Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
43,280 ratings

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

CS

Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

YF

Jul 23, 2022

I loved it. The explanations were very clear and I think it covered important topics on conversation and korean culture. I'll continue to study very hard, it's a beautiful language. Thank you so much.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Yajaira H

Jun 15, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! The teacher was very detailed and through in her explanations so I was able to grasp the material of every lesson with more precision. The transcript at the bottom of each video was also helpful as were the handouts that came with every lesson.

By Megan V

May 24, 2020

I really liked the format of this course and how they gave you multiple practices in the videos to enhance your learning. I also liked how they brought back some concepts from previous lessons to later ones so that you do not forget the most important structures in Korean.

By Adriana M

Mar 27, 2022

Honestly I'm very happy with this Korean language course. every step that was taught was easy to understand and also at the end of my learning Korean language was always given an evaluation to find out how well I understood the Korean language material that I had learned.

By A A

Oct 18, 2021

It was a great course for an absolute beginner who want a good start to Korean language learning. At first, you may not find it understandable but gradually you will dive deeper into this beautiful language. Just keep patience and keep learning consistently. All the best.

By Feza A

Aug 27, 2021

I found this course quite helpful. Why is that? because this course the methods used in learning are quite interesting and the explanations are very easy to understand. In addition, this course is free with the support of educational staff who are experts in their fields.

By Ei E S

Jul 21, 2021

Firstly, I expressed thank to Professor Seung Hae Kang for your invaluable lectures. I am from Myanmar. During serious pandemic and political crises, I can learn many courses involving Korean Language at home. I will continue to learn Korean if I have a chance. Thank you!

By Ma. D S D C A

Feb 13, 2021

I have learned so much from this course. This allows me to read, write, speak and understand some basic terms that I needed to know on which I can use in conversing with Koreans. Thank You Coursera, Yonsei University and of course DOST- Caraga for this great opportunity.

By Maria T

Jan 12, 2021

es un curso muy bueno, aprendí mucho en poco tiempo, estoy muy agradecida.

habían temas que antes pensaba que eran imposibles pero gracias a este curso logre comprenderlos y darme cuenta de que practicando y con la explicación del tema es posible entenderlo.

muchas gracias.

By Danny

Oct 21, 2020

Me gusto mucho el curso enseña cosas útiles para aprender y poder comunicarse de una manera sencilla de entender; Lo único es que los últimos cursos los subtítulos no estaban en español da la opción pero salen en ingles, de resto estoy muy feliz y agradecida por el curso.

By JUAN G S C

Sep 30, 2020

Excelente, me gustaría que hubiese otra parte para complementar y reforzar lo aprendido, y tambien que solucionaran los problemas de las ultimas unidades con los subtítulos en español, ya que algunos videos quedan solo en ingles a pesar de seleccionar la opción en español

By Jaksilik U K u

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you very much Professor Seung Hae Kang, I have never thought that learning Korean language can be so simple and effective. I really like how you explain , especially when you connect origin of some words with chinese characters, explaining their history. Thank you!

By thyasha p

Jul 13, 2020

this course really helpful to the ones who are willing to learn korean and this makes the basic really well. I'm really thankful to instructor seung hae kai and I appreciate cousera because of this great opportunity. This is an amazing course.

truthfully,

student thyasha.

By Сидорова О В

Jun 12, 2020

Очень приятная и удобная подача информации для начинающих. Если определенный уровень корейского языка уже имеется, здесь для Вас ничего нового, скорее всего, не будет, но для закрепления материала вполне может сойти.

Спасибо большое за этот вводный курс в корейский язык!

By Shermyn

May 30, 2020

A.P Seung Hae Kang teaching was superb! Would definitely recommend taking this module! It would be good to add more content e.g. how to count ages in Korean and have the pronunciations of the korean words together with the korean characters in this module too! Thank you!

By Inês M C

May 24, 2020

I´ve always wanted to learn korean and this course was very, very helpful! Professor Kang Seung Hae explains everything very well and the lessons are easy to understand. I´m now able to read/ write and understand hangeul because of this magnific course.

감사합니다 강승혜 선생님 !!!

By flory r

Jun 29, 2019

This is an incredible course. The professor explains very well each module. You learn not only the way korean is written/spoken but also you get some background on why it is that way. The way it’s explained makes it easy and fun to learn. I’ve definitely learned a lot 👏

By Sanjana M

Oct 13, 2017

I absolutely loved every step of this course. I took it one day at a time. Although I admit I still need to practise, i can read and understand Korean now. Now I need to learn more words and sentences to speak Korean fluently. Thank you so much, Professor Seung Hae Kang.

By Ana A

Nov 20, 2016

Love this course!

I began this course at level zero and now I’ve be able to read and speak the language at a beginner’s level. I love to see Korean dramas and now I’m able to understand a lot of what they say. I hope the university develops a second part for this course.

By Jorge A E C

May 18, 2021

Excelente curso, se aprende la gramática, y expresión oral, también a presentarse y presentar a la familia usando el lenguaje coreano, se aprende lo suficiente en el curso como para seguir aprendiendo a expresarse de manera personal o por cuenta propia! Excelente curso!

By Ethazl S J

May 16, 2021

As a beginner of Korean language I personally feel choosing Yonsei university was my best decision because I found the resources hugely helpful and the classes were varied and interesting. It was incredibly informative. I am looking forward to do more courses. Thankyou.

By Eliana V G R

Apr 5, 2021

It was a pleasure to take this wonderful course, I´ve learned a lot and I´m so glad to my teacher Seung Hae Kang for being such as gorgeous teacher. Now, I feel more confident when I talk in korean. I´m not going to stop here, I need to learn more about korean language.

By Maigo S

Mar 22, 2021

Es una excelente profesora, un curso muy facil de seguir y aprender.

Aprendí bastante y solucionaron muchas dudas de como formar una oración y que partículas usar.

Muchas gracias a Yonsei University y su dedicación a la enseñanza para quien desee aprender un nuevo idioma.

By Stacy D

May 23, 2020

I loved this class so much! I have been trying to learn Korean for a while now and finally bumping into this class nudged me to finally learn it. It might be a bit tedious and require lots of effort, but what language doesn't?.. I Highly recommend this class, Good-luck!

By Octaviana H

May 10, 2020

Thank you for the free course for a limited time due to the pandemic! I learned the essentials and all the materials were explained clearly! It might be hard if someone learns this without learning hangeul first on the first week, but trust me in the end it is worth it!

By Josselyn M

Mar 29, 2020

Great course to start learning the Korean language. You will learn the alphabet which will allow you to read and write in Korean. You will also learn basic vocabulary, expressions and grammar structures. The instructor and the materials are very helpful. Amazing course!