Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analytics by IBM

4.8
stars
15,049 ratings

About the Course

Ready to start a career in Data Analysis but don’t know where to begin? This course presents you with a gentle introduction to Data Analysis, the role of a Data Analyst, and the tools used in this job. You will learn about the skills and responsibilities of a data analyst and hear from several data experts sharing their tips & advice to start a career. This course will help you to differentiate between the roles of Data Analysts, Data Scientists, and Data Engineers. You will familiarize yourself with the data ecosystem, alongside Databases, Data Warehouses, Data Marts, Data Lakes and Data Pipelines. Continue this exciting journey and discover Big Data platforms such as Hadoop, Hive, and Spark. By the end of this course you’ll be able to understand the fundamentals of the data analysis process including gathering, cleaning, analyzing and sharing data and communicating your insights with the use of visualizations and dashboard tools. This all comes together in the final project where it will test your knowledge of the course material, and provide a real-world scenario of data analysis tasks. This course does not require any prior data analysis, spreadsheet, or computer science experience....

Top reviews

BS

Oct 21, 2020

A great Introductory course by IBM and Coursera to start your career in Data analytics. Learned a lot from this course like what are the skills that are needed in order to become a good data analyst.

MS

May 3, 2023

A very structured course to give basic and useful insight to the world of data analysis. From zero, one absorbs the possible levels of details and requirements to get into the world of data analysis.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 3,142 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analytics

By MD R

Sep 17, 2021

The skills and tools taught are interesting and useful, and it's rewarding to build your own project within the guiding structure of the course, requiring considerable time just to divine what was being asked for. Support from the teaching staff in the forums seemed inconsistent, with many questions receiving unhelpful responses and some simply ignored. Of course, struggling with the material pushes you to develop a deeper understanding of it, and the open-endlessness is good practice for real-world problems. Ultimately, I was able to figure it out, but I think a few corrections and clarifications would improve the curriculum.

By Obaidur R

May 24, 2024

"Introduction to Data Analytics" is an essential course for anyone looking to dive into the world of data. Covering fundamental concepts like data visualization, statistical analysis, and data manipulation, this course provides a solid foundation for beginners. The instructor's clear explanations and practical examples make complex topics accessible, while hands-on exercises ensure students can apply what they've learned. Whether you're a complete novice or looking to refresh your skills, this course is a valuable resource for understanding the power of data in today's world.

By Asim

Sep 7, 2023

The Introduction to Data Analytics course was an excellent starting point for anyone interested in diving into the world of data analysis. The instructors provided clear explanations and practical examples, making complex concepts easy to grasp. The hands-on exercises were invaluable in building essential skills, and the course materials were well-organized and accessible. Whether you're a beginner or looking to refresh your knowledge, this course is a solid foundation for anyone looking to harness the power of data for decision-making. Highly recommended!

By Nuhu M

Apr 29, 2022

It's been a wonderful journey for me kick starting this course with Introduction to Data Analytics. I have really learnt a lot since I started and I can't wait to move to the next level. The course materials are really informative: The notes and the videos really helped me get much understanding of all that is been taught, especially the graphical representations depicted in the videos. The naration and the expect reviews are awesome. It makes you want to get to their level so soon. Lol

Kudos to the instructors and all who put this amazing stuff together!

By Christian M

Mar 20, 2022

I don't usually say something is perfect, because it may sound that it can't be improved, but I'll make an exception for Introduction to Data Analytics from IBM and Coursera. This training was perfectly designed, organized and structured. The theory behind each concept and the association with the software you need to use for the different types of work is excellent. The course is very well balanced, the exams are concise and above all the course never let me lose the initiative or the interest to learn more concepts. Well done!

By Daniela V

Feb 4, 2022

Un curso muy completo para tener una idea de lo que consiste el analisis de datos y lo que implica iniciar una carrera en este mundo. Para quienes quieren empezar una carrera o especialización en este campo y no estan seguros, este el curso perfecto para tomar la decisión de si continuar o buscar otra area. Es dinamico, con contenido muy valioso, fácil de entender y poner en practica lo aprendido en cada semana. En mi caso continuare con el certificado profesional. Me encanto la metodología y el contenido.

By Daniela B

Oct 10, 2022

If you are thinking about pursuing a career in the Data Analytics world but have a bit, or no knowledge at all about it, I would totally recommend you to start with this Course. From my experience, I started this Course a bit apprehensive as I didn't have any bases in this area but it was truly wonderful. It explains all the basics in the data ecosystem and also gives you an inside of how it is to work as a Data Analyst. I was truly impressed and recommend it 200%

Can't wait for the next one :)

By Pinky B N

Jul 19, 2022

My introduction to your Data analytics course was an eye opener . I am 51 and took a career break after working for 26 years . Wondering what I could do with my time I came across your course , dwelt on doing it and finally decided that it would open up avenues to the future for me . And it did . The first course have kept me equally hopeful that what I learnt from you will only improve my future career prospects. I am looking forward to the next couse.

Thanks for making it awesome. 👏 😊 🙏

By Lena G

Jul 8, 2022

This course is very helpful if you are trying to understand what the profession of a data analyst is really about, what skills are required for it and what software you need to be familiar with. I found all explanations clear and viewpoints of professional data analysts useful. What I would like to see added to the course is a couple more use cases from practice like in the video "A day in life of a Data Analyst", it gives you the feel of the job, which could be valuable for learners.

