Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
806 ratings
180 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Top reviews

RD
Oct 24, 2018

Very good course, focused on the quartus prime tool and touch a lot of topics on FPGA design, optimization, time analysis and a little of comparison between Altera and other FPGA vendors.

KS
Jul 30, 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 179 Reviews for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

By Matthew M

Jul 23, 2020

This class has deep problems. The first is that the transcription is not where it needs to be, and the resolution of the videos does not compensate for the problem. Filenames are often very important and need to be exact. Yet the transcription often makes mistakes with the filenames and variables. This is where the lack of Youtube resolution comes into play. I can't read individual file and variable names, The result is a lot of guesswork. This could be overcome with high resolution scans of the RTL level diagrams provided the scans were of high enough resolution to read the file and vairable names. Further the class runs on an old version of Quartus Prime, 16.1 while the current version of Quartus is 20.1 (as of this writing). Quartus constantly asks for updates, but those updates often rbeak functionality and make the lessons undoable. This class should be revised to the current version of Quartus Prime. Elements of the class that are survey-like, such as reviews of various FPGA technologies, products, and manuifacturers are good. The information is solid and addresses technical issues I had for my projects. Likewise the introduction to digital logic was well done. It started at a graduate level, which was what I expected and desired. High marks for that.

By Bhushan C P

Dec 11, 2017

Ultimate course for FPGA learners those who want to understand complete process of FPGA design for Industry, education & research. Prof. Timothy Scherr and his team had put lot of efforts to make this course perfect. This course is helpful for newbie as well as professionals, As some points explained in this course covers lot of depth in field of FPGA for embedded system with simple explanation.

Thank very much Prof. Timothy Scherr and his teamand also coursera team for bringing such High quality education to all over the world.

By Lalit B

Jun 9, 2020

The course is beyond as per the expectations!

The course "Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems" offered by colorado university is really a wonderful one, especially for the FPGA aspirants and beginners. the course provide a detail inside about the programmable logic devices. the best part was the hands-on practice of the design tool (Quartus Prime). The course flow is good and videos are descriptive. Special thanx to instructor prof. Timothy Scherr. he is a good teacher and his way of explanation is fantastic.

By Zahid S

May 15, 2020

Fpga design is a vast jungle, tons of tools, design methodologies, terminologies, design patterns etc. This is just an introductory course that looks at the world of Fpga's through a birds eye view. But the information presented in this course is good enough to start from an intel perspective and apply this knowledge to other platforms like Xilinx or Microsemi. Btw, I also agree with other learners that a lot o cheating is happening in the peer reviewed assignments and something needs to be done about this matter!

By Samer A A

Jun 16, 2020

This Course is a good introduction to the FPGA flow in general not just for Altera. It will be very week for someone has previous experience in FPGA design. Regarding this scope, I think the course will be much better if there is a project at the end of course that help the learners coming through the whole flow on their own. I am looking forward to have advanced level for FPGA implementation.

By Roger P

Jun 22, 2020

I was actually pleasantly surprised... I am a chip designer and embedded systems software developer... this class gave us the basics and was a survey of FPGA design methodologies and FPGA architecture. While certainly not as comprehensive as a college course, I'd say it was 30% of the knowledge for 20% of the time at 3% of the cost.

By Ming M

Dec 23, 2019

A great introduction course for beginners who interested in FPGA design. Basically it covers almost all the use cases for Quartus software, to make students understand the tool, get familiar with the features provided by the tool. Also give students a brief understanding of the FPGA design flow. Overall a great course for beginners.

By Kalind K

Apr 25, 2020

Really helpful course for one who aims to get started with FPGA since it covers from basic introduction to writing complex VHDL, Verilog codes for the design and how to simulate it using free software Quartus Prime Lite. Thank you for this course. Also the financial aid is available.

By Timofei K

Jun 23, 2020

Very informative and well thought-out course. There are some minor glitches: a weekly assignment requests a screenshot that was not mentioned in the lecture video, it is not always clear where the required files have to be downloaded from. But overall, this is a high-quality course.

By AKSHAT P

Jun 3, 2020

Very informative course, though quite tough as compared to other courses available in coursera. But, it gives quite depth of learning and hands on experience in Intel's Altera Quartus prime Design suite. Very must course if you are looking for career in digital designing.

By Krishna G

Jun 4, 2020

Good content and study material , professors has explained everything very well , enjoyed a lot during this course and finally I can become a junior professional secret agent of FPGA designing putting my detective hat on my head and just like homes "the game is on "☺️

By Purnima R

May 7, 2020

Excellent course for anyone starting out on FPGA (students and hobbyists alike).

1. Takes you through basic concepts of FPGA and helps you compare different FPGA's.

2. Gives you a quick glimpse on how to build a fairly complex system using reusable IP.

By Himani S

Aug 16, 2020

This course indeed very helpful and the course content is also practical and very thoughtfully design .I am sure whosoever will enroll for this course will definitely get benefited.

Thanks a lot to professor Timothy Scherr and his team.

By Aswinraj K

Jul 6, 2020

A month before , I enrolled for this course just out of curiosity. And today , I can confidently say that I have learned a lot about FPGAs and Digital Systems Design. It was a well-structured, challenging and fun-to-learn course.

By PRAKHAR C

Jun 26, 2020

The course was good when talked as a beginner. it provides the fruitful insight of all that is needed in the topic. the assignments were good and enhanced the practical approach of learning rather than just mugging up theory.

By Bajrang K S

Apr 6, 2018

Awesome Course! Learned almost every aspects/options of Altera Quartus Prime software suite.

Got practical insight of Pipelining of complex digital circuits and effects of Clock/Signal buffering using Altera Max10 FPGA device

By Ujjwal U

Aug 22, 2020

The course covers the FPGA design for embedded systems in detailed manner. It also covers the Quartus Prime tool including compilation, IP usage, Pin planner and Timing analysis. It is a very good learning experience.

By Osanda G D S

Aug 20, 2020

As a beginner, It was possible for me to learn some about quartus prime software and fpga pratically and theroryiically. I really enjoyed learning here. Thank to all who were behind in this course and supported us.

By Mukesh G

May 2, 2020

In this course, I got the basic idea of FPGA. Then, how to chose FPGA for different types of applications and also a good overview on how to use Intel Quartus Prime software for FPGA design and simulation.

By Lucas F d S

May 21, 2020

Great course! It is an introductory level, however, deep aspects of Intel Quartus Prime are studied and used. This course also gives a broad perspective overview of FPGA and CPLD families.

By Papu M

Nov 6, 2020

This course is very basic level and I encourage all the electronics students must take this course. Thank you Timothy Scherr Sir, he explained all the concepts with detailed explanation.

By KADİR E

Nov 10, 2020

This is a very nice course that broadened my knowladge. I will be happy to continue next courses. Each video has need to be watched several times, there are a lot of useful information.

By Paul E E

Apr 5, 2020

This is a great course.However, the moderators of this course should properly check the assignments submitted by students as many submission are copied or plagiarized.

By Muhammad Z Y

May 9, 2020

Excellent Course and teaching methods along practical work is wonderful. Happy to learn this course on time. May it would be key stone for MS admission or career.

By Arnt J W

Oct 25, 2020

Good intro course. Requires some knowledge with digital design beforehand. It's demanding but worth it putting the effort into mastering this course.