Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Classical Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Classical Music by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,386 ratings
1,028 reviews

About the Course

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Top reviews

SL
Mar 6, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

EV
Oct 15, 2020

Wonderful course where Craig Wright delves into all eras of classical music and takes you along for the wonderful ride! Craig Wright is one of the best instructors I have come across! Enjoy the ride!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,017 Reviews for Introduction to Classical Music

By Tati B

Oct 17, 2019

This is one of the best courses I've ever taken. Even though I'm from Argentina and English is not my native language, Professor Wright speaks very clearly and in such a way it is very easy to understand him, always giving examples and transmitting enthusiasm. I want to thank him and his team for a wonderful experience in learning about classical music.

By Ayesha U

Jun 24, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyable and packed with information. I particularly appreciated the context of history, visual arts, literature and architecture provided throughout, as well as the detailed discussion of iconic works and tips for engaging with music you might not find accessible straight away. It has made me want to explore more music modules on Coursera.

By Martino B

Jul 30, 2019

Sensational. The professor is amazing. The course is really engaging, the content is of really high quality and the "lessons" are wholesome and friendly. The quizzes really helped me to learn, as I "attended" the lessons in house-work time, so failing the quizzes helped me re-watch the videos I did not follow enough. Please make more courses like this!

By Lisa

Jul 2, 2020

While the course took me more than 40 hours to complete, I definitely learned a lot and can now more readily recognize the mechanics of classical music and the period from which a piece came. Professor Wright was fantastic - it’s clear he loves what he does and enjoys the art of teaching classical music at Yale. I would highly recommend this course!

By Juergen C J

Nov 9, 2016

I am a beginner in classical music and play the violin for fun.

The course was like a journey from ancient times over the times until today.

9 weeks were not so long in comparisons which cost only a masterpiece of the composer.

I have learned a lot and now I see a lot more hard work in this course. My thanks go to Professor Wright and his excelente team

By Diane M

Dec 26, 2020

Remarkable course with a remarkable professor. Even if you don't have a musical background or don't feel like classical music is your favorite but believe that art is multifaceted and should be studied thoroughly; if you genuinely love music, invest some of your time to absorb the knowledge shared in the course. It's a worthy and pleasant adventure.

By Jinghan L

Feb 17, 2016

I like the course very much! The music covered in the course is really beautiful.

The professor teaches us how to appreciate a piece of music step by step. Before taking this course, I just knew the music is great! I like it! After taking the course I can listen to the music in a more scientific way.

I really want to say thank you to the professor.

By Eva R

Jan 3, 2019

I grew up in an "if you can't do it, stay away from it" environment and as a kid with a ear stomped on by an elephant that is completely unmusical it didn't make much sense indulging in a pleasure and a subject I could never possibly pursue and practice. Following the course showed me you don't need to be a born creator to enjoy classical music.

By Diego A R

May 20, 2019

This course has not only taught me a great lot, but has allowed me to actually find a way to get closer to classical music. Although I have always said I liked classical music, I had never understood it as deeply as this course has allowed me to. I am profoundly grateful with everyone that made it possible for me to participate in this course.

By Iris B M

Nov 3, 2020

It was fantastic. I was looking forward to having some time to go back to the course. It is so interesting that the composer/music is set into context of arts and developments of instruments. It is so impressive to have pictures of the concert halls and places of residence of the composers at the time and today. The course was just wonderful.

By Julián R G

Sep 6, 2020

Me ha gustado mucho el curso. Ha sido muy formativo y ameno. Ha tenido una muy ben equilibrio entre texto (charla) y música. Me ha encantado el análisis de las obras, asi como las "anecdotas" de los compositores. Me ha servido para despertar mi inquietud musical y querer saber más sobre música clásica y sobre todo de lenguaje musical.Gracias.

By Ivonne G d M

Jul 5, 2020

I want to thank you all for this course the I had just finished, but specially I want to thank

Professor Craig Wright because he is an excellent teacher I that made a great impact in me.

I learned many things that I didn't know I wanted to learn but most of all I will keep in my hearth hours of profound enjoyment .