By Vikas G

Feb 18, 2024

I recently completed the "Introduction to Data Analytics" course on Coursera. The course was comprehensive, engaging, and well-structured. The instructors were knowledgeable and the course material was presented in a clear and concise manner. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in expanding their knowledge in data analytics. Here's a photo of my certificate of completion. I'm proud of this achievement and look forward to applying these skills in my future endeavors.

By L. B

Nov 10, 2021

I can't believe I almost skipped this course to go straight into the Excel one! This has answered so many questions I had and helped me understand so much that I needed to know to improve on my job and help me choose a career path in analytics. It really puts the whole industry into perspective from multiple aspects and the instructors make concepts really simple to understand. I absolutely recommend this course if you need a thorough introduction to Data Analytics.

By Aubrey B

Jan 5, 2023

A great overview of what Data Analytics is, what you can do with it, what to expect a day in the life to be as an Analyst, career options, and what programs are used for what purpose. This was very helpful for wrapping my head around what to start with, what career paths I might want to take, and what job functions I'm interested in. A career in Analytics seems a lot more possible now, and I'm looking forward to entering and growing in the field!

By Yusuf “ G Z

Nov 29, 2021

This course was really intuitive and needed less effort to get comfortable at. I love IBM courses because of their organized structure, brevity and problem centric nature of the labs and final assignment. I was a very great experience overall and that applies to all their courses I have taken so far.

I think the peer review sections after marking by the first reviewer should be cross-checked by at least one more reviewer.

By Aedrian A

Jun 23, 2021

As expected, this course, from a leader in the data analytics/science field, provides an excellent overview of the state of the art in data analytics. Unlike other courses that I tried in the topic, this offering hit the ground running by emphasizing high-yield points from both the official material and the expert viewpoints. I am looking forward to finish the Professional Certificate where this course belongs.

By Za E

Aug 3, 2022

Some parts of the course are too technical and quite overwhelming in detail but everything is absolutely essential. It gives a clear direction despite the many paths of data analytics. All the overwhelming details precisely will inform you of what you can do and still be even if you're literally a beginner with zero background in data. I also admire that the course highlighted women as data professionals.

By RAUSHAN K

Sep 7, 2023

Coursera providev. The "Introduction to Data Analytics" course provides a foundational understanding of data analysis techniques. It covers key concepts, tools, and methods used in the field of data analytics. The course is suitable for beginners and offers valuable insights into data manipulation, visualization, and interpretation, making it a solid starting point for anyone interested in this field.

By Mark N

Jan 6, 2023

As an introduction to the world of data analytics and data science, this course did the job very well. I came in with very little understanding of the industry and after taking this course I feel like I have a good idea of what knowledge and skills will be required of me to succeed in this industry and am very excited to begin my educational journey in pursuit of beginning a career in data analytics.

By Musa M

Sep 4, 2022

Before being referred to coursera by a friend, I have learnt on several platforms and I must say that coursera provides the best contents and interactions, from the quizes to the labs-on to the notes I'm really impressed. the learning path is so effective and efficient. I'm on the other courses in the IBM Data Analysis with Excel and R Specialization. I can't wait to finish and get my certificates

By Hugo B

May 1, 2022

This is a great introduction to the field, and also a very good opportunitiy to figure out if this is “the field for you” bucause you get enough details about multiple aspects among the point of view of professionals, making it easy to metitate upon the subject and realize if it relates to your current or aspired capabilities as well if the whole specialization will take you toward your goals.

By Liza Z

Aug 12, 2021

WOW! This course was incredible. It contains a lot of useful, structured and understandable information. I was able to understand the role, responsibilities of a Data Analyst, the necessary knowledge and qualities that will be required for this position. Thanks to this course I clearly understand that I want to be Data Analyst.

If you are in doubt, do not hesitate:) It was not boring at all!

By Mfon O C

Nov 2, 2021

Excellent introduction to Data Analytics. Provides the fundamentals of data sources, file structure and the data wrangling process. It provides knowledge of the different languages and tools needed to wrangle and visualize data in a way to gain insights, enhance and improve decision making. Above all, the experienced views from data professionals is just priceless. Nice job! Coursera.

By Abhishek S S

Jun 12, 2021

Overall the course was great except for the indepth analysis of various aspects of Analytics which are considered good for beginners. A major part of the course involved continuous back and forth analysis of the information being shared.

I'm happy to involve in this course and looking forward to seeing myself working with large data sets and show-off my Analytics and programing skills.

By Ojarikre G E

May 12, 2021

The Introduction to Data Analytics is a great way to start learning data analysis. There were basic knowledge and tools which where introduced to help progress the course. Also, the insights from data analytics experts threw more "lights" on what to expects in the journey of being a data analyst. Thank you for the friendly user interface and easy-to-learn course materials provided!!

By Jerry Y

Aug 15, 2023

Excellent course in general and specifically as an introduction to the field of data analytics. The course was comprehensive in its coverage across the data ecosystem, including processing tools and repositories; data gathering, cleaning, and wrangling; visualizing data; and the qualities, skills, and responsibilities of data analysts. The quality of the content is excellent.

By Ladislao C

May 20, 2021

It offers a wide and detailed context of the data analysis area, in such a way that it offers all the necessary information for those of us who like data management, we can have a clearer perspective of the direction and professional objectives that we want to have, as well as the necessary information to place ourselves in the current technology for information management.