Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,713 ratings
343 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP

Jul 28, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FM

Jun 28, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 340 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By Jochen R

Feb 05, 2019

amazing course, thanks for providing

By Vipul N

Aug 31, 2019

Course content was good to understand the basics of self driving cars but I felt some more topics should have been covered and in some more depth, that would have helped in solving the final assignment. Supplementary reading material was good but it would have been better if the concepts were taught more in depth in the videos specially weak 6. Also it seams like the answer to few questions in the weekly assignment has some discrepancies, sometimes it looked like you have to select the wrong answer (as taught in lecture) to get the marks.

By Jagadeesh K

Feb 10, 2020

exceptionally good course to get introduced to the subject - Self-Driving Cars, which is going to be the game changer of the decade. The course is useful for the people who are working in Automotive industry and/or from Electronics/Mechanical related background

the best of its kind course. The quizzes, CARLA simulator and the assignments were extraordinary. Very well outlined & was well paced as well.

Two minor feedback/improvement : 1) easy concepts you can speed-up, which you are already doing it, but for the tough concepts - just slow down a little with more explanations (2) connecting the concepts from the previous lesson to the next lesson and the overall summary could be briefed with a diagramatic representation (like e.g. mind-maps,etc... i have made one for myself :-) )

Kudos to University of Toronto, Professor Steven and Coursera . I am very happy to be - part of this great program/course. :-)

By Hans P P

Sep 28, 2020

Very nicely compiled introduction.Apart of the safety and security aspects, the whole controlling subject was completely new to me. The possibility to get such a smooth introduction to the dynamic modeling and controlling topics together with the programming task on a realistic problem is very important for further learning and understanding. Even though a real self-driving car would use much more complex and detailed models, the experience to observe that a self-developed very simple controller implementation already works quite well is very motivating. Furthermore, providing a starting point together with additional well chosen supplementary material encourages to dive deeper into those topics.

By Mukund C

May 05, 2020

Loved the course. I learned a lot. It strikes a good balance between overview and depth, although one can always go a little bit deeper - e.g. a few more lectures on the lateral control - specifically on MPC. Loved the programming assignments, they really solidified the understanding of the concepts. Encourage everyone to dig into the details of the data being spit out in the data structures so you can follow along the intermediate steps in the equations. Graphing them in Excel and make your own small simulation was very helpful. Nicely done.

By Kin Z

Apr 08, 2020

This is definitely the best course I have in the field of self-driving cars. Thanks to all the teachers, students and engineers who set up these courses for us. Thank you! !

The course covers almost all aspects of driverless car kinematics, and all programming projects have their own value for students, allowing them to gain a deeper understanding of classroom knowledge.

The people who paid for this course once again pay my high tribute. thank you all!

Thank you!!! This course is worth 100% satisfaction. 5 Stars for this amazing class.

By Eshan M H

May 11, 2020

One of the best structured courses on Cousera. Standards are high, which is good. Probably not for everyone, but if you put in the time its very engaging and fresh compared to other specialization courses. There is so much information and explanations given by the instructors, which was extremely useful. The practical coding assignments are well thought out, and combined with the course materials, the learning was very effective. The final project with Carla simulator is actually pretty good.

By REVANTH B

Dec 29, 2019

Why can't all other universities provide such a structured course for their students. This shattered my preconceptions about online courses. The course is as hard as, if not harder than a regular classroom based courses with added flexibility and revision. I hope the governments of countries (especially developing) could provide subsidies or even better, discounts from coursera itself for poor yet talented students there.

By Nada A A

Aug 01, 2020

I first started this course without much knowledge in this field and I just wanted to explore the contents. After finishing it, I really appreciate this experience and learnt alot from it, which entourages me to continue the specialization. The instructor was really great in explaining the concepts. The course is well organized, and the assignments/quizzes are well-designed to boost the learning process.

By Ibrahim E

Apr 20, 2020

This course gives a detailed overview that enables me to get quickly but based on a good foundation and understanding into the concepts of self driving cars starting from the motivation and categories of the autonomy system going through the safety aspects and commonly used frameworks and finally a hands on experience of the lateral and longitudinal vehicle control using Carla Simulator.

By Matheus S

Jul 15, 2020

This is one of the best courses i have made in Cousera. The introduction and explanation of the subjects are al well done, the programming assignment directly apply the concepts learned and the normal quizzes are very attached to details. Also, the Professor is able to transmit everything with a good flow, keeping you interest for the courses to come.

By Hajdu C

Oct 05, 2019

A great introductory course! It helped me to overview the very basic concepts of self-driving vehicle software architectures. Also, the programming assignments are very relevant and essential for making a vehicle moving in real life. CARLA, which the final assignment is related to, is also a recent simulator aiming for autonomous vehicle development.

By Ameya P

Apr 12, 2020

Best Starting course in self-driving cars. This course is also helpful for those who are working in mobile robotics since this course can be used as a reference on how to formulate the problem statements and their solutions by modeling the kinematics and its implementation in simulation environments for testing.

By Astik S

Aug 17, 2019

Everything in this course is well arranged and as per the industry standards.

It was fun learning the controller design and implementing it in the final Assignment.

One issue though is there any place to get all the slides together for the future use it will be very helpful thank you.

By José C I Z

Sep 24, 2020

This course is amazing. It covers the main introductory concepts of self-driving vehicles and control systems design. The lectures are easy to understand and the assignments are challenging. At the end of the course, we also have the opportunity to implement the autopilot in CARLA.

By Manohar

May 11, 2020

This a wonderful

I got to learn many things about driverless cars and the programming part was tough but t last learnt.

I never forget Control Systems

But if lateral control systems explained using animation by showing angles will provide a good understanding in less time

thank you.

By Domenico D M P

Oct 14, 2020

Fantastic course! It provides a great and complete amount of knowledge on the self-driving cars area. It is a good start for anyone who is looking forward to work on this industry. It is also useful for understanding vehicle dynamics modelling of any type of car.

By Bogdan G

Sep 12, 2019

I gained a lot of useful and interesting know-how by doing this course. Maybe a bit more responsiveness from teaching staff on the forum would be needed and also that some programming tasks are a bit clearer explained.

Apart from that I highly recommend it!

By Surendar D

Jun 28, 2020

This is the best place to start learning about self driving cars. Course is well designed to cater the needs of the students. At the end of this course, students will definitely feel confident about their path towards self driving car field of study.

By Natarajan N

Jun 27, 2020

The Course focuses on examples that are easier for illustration and development of knowledge to solve a complex problem such as self-driving cars. The presentation and teaching exercises were very well designed to meet an engineer's working schedule.

By Gheoace M

Sep 06, 2020

Extremely well documented and easy to follow along. It offers all the materials you need to understand the concepts but a prior basic understanding of mechanics, control theory and programming in python makes the much easier to complete this course.

By Glauber R L

May 13, 2020

It gives a broad view on autonomous vehicles, particularly the control methodologies which could be applied on other types of cars, like differential wheels. The overall system architecture present is well done and really fascinating.

By Pablo M

Aug 12, 2020

It was really amazing the well explained and well structured of this course. It should take over hundreds of hours to plan and execute the videos and the code for the exercises. Very good job and I enjoy every minute of the course.

By Davide C

May 06, 2019

I appreciated this course because it explains the basics of autonomous driving, starting from simple concepts as automation level, sensors used, and then going deeply into longitudinal and lateral control for path planning.

By NGOC T L

Oct 15, 2020

This is the best course to step into self-driving car engineer. I have learned both the theory of SDC and do control the car on simulation platform CARLA. Thanks to the instructor and the team. Really enjoy the course.