Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
11,418 ratings
2,907 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 2,872 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Yevhen D

Aug 28, 2020

I found it relatively easy for me accomplish as I have a strong background as a Software Engineer and basic experience as electronic engineering and computer architecture.

I liked Ian's (the lector) attitude and his way of explaining things. The material is very well structured and explained in great amount of details.

Looking forward to move to the next block.

By Hector J

Mar 19, 2019

This felt like a intro to intro of IoT and some Embedded systems inner workings. I did not like the quizzes to much as they seemed a little off and the professor did not mention certain things clearly or at least how the questions where asked, a little confusing to relate to the material. I took a lot of notes so that help here.

By Teo P

Dec 16, 2016

Despite the fact that this course isn't really difficult at all, it gives you the opportunity to introduce yourself in the area of microprocessors. I would recommend it to anyone interested in the area of IoT and embedded systems. You should really understand the concepts of this course before diving into the world of IoT.

By Catalina P

Nov 3, 2015

Personally I had trouble with week 2 of the course. I think more details on the types of inputs and outputs with some examples would have been useful. For example, I'm still not sure whether buttons are considered tactile or electronic inputs. It might be obvious to others but I can see see how it can be argued either way.

By Tomas R L P

Apr 21, 2020

The basic but it is ok, most of the things I already knew it because of my bachelors and masters degree. In my opinion for someone who knows nothing it is going to feel like needs to learn more. There are some lack of info about lan, wan, microcontrollers, etc that I think that people could appreciate, if the include it.

By Jasper d W

Mar 13, 2016

Not very detailed and quite general. Nevertheless, you get a good sense of what IoT devices are and how the work. For an introduction, it's ok, but I expected more information and more assignments to make it really useful. In terms of value for money, I'd say you're better of spending a few hours on Google and forums.

By Alexander H

Nov 4, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I liked the forced research into micro-controllers and embedded systems.

I would however like to stress that the use of peer reviewed assignments slows the pace of the class down greatly. People sometimes like to progress a lot faster. Difficult to do when waiting for others.

By Roberto P

Nov 26, 2015

It's a good introductory course. I would have expected some more "meat" on the bones, but still I have to remember this is the first course out of a series so most probably it is good enough.

Teacher is good and, even for a non English speaker student as I am, it is perfectly understandable and clear.

By Muhammad F R

Sep 20, 2020

The course was very informative ,The professor really taught very good. Initially I thought there would be some kind of programming in it but it was just an introductory course.but overall it gave real insights of how IoT devices works ,what are the pros and cons of it and how can they be improved.

By Atthipatla R M

Jan 24, 2019

Good for beginners who wants to get overall idea about what are IOT and Embedded technologies with real time examples. instructor also explains networking basics with few protocol architectures. at the end of this course we can analyze packet transmission using wireshark tool.

Thanks coursera ..!!

By Prabhakar

Jan 24, 2018

Course is explanatory and explains all basics, which is expected at introductory-level. However, there is less usage of illustrations & graphics and more verbose lectures via video that sort of puts monotone into learning. There's a huge scope for improving the content.

By Swapnil P

Jun 22, 2020

good course overall. However areas where it could improve are - incorporating more graphical and animated slides for teaching, more articles and videos for further reading IoT, embedded systems and computer networks ; increasing no. of questions in quiz to atleast 20.

By Eva S

Aug 14, 2020

It was a good course, giving a great overview of all things internet of things. The assignments were engaging.

In the end it felt a bit too beginner-level for me, as I've already had some exposure to Internet protocols, networking hardware, Arduino, RPi etc.

By RMILI O

May 9, 2020

This is an interesting course in which I learned new things from the world of IoT and the embedded one, a small remark concerning the network part, is better to talk about the different types of networks used in IoT like HomeRF, ZigBee Bluetooth. Thanks.

By Juan V A

Sep 21, 2020

Course is introductory, with some definitions about the foundations of IoT, embedded devices, and the components of each. Assigments are quite reasonable, short enough not to become a burden, but deep enough to better grasp concepts from theory videos.

By Rushikesh A P

Jun 2, 2020

Okay its an honest opinion, the course was well organized and good enough professor delivered wholesome knowledge but i think if you are really new to it i highly recommend this course to you and i expect more such practical oriented sessions further..

By Gokula K S

Jul 15, 2020

Way of explanation is good but we need some more examples for some topics. In last module Networking concepts need some more real time examples to clarify even more clear. Overall course is very nice if you are newbie to IOT and embedded system

By Johnson N

Nov 7, 2017

Great introductory class that teaches you about technology and the impacts in the developments mpu have had in our everyday life. The only gripe I have is that assignments are marked by peers. This makes it problematic when timing is not good.

By Jussi S

Nov 14, 2015

I think this is easy introduction to the topic and assignments put you to think. If you're more seasoned with the topic or you have background in e.g. embedded systems this course does not bring much to you but can be used as easy refresher.

By Cecil S

Nov 30, 2016

My first on-line course ever. I didnt know what to expect however, I have learned a lot of new concepts. This intro course have me pumped to see whats next. I already ordered my Arduino on Amazon. I dont know what to say but, I'm excited.

By Sergey L

Sep 27, 2017

A good overview course on the Internet of things. I liked the lectures very much, but did not like the tasks in which you need to write a lot of text. It seems to me that this is not the best type of task for technical specializations.

By AASTHA A

May 25, 2016

I loved the way Prof. Ian Harris teaches. It is so easy to understand. This is a nice introductory course for IoT and Embedded System. An easy one!

Except for second week's assignment (which was slightly vague), rest was all good!

By Paulo A

Nov 30, 2016

Good introductory course that gives you an overview to what you should know before starting other courses in the specialization. Some of the contents are a bit too obvious to someone with a previous background in IT.

By Abdul A N S

May 26, 2020

This course enables me to judge things embedded near by me and what devices can be controlled can be converted into IoT, I am an Electrical Engineer and it has made me aware about the dos for my future goal/studies.

By VAISAKH U

May 3, 2020

This is a very good foundation course.I learned some basic terms about IoT and Embedded Systems.I hope I can do better in the coming courses.This course is recommended for those who want to learn from scratch.👍