My best to all of you,

Ivonne

By CAROLINE   CULASTE   BALABA

Jul 3, 2020

Excellent!!! Professor Craig Wright and team delivered it well. Classical Music saved my life from boredom and anxiety in this time of CoviD19 pandemic. Now, I learned that i am more of a classical person, i sleep, breathe and relax well of this kind of classical music. Probably, I am an old soul inside, in a pop-modern lifestyle. Cheers !!!

By Tran A Q N - Y 0

Aug 12, 2021

I think you and your team paid so much effort to making this videos and editing them. I think that your content is great but it is too hard for some people to understand. Also, I think that you rushed a bit in your piano playing. But overall, thank you for your course. I would recommend this course for everyone so they can truly enjoy music!

By frederic p

Feb 26, 2018

I strongly recommend this course to anyone interested in Music ; it’s a fabulous journey through centuries, from the early Middle Ages to the Postmodernist era.

Professor Wright is always caring and exciting.

I have been looking for such a course for years.

Thousands of thanks to Professor Wright and to the team to imagine and produce it !!

By Jose W O

Jun 17, 2017

The Material and how it is presented is great, very professional and supported with different approaches and activities to maintain it fun. The historical references and the examples are also very interesting and meaningful. I really enjoyed this course, I wanted to join the visit to Austria but it is pretty expensive for me, maybe some day.

By Ng H S

Feb 7, 2016

Well-structured, well-paced, easy to understand. Good mix of classical music and pop music references to help you understand. This course really helped me to understand exactly why I love certain classical music pieces. FYI if you're on Spotify, someone's created an accompanying playlist so you can listen to the music he references in full.

By Anna K

May 22, 2020

Un cours très sympa. Malheureusement, plusieurs compositeurs n'ont pas pu être abordés, sans doute, par manque de temps. J'aurais bien aimé un chapitre consacré à la musique française (Bizet, Massenet), à l'opéra vériste italienne (Puccini, Leoncavallo), à la musique russe.

En revanche, Mozart, Beethoven, Bach étaient très bien présentés.

By Vida H

Jul 28, 2016

This is a great course. I really enjoyed doing it, and I must say this course kept me going as it was very stimulating. The video lectures was great, clearly explained and easy to follow. I have already recommend this course to my friends, and I would like to thank professor Wright and all the course team for making such enjoyable course.

By Tressa C

Dec 31, 2020

This course was so well structured. Professor Wright keeps you very focused wanting to learn more and more. He has so much knowledge to share and there is so much to learn here. I am so happy I found this course. Also, his book "The Hidden Habits of Genius: Beyond Talent ,IQ and Grit-Unlocking the Secrets of Greatness" is a MUST READ!!

By Tushar D

Jan 10, 2021

This course is truly the first step in the journey of understanding western classical music. The instructor has done an outstanding job in setting the context and giving a birds eye view of the fundamentals of western classical music. I'm now able to better appreciate classical music as compared to an earlier purely sensory experience.

By LI W

May 9, 2016

Thank you Pr. Wright for this excellent course, I really enjoyed the content, the structure as well as your way of explaining things! As simple music lover, I have been listening to classical music since a while, this course helped me to have a more structured knowledge of it. Hope you would think of recording more and deeper courses.

By Hasan F G

Sep 2, 2020

What a fascinating learning experience, a joyful, enriching journey with Prof. Wright through man's history of music and fine arts, looking into a wide spectrum of sounds, sights, movements and culture. I wish the course were a never-ending one. Heartfelt gratitude to Prof. Craig Wright, Yale Broadcast Center and the Yale University.

By Enyu L

Aug 3, 2020

A great and engaging course to learn about some music theories and different styles of Western classical music! I really appreciate the instructor and other members of the team that put the course together and put it out on Coursera. I feel like classical music sounds different to my ears now, and I am inspired to learn more. Thanks!

By isabel r

Jun 13, 2020

I am very satisfied and excited with this course! It is very beautiful and interesting course! Indeed, the professor Craig M. Wright makes it more interesting and entertaining!! He is an excellent professional, and delightful to hear and look at!!

My best regards for him!

PD: I am waiting for his published book coming out this year..!