Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
27,968 ratings
7,472 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

6801 - 6825 of 7,416 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Azer A A

Jun 5, 2020

Good introduction to basics and practice. Could use more clarity for differentiating sounds that are hard to tell apart in English (e.g.ㄱ vs. ㅋ vs. ㄲ) and for when to use various postpositions (e.g. 는 vs. 를).

By Suchanya C

Apr 23, 2020

This course is quite suited to beginners if you want to know and use some basic sentences to communicate, this course is a good choice. But if you want to learn Korean intensively you should find more courses.

By Hendy Z

Feb 25, 2016

It's easy for a beginning learner,the teacher taught the structure and the framework that Korean are formed.It seems that we can use the method that we learn English to learn Korean.It's an interesting course.

By Laura E

Aug 3, 2020

Magnífica manera para empezar con este idioma. Agregaria un segundo docente para poder oir voces distintas. En lo personal, me cuesta entender las filmaciones que hicieron al aire libre para enseñar diálogos.

By Zuiv8 •

Feb 15, 2021

I liked this course, very simple, basic and easy. Only for a few weeks and you will know how to talk basic korean with your friends that are into the language, too! Also they have many translations languages

By Martín E V

Oct 29, 2020

Una parte del módulo 4 y todo el módulo 5 están en inglés y no en español, como dice la descripción. Espero lo puedan arreglar. Fuera de eso, me gustó mucho el curso, realmente aprendí muchas cosas. Gracias.

By Sierra O

Apr 15, 2016

It was a good class, and definitely laid down a foundation for learning and understanding the lesson. However, it was difficult at times trying to understand, the professor would say the Korean too swiftly.

By Madison J

Aug 1, 2020

Super informative and they give you worksheets you can print out but the follow along videos go really fast and I had to rewatch the videos multiple times. Successfully learned the Korean alphabet for sure.

By SANDRA M L F

Apr 26, 2020

Contiene lo esencial para comenzar con un idioma nuevo y totalmente diferente a tu lengua materna. Muy bien explicado y conducido hasta el final. Buen vocabulario y gramática fácil y sencilla para comenzar.

By Carmen B M

Jun 23, 2020

I found the course very helpful, although it is very condensed. Sometimes, I felt it moved very quickly. But all in all, I learned a lot and it definitely helped me to start my jumpstart my Korean studies.

By Amy L

Jun 4, 2020

This course was very good - occasionally I felt as if it moved a little too quickly but the beauty of the video is that you can pause it! I would recommend this course to another beginning Korean learner.

By Saki P

Apr 27, 2017

This course is very useful for first learning Korean.

I have learned the meaning Korean alphabet through first week session.

Firstly we know Korean alphabet's history. It helps us understand Korean easily.

By Rodrigo A V

Nov 13, 2020

Creo que el único problema del curso es la repatición de los contenidos, por ejemplo, al entregar vocabulario al inicio de la clase y agregar más luego, lo que problematiza el registrarlo ordenadamente.

By María T R N

Jul 19, 2020

Me ha gustado mucho este curso, he aprendido mucho desde cero.

Me gustaría ver un poco más de gramática en cuanto a formación de las frases pero está muy bien la cantidad de vocabulario. Es muy visual.

By Ashley H

Oct 14, 2018

Its a great course for starting, it focuses more on the grammar side which is just as important as the language itself. Definitely a course I will review constantly, for when I need to write and speak.

By Francisca A O G

Jul 24, 2020

me gustaría que enseñaran un poco más acerca de la construcción de oraciones, ciertas palabras no se explican y dificulta un poco el entender completamente las oraciones, pero en general es excelente.

By Karla d l R M

Oct 30, 2020

Si le pones atencion y te esfuerzas en verdad vas a poder aprovechar mucho este curso. Me gusto mucho pero note algunas incongruencias en los subtitulos en español e ingles, asi que presten atencion.

By Swapnil R

Feb 26, 2020

Learning any foreign language is a tough task and especially languages like Hanguel and Mandarin, but I would like to thank the faculty who designed this course and made it easy for learners like us.

By neha k

Jul 31, 2020

For a beginners course this was very interesting and very easy to learn . I am glad that I enrolled for this class . Thank you Yonsei University for this course. Very much appreciate your support .

By Kettrin A

Jun 12, 2017

I like the way the lesson is being conducted. Only downside is, there is not much written practise. If there is written practise like typing it, that will be a good practice for learning retention.

By PORNTHIDA K

May 12, 2020

This course is so easy to learn but have some vocabulary that never learn before. By the way all of this course is so good for anyone who want to start to learn Korean language. Thank you so much.

By Amarjeet k

Jul 25, 2020

I completely the course and it was really fun to learn Korean language but I received my certificate where the course name is written in Chinese language I don't know why. Kindly assist me with it

By Chirapriya N

May 13, 2020

If the media has an illustration or meaning in English when the long sentence is in Korean ( Week 4-5 ).

Will be easier to communicate and understand.

and thank u so much to make this course.

고맙습니다.

By Michelle C

May 7, 2020

I learned a lot and the course was easy to follow. I feel confident that I can have simple conversations in Korean.

This course was a good base for starting my path in learning the Korean language

By Thatthong N

Apr 15, 2020

I've learn Korean before and would like to practice so I come here and try this course. It's good for beginner and I wish you'll open the harder one. Thank you for this helpful course. by the way.