Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
38,635 ratings
9,961 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By cesia a c c

Sep 23, 2018

It's been a pleasure to received this course because I can ready hanguel now and with practice in the future can speak it. Thanks for this course and the support that Yonsei University gave to does that likes the idiom and wants to give it all. My greetings from Honduras to South Korea.✌❤

By Laura M

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, but I think it progresses a bit fast if you really don't know anything about the hangul writing system. I already knew hangul and could read a few words and expressions before starting. The PDF notes are incredibly clear and helpful. You really get to speak a bit at the end!

By heladia o

Feb 17, 2018

Gracias por todo lo que proporcionan gratuitamente para aprender su idioma estoy muy agradecida por todo lo que recibi de la universidad y de este curso muchas gracias . Desde mi corazon muchas gracias portodo y a la maestra por sus explicaciones tan amable y respetuosa siempre . GRACIAS

By Ei E H

Jul 12, 2021

T​his course is very helpful for beginners of learning Korean. After I've finished this course, I make progress in four skills of Korean. This course is very convenient and helpful. So if you want to learn Korean, you should take this course. I'm sure that you will enjoy learning Korean.

By Alexandra T

Apr 26, 2021

Muy buen curso para principiantes en el idioma coreano; además los videos explicativos de la profesora son fácil de entender, debido a que su explicación de cada tema es muy buena y los ejercicio de practica son positivos, ya que ayudan al fortalecimiento de las bases del idioma coreano.

By Geraldine R

Aug 11, 2020

I liked it, it is a tool that helped many people to enter this world of this beautiful language. I am IN LOVE with Korean culture, with their language, with everything, I really liked it a lot, I hope you continue to do the continuation of the courses. 진짜 너무 너무 너무 좋아요, 그리고 선생님 너무 감사드리고요!

By 8378 V C

Jul 31, 2020

I'm so glad I did this course! Professor Kang teaches so well, I absolutely loved it. I had tried to learn the alphabet before from youtube but I didn't understand it and this course has laid the basic foundation for me, I'm going to continue to learn korean after this until I master it!

By Бисембаева Д Т

Apr 24, 2020

I already started to learn Korean myself, but I wanted to take a course and evaluate my knowledge. The course is very understandable, not too complicated and everything is painted quite understandably. Unhurried training and an excellent teacher. Thank you very much for this opportunity!

By Meyra

Oct 28, 2019

For absolute beginners or those who know the alphabet (first unit has hangeul but also great pronunciation and vocabulary to pick up on) is great. You will find here the basics for grammar in terms of sentence structure and use of some postpositions and such. Don't ignore this, its nice.

By James K

Jul 26, 2019

This course was very meaningful to me, because I have been trying to learn Korean for a while, but couldn't find a good start. This class is perfect for what is offered and the professor is absolutely marvelous. I enjoyed this class and will recommend it to anyone wanted to learn Korean.

By Karen B

Sep 20, 2020

Seung Hae Kang is an amazing instructor! She spoke clearly and I understood so much by reviewing the lessons over and over. I have tried other language apps but they cannot compare to learning the basics via this course!! I am looking forward to doing the next course already! Thank you!

By Emil M H

May 3, 2020

Me encanto! su contenido y método es excelente.

Sin duda valió la pena, te facilita las herramientas correctas para poder aprender el idioma, solo hay que tomar en cuenta que es importante la practica constante.

Motiva a seguir aprendiendo y poner en practica los conocimientos adquiridos.

By Sonya G

Feb 22, 2020

I am now able to read, write and even converse in Korean so easily. All the subject matter was explained so well that i was able to complete the course in 5 days. The teacher is comprehensible and easy to understand. I would recommend this to all who have an interest in learning Korean!

By Lloyda B B

Nov 12, 2020

Professor Kang was very understandable and the layout of her lecture was very easy to follow. It was also great that they included videos of real conversations so as to listen to the conversation real time as teachers tend to slow down the pronunciation of words when teaching language.

By yurieca g

Aug 13, 2020

I have learned Korean previously, but not in structured way. Although this course is really an introduction, it helps me to recall my study previously and fix some basic sentences required. Hopefully I can speak Korean better soon. Thanks Yonsei Uni and coursera for bring this lecture!

By Patricia A

Jul 14, 2020

I am very happy that I have finally completed the course. Thanking Respected Professor Kang for explaining each and every topic in details and also thanking other mentors too for being so helpful and supportive. This course have been very much captivating. I really enjoyed this course.

By Gaurav S

Jun 29, 2020

This course has helped me a lot first off by giving me something interesting to do this quarantine and second of all helped me learn a language that I've been wanting to learn for such a long time due to my interest in the country, its culture and a desire to go and seek jobs in Korea.

By AUDREY A

May 4, 2021

I love this course it was fun and easy to finish. I loved all that it had to get. Made learning korean so much fun. I just want to say thank you to the people that made this. And if you want to learn I would so use this , i tell my friend to use this to and they said they love it to.

By ANAKHA S

Apr 10, 2021

"First Step Korean" is really a good course in COURSERA. We don't feel bored Seunsengnim: SEUNG HAE KANG teaches us very simply and humbly😊,each classes contains pdf notes that's really helpful.also contains additional vocabularies so we can learn more words in Korean. Thank you 🙏🏻

By Glen A S

Feb 5, 2017

I would recommend First Step Korean to anyone wishing to know the basics of this fascinating language. Korean is a really cool East Asian language that shares lots of similarities with Japanese, I like how the script is unique and sets it apart from Mandarin and Japanese respectively.

By Lady K C C

Oct 28, 2020

Muy agradecida por la beca, quiero acceder a más cursos con ustedes, como lo exprese desde un principio me gusta estudiar idiomas. Fue de mucha ayuda para reforzar el coreano ya que tenia solo algún vocabulario en mi memoria por las novelas coreanas. Muchas Gracias Yonsei University.

By Larissa M O

Sep 25, 2020

Professor Kang explains really well. This whole introduction is a good step for everyone who wants to learn korean, you will be able to get the basics and evolve from there. For those who doesn't have english as native language like me, I was able to understand things pretty clearly.

By Ashlie A M R

Aug 10, 2020

ESTOY MUY FELIZ GRACIAS A ESTE CURSO YA PUEDO LEER PALABRAS EN COREANO Y PUEDO PRONUNCIAR, SEGUIR PRACTICANDO ARDUAMENTE. DE VERDAD ME GUSTA MUCHO LA CULTURA COREANA, TAMBIÉN AMO A BTS ES POR ESO QUE ELLOS ME INSPIRARÓN A APRENDER ESTE HERMOSO IDIOMA COMO ES EL COREANO.

MUCHAS GRACIAS

By Nurul I A

May 17, 2020

Prof. Kang explained each topics well, I like that she explained the syntax of Korean sentence structure and some pragmatics like honorifics too. It's my first Korean language class so I can't say for sure that I can interact in Korean language but I'm excited now I can read Hangeul!

By BrendaFC

May 14, 2020

I was looking for a course that let me fully experience a type of presence course. So I'm really happy to been able to take this one. I can slightly read more hangul and some things that i've been learning helped me more to confidently speak now. I'm beyond happy. Thank you so much.