Chevron Left
Back to International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
1,073 ratings
229 reviews

About the Course

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Top reviews

AK
Dec 14, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS
May 30, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 227 Reviews for International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

By Candela F G

May 31, 2020

I enjoyed this online course very much and the content and explanations were simply perfect. The interviews were also a good idea to introduce us more to the subject we were studying at that moment. It was also very helpful for what I want to do in the future. If you ever do another course like this I would definitely join in!

By Dhruv G

May 26, 2020

The course was an awesome experience. It helped me to understand the basics and intricacies related to the International Humanitarian Law, while providing a way of applying the knowledge earned from it practically, through the use of the Arfula Case Study.

Thank you so much for the great course material and knowledge sharing

By Bešir I

Mar 21, 2020

This was my first online course and I am very pleased with this kind of education and learning. It is interesting and a huge advantage is that you have an opportunity to access the course whenever you want. I am sure I will attend many more courses, especially because of positive experience on this one. I recommend it!

By Marlon G

Nov 6, 2020

It's enlightening to learn more about IHL. It really opened more horizons to explore and act more towards realization of IHL concepts and principles. You'll be more confident in dealing with realities of life in the communities we belong. Looking forward to continue this learning platform for the welfare of mankind.

By Katie S

Jul 11, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, content that will be relevant for me in my pursuit of a specialized graduate degree and in my career. I would recommend to those beginning the course to plan on the weekly assignments taking a bit longer than indicated if you want to get through all of the readings. Time well spent!

By Molly A W

Oct 19, 2019

I completely loved this course and I learnt so much about IHL and how its put into practice and it has helped me realize that I really want to study Law and so I am now applying for Bachelors Programs at various universities in The Netherlands and Ireland, my dream is now to become a Human Rights Lawyer.

By Giuliano G

Nov 8, 2020

Basic but comprehensive and well organized course. Main IHL topics are covered and textbook and optional readings offer an extensive possibility for further understanding and experience. Excellent level of instructors and experts insights contributions; Leiden University IHL vocation is well renowned

By Cassandra B

Apr 19, 2019

The course explores all the main components of IHL. However it also introduces the student to contemporary issues and challenges in IHL. It is very didactic with the case study on Arfula. Explanations are great and all the professors interesting. I like the fact to have podacts with visiting experts.

By Abhijit B

Apr 18, 2020

As an educator I learnt a lot about how to structure a course whereby both, persons who are just starting out with the subject and persons who have some experience with the subject, can be be effectively engaged. I humbly express my gratitude and congratulations to the entire team of professors.

By Camille N D

Oct 29, 2020

This course provided the opportunity for a clear understanding of International Humanitarian Law. I especially liked the podcast interviews. I found these to be quite practical in giving the real time experiences of modern day professionals in the field. I would do another course with Coursera.

By Karol U

Jul 10, 2021

T​his was new to me on every lever. I had never heard of IHL but I was fascinated and go through the material very quickly and easily. I believe this is important to learn and this course provides everything you need. I am now interested i IHL and will keep my eye out for another course

By Didem

Dec 14, 2018

absolutely I have learned a lot. I'm now thinking to learn much more about IHL and write an article about it. I loved teachers and the way that they explains very serious subjects to us. I hope I can be there, in Leiden, in The Hague :) again, thank you all. I am really grateful.

By Rick a D N V

Jan 18, 2019

Excellent course! Objective material with well-prepared teachers. All exercises and activities are practical, with a very good theoretical basis. The "Arfula Case" is the icing on the cake, inasmuch as it presents an stimulating and pedagogical option to deepen knowledge about IHL.

By Estíbaliz C

May 3, 2020

Este curso realmente me ha servido como base para conocer el DIH y su marco de aplicación. Los cuestionarios de caso con el ejemplo de Arfula han servido para ilustrar cómo se aplicarían estas leyes en un conflicto real. 100% recomendable, haré más cursos de este tipo sin duda!

By Gabriela G N

Jul 12, 2019

It's been such an easy way to learn a lot about IHL!, even if your academic background is very low or not related at any point, you will find flexible and high quality interviews, lectures and additional material to learn as much as you can, noticing your progress week by week.

By Despina K

May 18, 2019

Excellent organIsation and categorisation of the modules. Very important and enlightening course for all of us who try to keep up the law in every range. Your university made the so called achievement on education on IHL, especially in nowadays worldwide warlike circumstances.

By Elmar J A

Apr 30, 2021

This course deepened my knowledge and understanding in International Humanitarian Law. Its podcasts and case study helped in appreciating the application of IHL in real life scenario. It is the perfect introductory course regarding the topic of International Humanitarian Law.

By Ramses M

Aug 11, 2020

This course is expertly taught by professors from institutes centered around IHL. In other words, they know their stuff. This is an excellent introduction to IHL, and covers a good deal of its foundation. Greatly deepened my interest in the subject. The instructors are great!

By Karl B P A

Jan 5, 2020

Leiden U's IHL course offered broad and current perspectives alongside in-depth discussion of the different laws constituting the entire body of IHL. I felt comfortable with the mixed activities encouraging retention of knowledge, as well as discussion with peers.

By SOH S H R S 2

Jan 21, 2021

It was really interesting when a lot of real-life examples are given as it makes it more relevant to our lives, but be prepared to do a lot of reading in order to fully understand IHL, its applications and effects on our world. Overall quite an informative class.

By Amina Z

Aug 12, 2019

Really enjoyed it! Completed 5 weeks in one! Is suitable for both those who already have some knowledge of IHL and those who just start getting familiar with it. Many thanks to all the people who worked on this course and made it available for us! Best of luck!

By Lyhak C

Nov 25, 2019

This course provides a very interesting outline for students like me to easily understand the whole purpose of the course which makes me feel influenced by everything they have prepared. I suggest students who want to improve their IHL apply for this course.

By Aruna P

Nov 14, 2019

This is a course everyone and anyone should take to understand what exists in terms of law. With the increasing number of armed conflict happening around the world, this course can help nation and states at war prevent from committing massive human casualty.

By Michael M

Feb 26, 2020

The course is really fascinating and those who are interested in pursuing career in humanitarian field shall do it! The complexity of this course captured my mind. However, every single detail is explained in plain language. So do it and you won't regret!