Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analytics by IBM

4.8
stars
15,074 ratings

About the Course

Ready to start a career in Data Analysis but don’t know where to begin? This course presents you with a gentle introduction to Data Analysis, the role of a Data Analyst, and the tools used in this job. You will learn about the skills and responsibilities of a data analyst and hear from several data experts sharing their tips & advice to start a career. This course will help you to differentiate between the roles of Data Analysts, Data Scientists, and Data Engineers. You will familiarize yourself with the data ecosystem, alongside Databases, Data Warehouses, Data Marts, Data Lakes and Data Pipelines. Continue this exciting journey and discover Big Data platforms such as Hadoop, Hive, and Spark. By the end of this course you’ll be able to understand the fundamentals of the data analysis process including gathering, cleaning, analyzing and sharing data and communicating your insights with the use of visualizations and dashboard tools. This all comes together in the final project where it will test your knowledge of the course material, and provide a real-world scenario of data analysis tasks. This course does not require any prior data analysis, spreadsheet, or computer science experience....

Top reviews

BS

Oct 21, 2020

A great Introductory course by IBM and Coursera to start your career in Data analytics. Learned a lot from this course like what are the skills that are needed in order to become a good data analyst.

MS

May 3, 2023

A very structured course to give basic and useful insight to the world of data analysis. From zero, one absorbs the possible levels of details and requirements to get into the world of data analysis.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 3,143 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analytics

By Kate M

Mar 2, 2021

So informative and well-presented. It's almost like this program was done by people who have extensive skills in conveying knowledge in an easy-to-understand format. I loved this course!

By M O Y

Jan 6, 2022

not much Interactive, I felt sleep many times during the course.

By Pulkeet G

Nov 18, 2020

Great course to gain an overview of the Data professional domain and various opportunities in it. Starts from the very basic of what the role of a Data Analyst is and goes in reasonable depths of the various roles and responsibilities of being a Data Analyst.

Concepts have been wonderfully presented with examples on every topic and viewpoints by Industry experts and professionals are included at the end of every concept to give better insights on its relevance and importance.

By Pamela F

Dec 11, 2020

The class gave me a great overview of the foundations that data analysis is built upon - I learned about the process of working with data from source identification through visualization/reporting, the various tools and methods that can be used through the process and also the different possibilities and roles in data analysts. I feel that I have a very good footing from this course to move forward into learning the competencies needed to become a data analyst.

By siphamandla t

Apr 15, 2021

This course offers, the most conspicuous methodology of study guidelines, and lectures for anyone who aspires to pursue a career in Data Analytics ,and has no technical background.

The formats and learning material are laid out and explained in easy, and comprehensive terms, that convey the core effective directives of what Data Analytics entails, in conformity and detail.

Therefore without further ado I give it 5/5 stars.

By Helen G

Apr 4, 2022

I am kind of disappointed with the content of this course. Most people who join coursera are looking for courses to improve their skills and knowledge, so they can be more competitive in the market. This course Is mostly just listing different kind of data analytics softwares and the functions of them, instead of teaching any specific software. We are here to learn the functions of the software, how to use the it in solving problems, not just names of these softwares. Another big part of this course is about Data Analytics professionals talking about how great is the career as Data Analytics...well, we already know. That's why we are here to learn. So just teach us the skills and pratical knowledge. Overall, I am disappointed. And I am amazed how many of others rate this course 4.8 / 5.0. Going forward, I don't take this rating seriously.

By Jamil K

Oct 5, 2021

The course is not bad but i would give it three stars as far as rating it is concerned.

Me as a student would like to suggest or rather give a kind request to our tutors to make the course a bit more practical rather than theoretical. i realized there has been a lot of theory in it, my major ambition was to get a hands on experience in analyzing data using excel spread sheets and get a better understanding of how data can be presented. But i still thank you for this opportunity never the less.

By Devraj C

Aug 26, 2022

Only theorotical information is given, in this course you will be able to cover up the main idea of data analyst, what is work like and basic definations related work also you will be interact with industrial experts also....

By Rajesh K

Nov 19, 2021

This course come with full package of knowledge which is very necessary for every data analyst to learn. In this course every basic details and wide concept are provided in such a way that anyone can learn easily. I am delighted to complete this course a big thanks to IBM expert team who created this course and some expert those give their view in the course to make me understand what a data analyst. Finally a big thanks to coursera for the opportunity.

By Antoine D

Dec 5, 2020

Might seem as a beginner/novice course, but even for people already doing some sort of data analysis in specific domains, the course gives a good overview of all the bricks, tools and concepts making the Data Analytics field. Even seasoned analyst will find the refreshment (or learning) useful to get a clearer and more concise picture of where they stand, where they want to go and how.

By Engr. A K R A N

Dec 17, 2020

This course has been thought very cleverly and in a very orderly manner. The professional Data Analysts perspective shown in the course was very helpful in understanding the insights of the modern industries and requirements of the Data Analyst. I would strongly recommend this course to the beginners in the field of Data Analytics, that its a good way to step in to Data Analytics.

By John K S

Mar 3, 2021

I would 101% recommend this course to anyone trying to get into the world of Data Analytics or any data profession for that matter. If you're like me who's trying to jumpstart a career in this field, then diving into this course should be a no-brainer. All the content you'll find in this course will definitely help you build a strong foundation in jumping to a data-driven role.

