Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,680 ratings
419 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

SY
Feb 10, 2019

This course is a very comprehensive and detailed introduction to Kotlin. However, it would be even better if it could include the generics part which is the most difficult but quite frequently used.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 420 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Kenneth H

Jun 14, 2021

Good survey of Kotlin language features. Would have been nice if assignments focused more on Kotlin idioms. Perhaps that's a fundamental issue with using an automated grader?

By Pablo P

Feb 16, 2019

I loved this course. I believe it is really useful for busy developers who want to update/upgrade their skills to now include the essentials of Kotlin language.

By James H

Nov 16, 2021

Language barrier makes content hard to understand sometimes. Also lots of topics that I would not want to see in production code (let or takeif, for example).

By yukuan

May 5, 2019

This is a great course, it introduce Kotlin very well, and show me a lot about how it works under the hood, anyway, it is a fantastic introduction course.

By Ivan B

Dec 28, 2020

Есть ошибки. Немного странно изложен материал. Что-то глубоко, хотя редко пользуешься, что-то наоборот поверхностно, хотя гораздо чаще применяется.

By Аршиева К

Oct 26, 2020

Overall this course is a great opportunity to get a general view on the topic. However, adding some extra reading materials would be very helpful

By NAMIT V

Jun 21, 2020

The explanation was good but not up-to mark, because the exercise which was given to us to solve was way harder than the explanation provided .

By Ankit J

May 23, 2020

Some of the concepts are too high level for a beginner developer to learn. And the difficultly of the task should be reduced little bit.

By Bombel H

Apr 22, 2021

Not all requirements in assignments are specified in the description - running tests locally and analyzing expected output is required.

By Anton K

Feb 6, 2019

Please, consider recording some videos on Second try at least, its really difficult to hear woman lector sometimes and frustrating.

By Ruslan I

Mar 2, 2019

I believe Svetlana can speak better, this is the only problem with course. Hope you'll find some time to rerecord better audio.

By Dongchan Y

Aug 31, 2020

Though I'm not familiar with Java,

( My latest Java experience was CS101 ! )

This course helped me to learn Kotlin.

By Johan B

Mar 11, 2020

It's a good course. I miss an explanation of how it could be possible to solve the last programming assignment.

By Saswati N

May 26, 2020

Nicely explained.But I think its good for java developers only.Not that much beneficial for Android developers

By Christophe D

Sep 25, 2019

Very good course. The only annoying part is that there are no solution videos for week 3 and 4 assignements.

By Utkarsh R

Aug 1, 2020

It was really nice experience learning this great modern language and getting to know the power of Kotlin.

By Amera B A

Jun 22, 2020

this is so amazing course but give little skills to concept but was very useful for me

THANK YOU SO MUCH

By Rohit A

Oct 30, 2019

I found the course really helpful in building understanding of Kotlin being already familiar with Java.

By Vitor V

Jan 16, 2020

I had some difficult to understand instructor's english, but the content was awesome.

By Rafael A N

Jul 19, 2019

Muy buena metodologia, con ejercicios para practicar los temas aprendidos!

By Mohsen B

Aug 14, 2019

The instructor should be more fluent at English with a better accent :)

By Vladimir

Dec 6, 2021

Курс полезный. Нужно поработать над подачей материала и произношением.

By Naman M

Jul 7, 2020

This course needs to be improved and few basic things need to be added

By Thirumalvalavan

Jul 9, 2020

Nice Course. Hence, assignments should be little simple to beginners.