Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,413 ratings
1,339 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,319 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Julio R

Nov 23, 2020

muchas gracias por enseñarme aprendí muchas cosas acera de esta carrera , de nuevo muchísimas gracias por ayudarme

By Mohammed H

Nov 7, 2020

I think you have to change the way of learning instead of library let the students make every thing in their hands

By Sujay P

Jun 22, 2017

The Course is really good but the difficulty of week 2 can be reduced to a little more towards beginner standards.

By Rahul S

Jul 24, 2020

Awesome Course. I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot of things especially from programming assignments.

By Taeho K

Apr 23, 2020

Most Progamming courses tend to be easy compared to actual university level courses but this course is rigorous.

By Joseph S

Jan 10, 2018

Fantastic Course with fun projects and the videos do a great job explaining concepts. The instructors are great!

By Ignacio A

Jun 16, 2018

Excellent course. I'm already have a programming job and this course helped to solidify problem solving skills.

By Guillermo P

Jan 22, 2017

Excellent opportuity for those who don't know Java but want to learn and solve some real life problems with it.

By Yaxiang Z

May 6, 2020

This is a really great course to take if you have some programming experiences and wanna brush up your skill.

By Syed M A

Sep 7, 2019

This course was awesome and helped me a lot to build my programming skills as well as problem solving skills.

By SHANMUKHI S T K

Jul 23, 2020

Excellent teaching and great codes and examples.It helped me a lot in understanding java language.Thank you.

By SUBHABRATA R

May 4, 2020

Very appreciating with innovative built-in methods.

Loved this course.

Thank you Coursera and Duke University.

By Phillip P

Mar 1, 2020

I have background in other programming languages but I greatly appreciated the introduction to constructors.

By Nkoa C

Jan 27, 2020

waouh , it was a great experience. I learnt many fundamental good practices in solving problem with Software

By Aurangazeeb A K

Sep 15, 2018

Java lessons are presented in a simple and fun way. The lesson are very easy to understand for any beginner.

By MyoungEun K

Jul 24, 2019

I loved this course. It was challenging but it really helped me understand how to use METHOD strategically.

By RAFAEL G V

Feb 7, 2016

Great set of programing tools to solve many different problems, including working with big amounts of data.

By joan p

Jan 3, 2021

I really learnt a lot! I recommend to work hard in assignment they repay in knowledge. Thank you teachers!

By MANISH K B

Aug 28, 2020

It is really awesome course. the assignments and quiz were well designed. Concept was very well explained.

By Vijayakumar H K

Mar 8, 2020

Very nice but difficult. If you understand the problem correctly, easy to complete with 7 steps solution.

By Sushant D

Jan 31, 2020

For those complaining about bluej, you can very well use other text editors/ides too. It's a good course.

By Dauren D

Dec 9, 2019

This course teaches how to work with files. It was very enjoyable experience, huge thanks to instructors!

By Donn C D G

Jan 9, 2016

Well organized, well prepared practice activities, very clear instruction videos, challenging to pass.

By kanduripreethi

Apr 21, 2020

this is a platform where we test our knowledge ....

and it is also to know more information about java

By 1VA19CS040 R M H

May 17, 2021

i loved this course and it was totally fun doing this and the way of teaching is amazingggggg.......