By Aigiun G

Sep 10, 2021

A great job is done in providing professional background and knowledge on Data Analytics!! Learned more on tools, and gained new insights on analytics from IBM staff. Thank you for a great course!

By Dwika W

Nov 7, 2023

I know it's an introductory course but I think it's better to have a lot more real-world case study to keep it more engaging. Otherwise it's very good course.

By Vasco d M S R d O

Mar 11, 2022

Very good for people who have no background on Data analysis. Very clear and rich in information before diving in depth!

By Nader A

Sep 2, 2021

The info in the course is vey valuable with insights from people working in the field, which makes everything relevant. But sometimes the videos can be filled with so much information, a little bit more that needed to keep full focus.

One point I personally didn't like is in some quizzes asking about what certain people said in a certain video, which I found not very relevant as I think we should be tested for the skills or concept we are supposed to learn and not for who said what.

By Camilla D D

Feb 24, 2021

I wish there were more examples. Sometimes it's just all talk. I think that images would help to memorize and have a better understanding of the subject. This is about visualization :) Especially when it comes to Python, R, SQl, a video or a screenshot of the interface would really help. Also, I've found syntax could have been better or just more simple sometimes, but English is not my native language so it might be just my point of view

By Jill S

Oct 4, 2022

This course is very dense in the first four weeks. Many of the videos I had to pause every 30 seconds to finish taking my notes on one slide/topic, and then the week 5 was just kind of a fluff week. This course does cover a lot of ground in a short course, and is a really good overview for what you will need to learn next (names of software to learn, different tools that you need to know how to use, etc).

By Atefe A Z

Oct 28, 2021

it is high quality course, everything is meaningful, but most of the times I was overwhelmed by so many new information which I didn't know anything about them before, and just saying these all information very fast and for me it was almost impossible to memorize all. but after one time the second time when you review it made more sense

By Maria M R

Jul 5, 2023

I recently completed the Introduction to Data Analytics course by IBM on Coursera, and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning about data analytics. The course is well-organized and easy to follow, and the instructor does a great job of explaining the concepts clearly and concisely.

The course covers a wide range of topics, including data collection, data cleaning, data visualization, and data analysis. I especially enjoyed the sections on data visualization, as I found it to be a constructive way to understand and communicate the results of data analysis.

In addition to the videos and readings, the course also includes several hands-on exercises that allow you to practice what you have learned. These exercises were a great way to solidify my understanding of the concepts, and they were very helpful in preparing for the final quiz.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Introduction to Data Analytics course by IBM. It is a well-designed and informative course that provides a great introduction to data analytics. If you are interested in learning about data analytics, I highly recommend this course.

By Tiffany O

Jun 16, 2022

I really enjoyed this course!! There was a ton of information in every video yet the videos were short and to the point. The voices used in the videos are clear, easy to follow and actually quite pleasant. Also, the images and graphics used in the video are very organized and clear to understand which enhanced the visual experience. The layout of the course content is very organized and everything is easy to find and go back to. I love to see the checkboxes turn green as I am moving through the course. It really keeps me wanting to complete more and more. I started this course on a Tuesday late at night and I have completed it by Thursday afternoon (less than 2 days). I learned so much and am super excited to continue my journey learning Data Analytics!!

By Kamran M

Aug 14, 2023

"Thank you so much for providing the Introduction to Data Analytics course on Coursera and awarding the certificate! This course has been an invaluable learning experience for me. The content was comprehensive and well-structured, making complex concepts easy to understand. The hands-on assignments and practical examples truly enhanced my understanding of data analytics techniques. I appreciate the effort the instructors put into creating such an engaging and informative course. This certificate will undoubtedly be a valuable addition to my skill set and professional development. Looking forward to exploring more courses on Coursera in the future!"

By Emmanuel B A

May 1, 2024

I recently completed the IBM Introduction to Data Analytics course, and it was a fantastic learning experience. The course content was well-structured, covering essential topics in data analytics such as data types, data cleaning, visualization, and basic statistical analysis. The real-world examples and detailed explanation provided by experts in the field, provided a practical understanding of how data analytics is applied in various industries. The instructors were knowledgeable and engaging, making complex concepts easy to grasp. Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in diving into the world of data analytics.

By Mohamed I E M

Feb 19, 2023

I learned the concepts and terms of data analysis, and its types. I also learned What are the data sources and how to choose the appropriate tools to deal with them, technical skills, personal skills, and tools. I took a glimpse into the programming language, descriptive statistics, and some of the programs used. I also learned the steps and stages that must be required to extract correct, accurate and effective results. I also learned How to tell a story and visualize the conclusions easily to stakeholders. Also I learned What is the career path and how to develop and move between different levels. All of this I learned and more, thanks.

By Esteban P

Feb 18, 2024

This course opened my mind to new possibilities in data analysis and helped give an outlook on the data analysis career path. This introduction to data analytics helped structure the concepts I had about different technical skills and ad-hoc analysis abilities, already developed from working in research. It also opened new ideas about the importance of how to communicate the insights on data as well as broaden my horizons on what could be done and the tools to achieve that. Thank you for this excellent course! I plan on recommending to to my friends still leading research positions who have students who could benefit from this.