Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
46,139 ratings

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT

Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

MS

Jun 30, 2021

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Jess P

Jun 4, 2020

Love this course!! So glad I found this resource and got to learn it for free on Coursera. Definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to learn basic Korean. This course teaches you the basics, and make sure you knows the basic rules of Hangeul. Quizes are easy if you learn and take note diligently. An excellent basic-level course.

By Yadira Z

May 5, 2020

Thank you to Yonsei university for offering this course on coursera and to the teachers who created, i thought it was going to be more difficult to understand it 'cause is a completely different language than mine but is really good structured that made my learning easier, I enjoyed a lot and was pleased to take it, I'd recommend it.

By Charmaine W

Nov 23, 2018

Very good course. I've been trying to learn Korean, on and off, for a few years now and this course has been the only method that I can say has worked for me. So many important rules and basics are presented in this course, that other programmes I did lacked. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to learn Korean from scratch! 5 stars!

By Naomi A F C

Mar 18, 2018

I learned too much in this course and solved some doubts, I'm excited so I'll take more Korean courses on this platform, the only thing I would like to suggest, is that the lessons have subtitles in Spanish since not all of them contained it, I'm Mexican and I speak Spanish so it got a bit complicated. That's all, thank you very much

By Tony L

Jun 29, 2021

This is great starter course for anyone who wants to learn Korean, it provides the basic fundamentals from the alphabet all the way to most common verbs/vocabulary and how to conjugate them. I was able to start holding conversations in Korean with my Korean friends, and they were impressed by how progression came from just 1 course.

By Sharifah S R B T S H

Aug 2, 2020

This course gives me the opportunity to learn the basics in korean language and so easy to understand. I now have better understanding of the korean sentence structure. I learn a lot of vocabularies and how to use them in sentences. All I need is to practice them to make a conversation. This course is very recommended for beginners.

By Sudipta D

Jul 29, 2020

This was an excellent course. I have done the Korean basic course in person as well and was doing this one line course as a refresher. I must say that the online course was as good, if not better that the course in the classroom. The teacher was superb. Am now looking forward to seeing a Course for the next level of Korean learning.

By Yulisa A

Aug 3, 2021

Es un excelente curso. Aprendí una variedad de vocabulario, reglas de escritura, el abecedario, en fin... los videos son muy explicativos ya depende de cada uno el dedicarle tiempo extra para estar repasando las unidades y tener un mayor aprendizaje, debido a que cada unidad se encuentra ligada con la siguiente. Agradezco el curso.

By Nichapat S

Jul 15, 2020

I've never known anything about Korean (language), but this course helps me a lot! The instructor teaches slowly and understandably — proper for those who have no background knowledge at all. Quizzes and readings also help me when reviewing for the lessons. The schedule and tasks keep me on track for effective learning outcomes. :)

By Khairun N A

Aug 11, 2021

this course is really helping me to understand Hangul completely. Everything is explained in details (words, prounouciation, vocabulary). Thank you so much Professor Kang for giving clear examples and pronounciations, I am able to follow the learning really well. I still have a long way to go, I'll be able to speak in Korean soon.

By Rachel A

Apr 16, 2021

I did not know where to start with learning Korean on a budget, and had just been using bits and pieces from websites I was finding online, but this course gave me structure and really helped piece together sentences bit by bit. I now feel a bit more confident that I could have these conversations with other Korean speakers!

감사함니다!

By Gonzalo P

Oct 25, 2020

Es excelente para aprender el idioma. Mejoraría los subtítulos en castellano, puesto que en algunos lugares solo hay traducción en inglés. Dado que entiendo el idioma de la traducción no se me hizo difícil, pero en un caso diferente lo hubiera sido. Saliendo de eso, un curso muy práctico para iniciarse en el idioma, lo recomiendo!

By Napatsawan L

Apr 19, 2020

It's easy to learns for beginner. Everything is clear, I have no question for any lesson. I only have to practice more for more fluency at speaking. The most important part is it's really help me to correct my gramma because Korean Gramma is really tough for me. Teacher voice and accent is also clear and easy to understand. 고맙습니다!

By Tuscany B

May 8, 2016

I feel that Teacher Kang is really good with visual aids. I love how varied the tests are! I can feel the different parts of my mind lighting up with information because of the wide variety of questions. She seems kind and very passionate about her work. Because of this course, I started looking into Yonsei University. 감사합니다, 성생님!

By Tarsila M M A

Nov 15, 2021

The classes are easy to follow and cover conversation topics one would have when first arriving in Korea, such as ordering food, asking for directions, simple verbs forms, daily life and work, etc. The teacher made it all seem simple, and I think even someone with zero experience in hangul can have a good introduction. 선생님 감사합니다!

By Dwitipriya B

May 26, 2021

it's really a nice experience for me, being a college student it's so hard for me to learn a new language without any guidance and shortage of time, because of this online course I can manage it according to my schedule. I really want to thank our teacher for the guidance and for making this language a bit easy for me. Thank you.

By Victoria L

Nov 11, 2022

It's great for beginners and a brush up course if you haven't studied Korean in a while. I actually studied Korean before but I hadn't studied in a long time and wanted to test my skills. It was great for refreshing and it also taught me things that I missed the first time studying. I enjoyed the quiz at the end of each module.

By Irma F

Aug 4, 2022

saya senang sekali telah menyelesaikan kursus ini. Kemampuan bahasa korea saya lebih baik dari sebelumnya. Contoh dari sejarah hangeul, pengucapan , banyaknya vocab yg mudah diingat, grammar, perubahan pelafalan, partikel, dan bahasa korea yg biasa digunakan sehari-hari juga diajari. Saya suka quiz nya karena mudah. Terima Kasih

By Sadia T P

Nov 15, 2020

Korean language is a very tough language. As a beginner it is very hard to memorize the alphabets. This course is very organized. Instructor teaches very fine. I love the way she teaches actually. But Coursera should add subtitle for Korean sound too. Maybe this is kind of difficult to add but it will be very helpful for others.

By Hang L

Aug 25, 2020

Although I have tried different means to study Korean, I found this course is the most suitable for me since the teacher was so devoted, her pronunciation and expression was amazing and the content was easy to follow, covered all of the basic knowledge for beginners like me. Thanks a lot for providing such a useful course. 고마워요!

By Flavia K C B

Aug 25, 2020

El curso es muy bueno, eficaz y entendible a pesar de que el inglés no es mi idioma primario, por ello sugeriría revisar los últimos módulos pues no todo el vídeo contiene los subtitulos en español. Después no existe ningún inconveniente, los módulos de practica y evaluaciones son muy complementarias para llevar a cabo el curso.

By Kelly H F

Mar 24, 2022

I am very happy with the course, a friend recommended it to me some time ago. Although I would have liked it to be more durable, I have learned things that I did not think I would learn since I studied the language. The teacher explains everything very well in such a way that I don't need (very often) to look in the translator.

By Katherine Z

Jan 4, 2021

I had to delay my last two weeks since I had finals for college. In the first week of doing this course I was able to read and understand a sentence in hangul. I was so shocked and excited. I tried learning the language on my own but it was difficult. Having a professor was great because I could hear how to pronounce the words.

By Annisa F

Aug 21, 2021

I'm so happy that i finally join this course, i learned Korean language from the basic one so i believe i can understand more if i practice a lot. Thank you so much for Professor Seung Hae Kang from Yonsei University for teaching Korean language very patiently, i can't wait to learn more and more about Korean and it's culture!