有趣的课程,以游戏为载体讲解了python的编译方法和技巧。寓教于乐,教授们都非常可爱,平易近人。并且教授们开发了一个很好的在线编译平台供我们使用。希望能够再学习本专项课程的其他部分。

By Rohan G L

Oct 30, 2017

Scott and Joe are great. John is terrible please eliminate him/redo his videos with one of you.

By McWelling H T

Sep 21, 2017

Excellent course. Highly recommend (along with the pre-req) for those looking to pick up python.

By Abhishek J

Sep 23, 2019

Thanks for this wonderful and interactive course. I thoroughly enjoyed learning python here.

By Ivan

Jul 08, 2020

I've finally understood classes! Very well done course. Done with love and professionalism.

By Wei-Mien M H

Apr 26, 2018

Great course organization and entertaining coursework! I really like this Python course!

By Jayadev

Apr 13, 2018

Very good.

Doing the peer assessment can become slightly tedious.

Thank you professors!:)

By Igal P

Jul 21, 2017

Thank you so much!!! Great and interesting course that makes learning to program fun!!!

By Stanley C

Sep 29, 2016

It's really easy to learn Python while students follow the instruction step by step.

By AN-HUNG ( T

Aug 26, 2018

Just amazing ! I will definitely complete the rest of the specialization courses.

By Americo J D C

May 27, 2016

It was a though one but I finally completed this course. Instructors are awesome!

By Olga T

Jun 24, 2018

I was enjoying to build the game and getter understanding of games physics

By Daniel O

Feb 06, 2017

Great introduction to programming, made interesting and easy to everyone.

By Prakhar C

Nov 17, 2016

Loved this course! Thank you so much for making this course available.

By tim101

Feb 12, 2019

Very well designed course which teaches the concepts in a fun manner.